Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

This is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

  • Well, what I thought was just a cold that my peanut was fighting last week turned into a case of pneumonia. Poor thing was the most miserable I’ve ever seen her, with the highest fever she’s ever had. I’m sure I’ve said this before, but there is nothing more heartbreaking than a sick child, especially when you can’t do anything to ease their discomfort or pain. I ended up taking Friday off from work to stay home with her, and when I called her doctor, they wanted me to bring her in to rule out pneumonia. I was pretty shocked to hear she did indeed have it, so she was immediately put on some strong antibiotics, and thankfully by Saturday you could tell a big difference in how she felt. By Monday she was pretty much back to her happy self, and we are thankful for that!
  • I mentioned in my WWW post yesterday how excited I was to be on the blog tour for November 9 and to receive an ARC of the book over the weekend. For a fan like me, this was the highlight of my year, bookishly speaking. I flew through reading it in two days, because it was so good I didn’t want to put it down. It easily took the spot of my favorite CoHo book.
  • Tried a new recipe over the weekend, One Pot Tortellini and Sausage, and it was a big hit with my hubby. It’s definitely going into the monthly rotation. Tonight I’m going to try this recipe for The Pioneer Woman’s Sour Cream Noodle Bake that was recommended by my friend Michelle on her blog. Michelle has been inspiring me a lot recently to try new meals, and I have a few more on tap for next week.

Capture

  • I finished another one of my creeptastic reads last night – The Dead House. If you want something addicting, creepy and totally bizarre – go for this book. It was a little confusing at times, but overall I really enjoyed it. I know Nicholas Sparks doesn’t fall into the creeptastic reads category (although it is supposed to be romantic suspense), I’m hoping it’s a quick read so I can get back to my plan of reading all things scary.
  • My hubby’s birthday was on Tuesday, and his wish was just to order pizza and have a chill night. And that’s exactly what we did. This whole week has been pretty chill, and I’m not complaining!
In case you missed it…
Currently Reading

  25881836

Recently Finished Reading

24502942 20875599

Book Haul

26874617 26200845 25573503 23312692 25453674


FitReaders

FitReaders2015-200x200

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS
Thu: 12,416 steps
Fri: 16,495 steps
Sat: 18,603 steps
Sun: 14,199 steps
Mon: 16,825 steps
Tue: 13,577 steps
Wed: 15,142 steps

 

I’m pretty much on track this week, which makes me happy. Not as much extra walking on my lunch breaks as I normally like simply because work has been busy, so I’m working through lunch a lot of days. Yesterday was my rest day from running, as I was having some knee pain. Still feeling the knee pain today and hoping it’s just from doing a long run on Saturday and not giving myself enough recovery time. I’m not letting it stop me from running daily, maybe just slow me down a bit. 😉

 

 Capture3
#truth

28 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. abibliophobictendencies says:

    Im so sorry to hear that your daughter got pneumonia, but Im so glad she is doing better!

    Lucky you, got November 9, I’m just a tad jealous! Im glad you liked it, can’t wait to be able to get my hands on it ❤
    I see your reading Nicholas Sparks, Im very interested in your thoughts on that one!

  2. Kathy says:

    I’m glad your baby is feeling better, and I agree that there is nothing that hurts a mother more than her hurting child. I liked Nocte and think you’ll love it. I just got The Forgotten Room and am seriously considering reading it next before Yard War. I LOVED Twilight and can’t wait to see your thoughts on Life and Death; I just can’t bring myself to read it because I keep picturing the characters a certain way. I still hope it’s as great a book with as great a following as Twilight.

  3. Sarah @ The Reading Petal says:

    Awww poor thing. I’ve actually been hearing a lot of people catching pneumonia lately. I’m glad to hear she is doing much better.

    I’m always on the lookout for new recipes. I find I get in such a rut when it comes to cooking. I’ll enjoy a recipe, but then I get tired of it quickly. I started trying to eat more vegan, as well, and the search for recipes is even harder.

    Congratulations on the blog tour for Colleen Hoover. That’s so exciting :D.

  4. Kathryn says:

    So pleased the little one is recovered – what a rough time for her and you. I have never read a book by Colleen Hoover so maybe your upcoming post will convince me, I know many love her books. I got Smoke too, had forgotten that I had ‘wished’ for it! The Forgotten Room looks promising too.

