W…W…W… Wednesday

www wednesday

 

W… W… W… Wednesday, hosted by Taking on a World of Worlds is a weekly meme showcasing what you just finished reading, what you are currently reading, and what you plan to start reading next.

 

I’m reading THREE books at once. What is wrong with me? I don’t normally do this, but my book ADD is strong these days. I am enjoying all of them, for the most part, I just keeping jumping around. I don’t know what my problem is…

 

what did you recently finish reading

 

25251943

Daughters unto Devils by Amy Lukavics

When sixteen-year-old Amanda Verner’s family decides to move from their small mountain cabin to the vast prairie, she hopes it is her chance for a fresh start. She can leave behind the memory of the past winter; of her sickly Ma giving birth to a baby sister who cries endlessly; of the terrifying visions she saw as her sanity began to slip, the victim of cabin fever; and most of all, the memories of the boy she has been secretly meeting with as a distraction from her pain. The boy whose baby she now carries.

When the Verners arrive at their new home, a large cabin abandoned by its previous owners, they discover the inside covered in blood. And as the days pass, it is obvious to Amanda that something isn’t right on the prairie. She’s heard stories of lands being tainted by evil, of men losing their minds and killing their families, and there is something strange about the doctor and his son who live in the woods on the edge of the prairie. But with the guilt and shame of her sins weighing on her, Amanda can’t be sure if the true evil lies in the land, or deep within her soul.

I need to post a review soon, but I really enjoyed this quick and very creepy read! It was a perfect book for this month. Once I started it, I didn’t want to put it down and finished it in a weekend, which is rare for me these days.

 

what are you currently reading

 

9774199

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

A richly inventive novel about a centuries-old vampire, a spellbound witch, and the mysterious manuscript that draws them together.

Deep in the stacks of Oxford’s Bodleian Library, young scholar Diana Bishop unwittingly calls up a bewitched alchemical manuscript in the course of her research. Descended from an old and distinguished line of witches, Diana wants nothing to do with sorcery; so after a furtive glance and a few notes, she banishes the book to the stacks. But her discovery sets a fantastical underworld stirring, and a horde of daemons, witches, and vampires soon descends upon the library. Diana has stumbled upon a coveted treasure lost for centuries-and she is the only creature who can break its spell.

Yep, still here.

 

 25011064
The House by Christina Lauren

Delilah and Gavin’s new love is threatened by a force uncomfortably close to home in this haunting novel from New York Times bestselling duo Christina Lauren, authors of Beautiful Bastard.

His shirt is black, jeans are black, and shaggy black hair falls into his eyes. And when Gavin looks up at Delilah, the dark eyes shadowed with bluish circles seem to flicker to life.

He lives in that house, the one at the edge of town. Spooky and maybe haunted. Something worse than haunted. And Gavin is trapped by its secrets.

Delilah and Gavin can’t resist each other. But staying together will exact a price beyond their imagining.

Okay, if I’m being honest, I almost gave up on this one. I’m still in the beginning of the book, and it was feeling very lovey-dovey romance, and very little spooky/creepy. I love this author duo, but I was really wanting something suspenseful. So far, the ‘House’ just feels like something cutesy (all I can imagine is the Beauty and the Beast castle). But then I saw this teaser on Instagram, and I feel like shit’s about to get real, maybe I should stick with it. So, I’m not giving up just yet.
How awesome is this teaser?! I love it.
house

 

24502942
The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich
Three students: dead.
Carly Johnson: vanished without a trace.

Two decades have passed since an inferno swept through Elmbridge High, claiming the lives of three teenagers and causing one student, Carly Johnson, to disappear. The main suspect: Kaitlyn, “the girl of nowhere.”

Kaitlyn’s diary, discovered in the ruins of Elmbridge High, reveals the thoughts of a disturbed mind. Its charred pages tell a sinister version of events that took place that tragic night, and the girl of nowhere is caught in the center of it all. But many claim Kaitlyn doesn’t exist, and in a way, she doesn’t – because she is the alter ego of Carly Johnson.

Carly gets the day. Kaitlyn has the night. It’s during the night that a mystery surrounding the Dead House unravels and a dark, twisted magic ruins the lives of each student that dares touch it.

Debut author Dawn Kurtagich masterfully weaves together a thrilling and terrifying story using psychiatric reports, witness testimonials, video footage, and the discovered diary – and as the mystery grows, the horrifying truth about what happened that night unfolds.

Addicting. That’s what this book is. I can’t read it fast enough, and I hate putting it down. When The House wasn’t thrilling me, I decided to try this one, and it’s really good. It’s exactly what I look for in a perfect Halloween read, and I can’t wait to see where it’s going. The shortened chapters help make it addictive, too. Definitely a book I can’t wait to pick up again later today!

 

what will you read next

 19364719
Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by Various Authors

A host of the smartest young adult authors come together in this collection of scary stories and psychological thrillers curated by Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea’s April Genevieve Tucholke.

Each story draws from a classic tale or two—sometimes of the horror genre, sometimes not—to inspire something new and fresh and terrifying. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From bloody horror to supernatural creatures to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for any reader looking for a thrill.

I don’t know – I’m not a big fan of novellas/anthologies. But this one is getting a lot of excitement, and I love the fact they are based on classic tales. I want to try it.

 

 

*Subject to change due to the fact I’m an extremely moody reader!

 

signatureratherbereading
9 thoughts on “W…W…W… Wednesday

  1. Yvo says:

    Yay for creepy reads! I will have to add Daughters Unto Devils to my wishlist and I need to get a copy of The Dead House ASAP. And it’s a shame you didn’t enjoy The House that much; it sounded like an interesting story…

  2. Kathy says:

    Wow, you are really creeping it up! I love the teaser for the house and am glad you said that about it. When I read it, I really want it to be spooky for me. I’m okay with romantic undertones, but I don’t want it to be romance with suspenseful undertones. I can’t wait to see what you have to say when you finish. 🙂

Leave a Reply

