{Mini Review} Daughters unto Devils

I have decided to start a series of Mini Reviews. I am finding zero motivation to write lengthy reviews these days, but want to share about some of the great books I have read recently!

25251943

Goodreads / Amazon

About the book

When sixteen-year-old Amanda Verner’s family decides to move from their small mountain cabin to the vast prairie, she hopes it is her chance for a fresh start. She can leave behind the memory of the past winter; of her sickly Ma giving birth to a baby sister who cries endlessly; of the terrifying visions she saw as her sanity began to slip, the victim of cabin fever; and most of all, the memories of the boy she has been secretly meeting with as a distraction from her pain. The boy whose baby she now carries.

When the Verners arrive at their new home, a large cabin abandoned by its previous owners, they discover the inside covered in blood. And as the days pass, it is obvious to Amanda that something isn’t right on the prairie. She’s heard stories of lands being tainted by evil, of men losing their minds and killing their families, and there is something strange about the doctor and his son who live in the woods on the edge of the prairie. But with the guilt and shame of her sins weighing on her, Amanda can’t be sure if the true evil lies in the land, or deep within her soul.

My Thoughts

If you are looking for a quick and very creepy read, I would definitely recommend this one. It was the perfect kind of book for this time of year – suspenseful, sinister, and thoroughly entertaining! Once I started reading it, I had a hard time putting it down. I’m glad I picked this one up as one of my Halloween/October reads!

4 Stars

Genre: Young Adult Horror

Standalone

Published: September 29, 2015 by Harlequin Teen

Length: 304 Pages

ARC provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

7 thoughts on “{Mini Review} Daughters unto Devils

  1. pennma05 says:

    I’m totally with you on not having the motivation to do full reviews. I have a backlog of books that I’m pretty sure I’m just going to skip reviewing because I don’t feel like writing them lol. I am really excited to read this book!

  2. joyousreads says:

    I’m in the same boat, Brandie. In fact, my next two reviews are actually shorter than my usualy crank. As long as you’ve got your point across, I think that’s fine with us. 🙂

  3. Kathy says:

    Oh, how I understand the lack of motivation to write full reviews. I’ve seriously thought of doing quickie thoughts on books other than ARCs because the words just fail me so many times. That. Cover. Is. CREEPY. I’m glad you enjoyed it; I wish I’d read more creepy instead of thriller during the Halloween season. I might have had better luck.

Leave a Reply

