{Mini Review} Come Away with Me

25770649

Goodreads / Amazon

About the book

An unexpected journey leads one woman to discover that life after loss is possible, if only you can find the courage to let go…  

One minute, Tegan Lawson has everything she could hope for: an adoring husband, Gabe, and a baby on the way. The next, a patch of black ice causes a devastating accident that will change her life in ways she never could have imagined.

Tegan is consumed by grief—not to mention her anger toward Gabe, who was driving on the night of the crash. But just when she thinks she’s hit rock bottom, Gabe reminds her of their Jar of Spontaneity, a collection of their dream destinations and experiences, and so begins an adventure of a lifetime.

From the bustling markets of Thailand to the flavors of Italy to the ocean waves in Hawaii, Tegan and Gabe embark on a journey to escape the tragedy and search for forgiveness. But they soon learn that grief follows you no matter how far away you run, and that acceptance comes when you least expect it. Heartbreaking, hopeful and utterly transporting, Come Away with Me is an unforgettable debut and a luminous celebration of the strength of the human spirit.

My Thoughts

Emotional. This book in a nutshell. This couple goes through one of the most horrible things a couple could ever go through together, and as I was reading, it was impossible not to picture myself in Tegan’s shoes and feel her grief and heartache. Although there were times I wanted to scream at her for her selfishness, I couldn’t blame her, knowing how consumed she was by anger and sadness, and that everyone deals with grief in their own ways. And the shocking twist! I would recommend not reading any reviews or spoilers beforehand.  I also loved the traveling aspects of the book – especially their time in Italy. A very emotional journey of healing and hope – I really enjoyed this author’s debut novel.

4 Stars

Genre: Adult Contemporary

Standalone

Published: September 1, 2015 by MIRA

Length: 368 Pages

9 thoughts on “{Mini Review} Come Away with Me

  1. Kathy says:

    Lovely thoughts on this one. I’d considered buying this one but think it got pushed to the back of my mind because it’s just impossible to keep up with all the different books that are out. It looks like one I’d really like, though. I love the books that give me the feels.

  2. Michelle says:

    I love a good heartbreaker, but I have to be in the right mood for it. You definitely have me intrigued though, and I can see myself picking up a copy when I am out and about one of these days.

  3. Teddyree says:

    I haven’t heard of this one or even the author and now I want to read it just because of your review … argh and I guess I’m going to need tissues 😦

Leave a Reply

