{Mini Review} Romancing the Duke

18711342

Goodreads / Amazon

About the book

As the daughter of a famed author, Isolde Ophelia Goodnight grew up on tales of brave knights and fair maidens. She never doubted romance would be in her future, too. The storybooks offered endless possibilities.

And as she grew older, Izzy crossed them off. One by one by one.

Ugly duckling turned swan?
Abducted by handsome highwayman?
Rescued from drudgery by charming prince?

No, no, and… Heh.

Now Izzy’s given up yearning for romance. She’ll settle for a roof over her head. What fairy tales are left over for an impoverished twenty-six year-old woman who’s never even been kissed?

This one.

My Thoughts

If my memory serves me right, I have only read one other historical romance novel in my life. It was years ago, and although I enjoyed it, I wasn’t a huge fan of the genre. It has never been my first choice when picking up a new book. But all that has changed recently, and after reading this book I have found a new love for historical romance! This book was simply wonderful, and I enjoyed every minute of it. A Beauty & the Beast retelling, with a strong heroine, a sexy (albeit moody) hero, and hilarious banter that had me laughing out loud at times. It was so easy to fall in love with Izzy and Ransom and their story. My first experience with this author, and it won’t be my last!

5 Stars

Genre: Historical Romance

Series Standalone

Published: January 28, 2014 by Avon

Length: 417 Pages

3 thoughts on “{Mini Review} Romancing the Duke

  1. Nadia says:

    Like you, I’ve never been a huge fan of historical romance, but then I read one and fell in love with. This one sounds like such a fun one – I have to read it! So glad you enjoyed it 🙂 I love finding new genres to read – I was never into mystery and suspense thrillers and now I’m obsessed with them!

Leave a Reply

