{Mini Review} Forever, Interrupted

18001845

Goodreads / Amazon

About the book

Elsie and Ben are average twenty-somethings, but this is not your average love story. It begins bright and promising: the newlywed couple is head over heels in love, having eloped six months after they met. But it all shatters in an instant; Ben out riding his bike, is hit by a truck—and dies on impact.

Elsie hears the sirens outside her apartment, but by the time she gets downstairs, his body has already been taken to the hospital. When she arrives, Elsie is greeted by an unexpected visitor—her mother-in-law, Susan, whom she has never met and who doesn’t even know she exists.

Both are seared with grief; Susan is still mourning the death of her own husband several years earlier, and the loss of her only son is almost too much to bear. The two women immediately sour on one another, fighting over what to do with Ben’s belongings and how to fulfill his wishes. But as time goes by, Susan and Elsie both realize that despite the terrible accident that brought them together, they are now the only family they have left.

Interweaving Elsie and Ben’s charmed romance with Elsie and Susan’s healing process, Forever, Interrupted will make you laugh, make you cry, and remind you that there’s more than one way to live happily ever after.

My Thoughts

Honestly, I have put off reading this book because I didn’t think I could handle it. I admit that one of my biggest fears in life is losing my husband, and reading a book about a woman losing the love of her life after only being married a few days – yeah, I didn’t think I could handle it emotionally. But sometimes I just get in the mood for something emotional, and I picked this one up on a whim. To say it’s emotional is definitely an understatement. It’s an incredibly moving story. The author takes you into the past with glimpses of Elsie & Ben’s love story, and then brings you back to the present as Elsie is trying to learn how to cope with her new reality, all the while trying to have a relationship with the mother-in-law she never met before her husband’s death. Unlike any book I’ve ever read, this was a moving and beautiful story about healing, friendship, and the kind of love you are so glad you had the chance to experience, even if it was taken from you too soon. A really fantastic debut novel, and I’m glad I finally had the guts to read it.

4.5 Stars

Genre: Adult Contemporary

Standalone

Published: July 9, 2013 by Washington Square Press

Length: 352 Pages

10 thoughts on “{Mini Review} Forever, Interrupted

  1. Running 'N' Reading says:

    I thought it was a GREAT read, Brandie; I’m so glad you decided to go for it! It is certainly emotional, but I’m glad I took a chance on it (it was my first time to read something of TJR’s) because now I’m a huge fan of her work.

  2. Kathy says:

    Well, now I know I’m not sure that I have the guts to read it. I’m still bereft over my husband’s sudden death nearly fourteen years ago. That was the worst pain I’ve lived through so far and why I have trouble with certain types of books. I’ve wanted to read this series for a while and am sure that I could connect with the characters, but I’m going to have to build up my emotional reserve first, I think.

    • Brandie says:

      Kathy, I don’t think I knew that about your husband and I’m so very sorry for your loss. I can’t even fathom that kind of pain, and like I mentioned in my review it is one of my biggest fears. I definitely had to be in the right frame of mind to read this book. It’s extremely sad and emotional.

Leave a Reply

