Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

This is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

  • Life keeps throwing us curve balls, and we’re just trying to take things one day at a time. My daughter now has pink eye, after just getting over pneumonia from last week. All I can hope for is that she’s building up her immune system, now that she’s in school and around other kids, and getting it all out of the way before the holidays! I just want her to start feeling better. It breaks my heart seeing her suffer.
  • Because of trying to get Sunnie better, and sleeping with her most nights, I’ve been pretty exhausted and not getting much reading done. Although, I am almost done with Secret Sisters, and it’s just okay. I enjoy the suspense parts of the book, really it’s the only reason I’ve kept reading. In my opinion the couple has zero chemistry, and I’m not buying their relationship. At this point, I’m just so invested that I want to finish it and move on.
  • I tried another new recipe, Spicy Taco Gnocchi Skillet, last weekend and it was a major hit for both me and the hubby. It’s easy and quick, and it’s going into the monthly rotation! We ate it with tortilla chips, and it was so filling and delicious.
  • Not a whole lot on the agenda for this weekend except getting Sunnie better, and if she does feel well enough, taking her to a local pumpkin patch and going to pick out her Halloween costume. It’s hard to believe the month is almost over already!
In case you missed it…
Currently Reading

  2520349125881836

Recently Finished Reading

 Nada

Book Haul

16049218 24484349 Widow_JKT_front.indd 23248900

26878880 22602324 25868039

I have awesome book friends who spoil me, and I’m forever grateful. My friend Rachel from The Reader’s Den/Waves of Fiction sent me copies of Madame X and Claimed. And my friend Arlene from Waves of Fiction went to The Authors in the OC event a few weeks ago and got me SIGNED copies of Marrow, and Never Never Part One & Two. All are signed by Tarryn Fisher, and NNPT is also signed by Colleen Hoover (although she had to back out of the event at the last minute – she had pre-signed all the books). I’m SO excited to have these!!

I also had to buy a copy of the Tenth Anniversary Twilight/Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined. Even if I don’t read Life and Death (which I’m not convinced yet to try it), I had to own a copy for my collection, because this series means a lot to me.

IMG_4125


FitReaders

FitReaders2015-200x200

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS
Thu: 14,717 steps
Fri: 8,111 steps
Sat: 16,670 steps
Sun: 15,598 steps
Mon: 14,001 steps
Tue: 10,294 steps
Wed: 20,148 steps

 

My steps the past week are really disappointing for me. Especially Friday – it’s been a long time since I’ve not even hit 10,000 in a day! But life happens, and I know I won’t always have the time every day, so I have to accept that. With my daughter being sick and sleeping in my bed the past few nights, I’ve not been able to get up and do my normal morning runs. I’m just doing what I can when I have time, and I’m learning not to be too hard on myself when I can’t run one day, or I don’t get enough steps in. Being a working mom, there’s just not always enough time in the day to get everything done. And my family always comes first. But I will say that I’ve found running to be the BEST stress reliever. When time allows, I make sure to get a run in, because it really helps me manage stress these days.

IMG_4101

On a good note, I was able to get a run in at the park on Saturday, and was pretty proud of my pace and my splits!

IMG_4089

 

23 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. StephTheBookworm says:

    Poor Sunnie! I hope she is feeling back to normal soon.

    That recipe sounds so good, OMG!

    Don’t be too hard on yourself about not being able to get a lot of running in! It’s SO hard to find time for ourselves as working moms. You’re doing great and making a lot of progress even if you had to miss some runs.

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks so much, Steph! I appreciate your support. I get a little obsessed about it, and I need to learn to take a step back and relax.
      That recipe is awesome!

  2. pennma05 says:

    Sorry to hear Sunnie now has pink eye! I know how horrible that is. I’ve had it a couple of times and Ethan actually just got over a bout of it! Hopefully she’ll get better soon!

  3. Kathryn says:

    I still think those stats are excellent for fitreaders. I know we like to keep our steps up but as you say life happens and its important. Hope Sunnie is really well soon. Heard heaps of good things about The Lake House. And also saw someone else not so keen on Secret Sisters although can’t remember where.

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you! I hope the Lake House is good. Who knows when I’ll have time for it.
      Yeah, I only gave Secret Sisters 2 stars. Turned out to be a dud for me. 😦

  4. Kathy says:

    I’m so sorry that your little one is still sick. I’m hoping you’re right and that she’s just building her immune system and will be over all of it and well very soon. I wish Sister Sister had been good, but I’m not going to invest much time in it; if it didn’t work for you, then I’m fairly certain that it won’t work for me, either. My copy of The Lake House will arrive in my mailbox tomorrow!! I don’t know when I’ll get to read it, but it will at least be here waiting on me. 😀

  5. Jillian says:

    Nicholas Sparks was my guilty pleasure back then! I used to read his stuff no matter what but it got repetitive for me. I am curious about this one though. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on that.

  6. twimom227 says:

    *HUGS* Poor Peanut. I hope she’s feeling better and you get some sleep. The quote on running is perfect and a great reminder about life in general. You are doing a great job, and it sounds like mentally, you are in a good place.

  7. Michelle says:

    I already pinned the recipe and will be trying it soon.

    Poor Sunny! I hope she feels better soon!

    I too bought the 10th anniversary edition of Twilight. I am sure I will read the gender-reversed version. One day. I am not in any hurry to red it.

  8. k2reader says:

    Oh…sorry to hear about your daughter…hope she’s feeling better soon!!! I always feel like when it rains, it pours…hopefully that’s the last of sickness in your house for a while 🙂

    I love Kate Morton and hope to read her new book soon.

    Great job on your steps this week, even though you didn’t get in all your runs. It’s funny – since you’re a runner, your bad weeks are always better than my good weeks. I guess it’s always a matter of perspective.

    Hope you have a great week!!!

  9. Teddyree says:

    Oh poor Sunnie, you’re having a crappy time of it. Hope you and Sunnie are well again soon! And chill girl … your stats are amazing considering what’s going on in your life lol. You’ll be back to your full runs before you know it but if you push too soon, it takes that much longer to recover from illness.
    Hope you love the Lake House when you get around to it. What do you think of See Me, I’ve got it on audio but not sure when I’ll get to it.

Leave a Reply

