Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

This is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

  • Well, I can say that I’m really glad the week is almost over. Normally I try not to live for the weekends, but I’ll be glad to see this week in the rear view mirror! After work on Friday, we took peanut to a local pumpkin patch, and she had a blast. I’m so grateful for that, because the rest of the weekend was a bust with me getting sick. I’m tired of being a debbie downer, so I’ll just say that I ended up with bronchitis, am on antibiotics, had the worst cough ever, but thankfully today I am feeling a little better and hopeful that the crud is on it’s way out!
  • I am really thankful that Sunnie is pretty much back to feeling like herself and is back to her normal routine of school and dance. Last night she got to wear her Halloween costume to dance class and was so excited about it. She is Anna from Frozen this year. 😉
  • This Saturday is Trick or Treat, and as of right now the weather looks like it may cooperate for it. Besides TorT, we have no other plans for the weekend. I want to catch up on sleep, and attempt to get back onto a running schedule. I haven’t run in a week because of this cough, and I’m ready to get back to my normal routine.
  • I finished Secret Sisters, but I don’t recommend it. It was just blah. And I had every intention of reading another suspense this week, had even started The Accident Season, but out of no where I got the urge to pick up Ride Steady by Kristen Ashley. I haven’t read a KA book in a very long time, and I have to be in the mood for books like these, especially her books. She has a very distinct writing style that isn’t for everyone. The mood struck, and I just went with it, and I haven’t been able to put the book down. The downside to her books, in my opinion, are how long they are, but this one is reading surprisingly fast for me. I’m just happy a book is keeping my attention right now!
  • I didn’t try any new recipes this week, but I did get the ingredients to make a few new things over the next week. The rainy, cold weather all week has been perfect for a few of our favorite staples – Ham and Bean Soup and Johnny Marzetti. Both make a TON of food, and we’ve been having the leftovers, which saves on groceries, so I’m not complaining! I’m making my first attempt at my mom’s chili tonight, and I hope it’s good. I’m not sure why this has become part of my weekly posts – but I am enjoying trying new meals and sharing about them! It’s definitely unlike me to enjoy cooking – I normally hate the kitchen with a passion.
  • Tonight the plan is to carve another pumpkin. Hubby already carved one pumpkin this week with Sunnie, but we always get two pumpkins every year to carve. He really enjoys it (and I don’t, nor do I have the skills), so I picked out a Grumpy Cat pattern for him to attempt tonight. 😉 And after peanut goes to bed we’ll have our annual viewing of Halloween. If I can manage to stay awake long enough. Hope everyone has a great weekend!
In case you missed it…
Currently Reading

  24527478

Recently Finished Reading

 25203491

Book Haul

   24603820 12957286 27280219 27131389 24974123


FitReaders

FitReaders2015-200x200

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS
Thu: 14,005 steps
Fri: 9,963 steps
Sat: 1,673 steps
Sun: 5,531 steps
Mon: 6,763 steps
Tue: 7,453 steps
Wed: 7,596 steps

 

 

This past week has by far been the worst week for me since I started running and bought my Fitbit. And it couldn’t be helped, which I realize. I have to let my body fully recover from the bronchitis, and know I can’t push myself, or it’ll take longer to get back to my normal routine. I do miss running, having not run in a week now. It is my daily stress reliever and helps me keep my sanity. I’ll be so glad to get back to my normal routine, and I’m hopeful that’ll be this weekend. Just going to take it slow at first so I don’t over do it and end up sick again!

 

8 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. poppyonkirrinisland says:

    Ooh, you’ll love ‘The Accident Season’ by Moïra Fowley-Doyle!! It’s an amazing book – I loved it and reviewed it on my own book blog! 🙂 Great post, and I really like your blog too.

  2. Kathryn says:

    Good to hear antibiotics are working, I know tough to have no run but as you say, take it quietly, give your body time and it will repay you with a ‘ready to run again’ signal. Ooo the pumpkin carving sounds great, hope we get a pic.

  3. The Bibliophile Babe says:

    Glad you’re starting to feel a bit better! I’ve only run 2x in the past week and a half, ugh. It’s impossible to run and breathe with a stuffy nose and raw throat.

    I have the KA on my Kindle to review! I want to read Lev. I finished The Fall Up yesterday; it was good!

  4. Teddyree says:

    Glad you’re starting to feel better, you’re doing the right thing easing back into it, you’ll be back at full speed in no time! Ooh I want to see grumpy cat pumpkin, post a pic on instagram 🙂
    Enjoy all the Halloween fun, I’m hoping we get our first ever trick or treater lol.
    PS I like that you’re including the foodie stuff

  5. Rachel says:

    Sorry to hear you haven’t been well, but great to see you on the mend! I saw the grumpy cat pumpkin, your dude has carving skills! I haven’t been well this past week, and I’ve had to miss three gym sessions. It’s the first time since I took my fitness bug around three months or so ago, and I’ve been beating myself up over it. I’m trying to take a deep breath and let it go and know I’ll be right back at it again when I’m better! R xx

  6. Kathy says:

    I’m sorry you’ve been sick but am happy that everyone is on the mend. I haven’t read KA in a long time, either (since Soaring). I hope you have fun and be safe tomorrow!

  7. twimom227 says:

    So glad you are starting to feel better. You’ve got the right attitude. You’ll be back to full speed soon.

    Please post a picture of the grumpy cat pumpkin! Sounds hilarious.

Leave a Reply

