W…W…W… Wednesday

W… W… W… Wednesday, hosted by Taking on a World of Worlds is a weekly meme showcasing what you just finished reading, what you are currently reading, and what you plan to start reading next.

 

what did you recently finish reading

 

20875599

November 9 by Colleen Hoover

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day of her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

I GOT ON THE BLOG TOUR! You can imagine how excited I was to get the email telling me I was on the tour, and that I could download the ARC to my Kindle. This book was by far my most anticipated book of the year, and well, it’s COLLEEN HOOVER. Of course I immediately dropped what I was reading to start it, and once again I was blown away by her ability to write a completely unique story unlike anything I’ve ever read.  I fell in love with Ben and Fallon. This book was witty and sexy and heartbreaking (but in the best way) – lots of laughter and lots of tears shed in the two days it took me to read it. I couldn’t put it down. And I’m still thinking about the story today.
Proper review to come for the blog tour, although I doubt anything I can write will do this book justice. What I do know is this book became my new favorite CoHo book, and everyone should preorder this baby immediately.

 

what are you currently reading

 

24502942
The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich
Three students: dead.
Carly Johnson: vanished without a trace.

Two decades have passed since an inferno swept through Elmbridge High, claiming the lives of three teenagers and causing one student, Carly Johnson, to disappear. The main suspect: Kaitlyn, “the girl of nowhere.”

Kaitlyn’s diary, discovered in the ruins of Elmbridge High, reveals the thoughts of a disturbed mind. Its charred pages tell a sinister version of events that took place that tragic night, and the girl of nowhere is caught in the center of it all. But many claim Kaitlyn doesn’t exist, and in a way, she doesn’t – because she is the alter ego of Carly Johnson.

Carly gets the day. Kaitlyn has the night. It’s during the night that a mystery surrounding the Dead House unravels and a dark, twisted magic ruins the lives of each student that dares touch it.

Debut author Dawn Kurtagich masterfully weaves together a thrilling and terrifying story using psychiatric reports, witness testimonials, video footage, and the discovered diary – and as the mystery grows, the horrifying truth about what happened that night unfolds.

I was really enjoying this one, before I stopped everything to read November 9. Picking it back up today. I’m dying to know where it’s going.

 

what will you read next

25881836
See Me by Nicholas Sparks

Colin Hancock is giving his second chance his best shot. At 28, he’s focused only on walking a straight line – getting his teaching degree, working out at the gym religiously, and avoiding all the places and people that proved so destructive in his earlier life. The last thing he’s looking for is a serious relationship. But when Maria Sanchez crosses paths with him on a rainswept night in North Carolina, his plans are upended in a way that will rattle the foundations of his carefully structured life. As for Maria, the hardworking lawyer and daughter of Mexican immigrants, Colin will challenge every notion she’s ever had about herself and her future, making her question what truly makes her happy.

Before the couple has a chance to envision what a life together might look like, however, menacing reminders of events in Maria’s past begin to surface. And as the threat of violence begins to shadow her every step, she and Colin will be tested in increasingly terrifying ways. Will demons from their past destroy the tentative bonds they have forged, or will their love protect them, even in the darkest hour?

SEE ME is a story of obsession, reinvention and a love that defies every expectation, reminding us that destiny often rests in our own hands-even in matters of the heart.

So, I know I said this was going to be a month of creepy reads, but this book is calling my name. It is romantic suspense, but I’m not sure just how much suspense we’re talking, since it is Nicholas Sparks. I used to be a huge fan of this author’s books (my obsession would be comparable to Colleen Hoover), but the last few years I haven’t had any desire to read his newest novels. The last few I read didn’t impress me, and I thought maybe I outgrew his style. But the synopsis for this book got my attention, and I want to give him one more chance.

 

 

*Subject to change due to the fact I’m an extremely moody reader!

 

8 thoughts on “W…W…W… Wednesday

  1. pennma05 says:

    I’m definitely going to have to check out the Colleen Hoover book! I actually haven’t read anything by her except for the short story Finding Cinderella. I’m so excited to see what you think of See Me! I’m trying to hold off until November to read it but my mom wants to borrow it when I’m done and it sounds so good that I might have to inch it up my list lol.

  2. Running 'N' Reading says:

    Congrats on the blog tour, Brandie!! I know that she has tons of fans; I’ve not actually read any of her books, but I’ve heard great things about them. I feel the same way you do about Nicholas Sparks; I’ve read so many of his novels but, lately, I haven’t felt the desire to rush out and read the new ones. I’ll be interested to hear what you think about both of these!

  3. Lois says:

    I am so excited to read November 9. Colleen has a way of making each one of her books completely unique from her previous works. I can’t wait to get my hands on this one.

  4. Kathy says:

    I love your excitement about CoHo so much! And you are right – this is her best, yet. Book hangover material is what it is, right? I’ll be eager to see what you think about The Dead House because that one keeps popping up in my radar. Don’t sweat slipping away from your creepy reads for October; I’m doing the same because Yard Wars was screaming my name. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