    Hope your knee recovers, knees can be a real pain. Great running though. Leading the pack!

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you! 🙂
      I couldn’t run this morning, because my knees are still hurting, and it bums me out. I hope I’m up to it tomorrow.
      Never read Colleen?? Oh I really hope I can talk you into trying one of her books. I recommend Hopeless or Slammed first. Or even November 9 when it comes out. It has taken the top spot for my favorite CoHo books.

  5. joyousreads says:

    Ugh. It sucks when the wee ones get sick. My youngest is 8 but he’s a good sport when he’s sick. He doesn’t like taking meds, though. Which can be difficult because while I’m coddling him, he’s coddling the virus that made him sick in the first place. Lol. I’m glad she’s feeling better.

    Oh November 9! WANT. WANT. WANT.

    Nice to meet you, Brandie!

    • Brandie says:

      Lol, I know what you mean. My daughter will take the medicine, but she’s pretty dramatic when she doesn’t feel well. Lol.
      Nice to meet you, too! I hope you read November 9 and enjoy it!!

  6. Running 'N' Reading says:

    Oh, my gosh, Brandie; I’m so sorry to hear about your little one, but also glad to hear that she is doing much better. That does NOT sound like fun! Good for you for allowing your knee to rest; this is completely personal and may not apply to you AT ALL, but my knees bother me because my glutes tend to be weak. My physical therapist has me do a lot of single leg bridges and hip exercises with a band…just a thought. This is pretty common, apparently. I’m so glad you enjoyed November 9; can’t wait to read your review.

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you! We’re so glad she’s feeling better.
      It killed me this morning, but I gave myself another rest day. I woke up and my knees were killing me. Thank you for the advice! I will look into those exercises. I have flat feet, which have caused me knee pain off and on all my life. My doctor has given me exercises to do, but of course I don’t do them regularly like I should be. After not getting to run this morning, I’m mad at myself and definitely plan on doing something about it!

  7. k2reader says:

    Sorry to hear about your daughter, but glad she is on the mend…how scary that must have been! You had a great week, despite your knee pain. I had bad knees and a bad hip, which is why I’m a walker and not a runner, though there are some days I wish I was a runner. Oh well!!!

    I got the Colleen Hoover book and it’s my first, so I’m glad to hear it’s good. It does sound interesting and I’m excited to read it. I also got The Forgotten Room – I love all three of those authors and cannot wait to start reading that. I’m hoping they go on tour near me as I think it would be so interesting to hear them talk about writing the book together and all that.

    Have a great week!!!

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you! We’re glad she’s feeling better.
      I hope you enjoy the CoHo book!! I’ve never read anything by the authors of The Forgotten Room, but I’m intrigued by historical fiction more these days, and it sounds really good.

  8. Jade Louise says:

    Oh dear, sorry to hear your little one was a lot more ill than expected but it’s fantastic that all is well!

    The new recipe you tried looks yummy! I always find I get more in to cooking and try out new recipes when the weather starts to get colder. I’ve tried two new ones this month.

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you! I’m so glad she’s feeling better.
      I need to find more crock pot and soup recipes now that the weather is getting colder. Perfect time to start experimenting!

  9. Jen Twimom says:

    Poor peanut! I hope she’s better and no one else gets sick. I also hope your knee pain is a fluke and goes away.

    That tortellini recipe looks great. I’ll bookmark it for trying later! Thanks!

  10. Teddyree says:

    So glad Sunnie is feeling much better now, there is nothing worse than having a little one sick. OMG I finally got to start November 9 last night and I’m so excited reading that it jumped straight to the top of your CoHo favourites. I have you and my friend Karen to thank for encouraging that particular addiction lol
    I’ve got See Me on audio, not sure when I’ll get to it as I have 2 library audio’s to get through and way too many audible credits to use … I think I need to give up sleep haha. Hope your knees ease up with a bit of rest, your stats are amazing as always. *woot woot*

  11. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    I look forward to starting Secret Sisters soonish. I’m even more excited to hear it starts off with a bang!

    Happy to hear you’re daughter is recovering nicely! It’s stressful to have a sick child. I’ve been doing a lot of Slow Cooker recipes I’ve found on Pinterest lately. I think I’ll love the Slow Cooker even more as it gets colder out here. I want to try your tortellini recipe. Great post, Brandie! 🙂

Leave a Reply

