Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

bookishthoughts

This is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

  • Had a small flu bug go through my house in the middle of the week, but thankfully it was just an annoying 24 hour thing, and we’re all feeling a lot better. Except now our allergies are acting up with the drastic change in the weather. We never get in-between temps – it goes from 80 to 50. My head can’t handle it.
  • But I do love running outside in these cooler temps. I went for a run last night to get in some practice for Sunday, and it was so nice out. Perfect running weather!
  • And with these frigid temps, I busted out the blanket scarf today. I won’t be cold at work! We refuse to turn the heat on in our house just yet, so we brought our faux fireplace/heater out of storage and had it on last night. Can I just have ONE month of no heating/air conditioning bill?!? I’ve had to already close the windows, because my daughter and cats were freezing.
  • Speaking of cats, we had our black cat, Mollie, spayed on Tuesday. I can already see a drastic difference in her personality. She went from being a demon kitty, terrorizing everything, to a sweet cuddly little thing. We’ll see if that lasts, or it’s just because she’s still recovering. All she’s done the past few nights is lay on the couch or lay on me, and my husband says she’s boring now. Lol.
  • If you missed it, I posted my Month of Creeptastic Reading yesterday. I’m dedicating this entire month to reading all things suspenseful. Unless I get on the November 9 blog tour – then all bets are off.
  • I started The House two nights ago. So far, I’m enjoying it.
  • My parents asked to keep peanut for a sleepover tonight, so hubby and I have a relaxing evening planned. Pizza, wine, and a fire. I’m really looking forward to it.
  • Tomorrow will be a day of cleaning, laundry, and probably nothing else, since they’re calling for rain all day. And then Sunday morning is the 5k, which I’m getting so excited about! Thankfully it looks like the weather will be perfect for it. I just hope I do well. I know I’m ready, but I’m still nervous!

Happy Friday, and have a great weekend!

In case you missed it…
Currently Reading

9774199 25011064

Recently Finished Reading

25884925

Book Haul

     26052536 25674125 23437156 26833786 22039456


FitReaders

FitReaders2015-200x200

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS: 
Thu: 17,781 steps
Fri: 15,195 steps
Sat: 21,519 steps
Sun: 15,149 steps
Mon: 15,275 steps
Tue: 14,418 steps
Wed: 10,755 steps

 

Was only able to get in 5 runs last week. Tuesday I got the opportunity to try some fitness class demos at our new fitness center at work. What I learned? Spinning is the devil, and I’ll never to do it again. I also did a boot camp and body sculpt class with lots of squats and lunges, so with all of that combined – I’ve had a hard time walking the past few days! It just reinforced my love of running – that’s where my heart is. And then on Wednesday, Sunnie and I came down with a small flu bug. Needless to say, my steps aren’t the greatest this week. But, I went running last evening, plan on running today, and then I’m ready for my 5k on Sunday!! I’m so excited for it. I plan on resting on Saturday and only doing some walking.

 

signatureratherbereading

18 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. Running 'N' Reading says:

    Brandie, I can’t wait to hear all about your race on Sunday; you’re going to do great!! I completely agree that spinning is the devil, but it does get more fun as your legs get used to it; I need to get back to another class. It sounds like you have a wonderful evening planned and I’m so glad you’re enjoying some cooler weather!!

  2. laurelrainsnow says:

    Ah, the flu bug…that reminds me it’s time to get the flu shot again! My daughter says the shots don’t prevent anything, but I haven’t had the flu since 2002…so maybe they work on me. LOL.

    I’m with you…a break between AC and heating bills is nice…I think I might have that chance, as it isn’t cold here yet, but I haven’t had to use the AC much, either.

    Enjoy your pizza and wine night…sounds good!

    • Brandie says:

      I believe in the flu shot. I get one at work every year, but they haven’t scheduled them, yet. I guess I got an early bug going around, but thankfully it was only a 24 hour one!

      Thanks! Have a great weekend!

  3. pennma05 says:

    Good luck with your race on Sunday! Sounds like you and your hubby will have a nice relaxing evening. My plans with friends tonight just fell through and my hubby is sick so I’ll be spending the evening cleaning and watching some of my Halloweeny movies. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on The House. That book looks so good!

  4. Kathy says:

    Boo for the flu. I recently recovered from upper respiratory infection, bronchitis, and ear problems because of allergies. Yuck! Good luck on Sunday!!

  5. Adriana Garcia says:

    Your steps are so much better than my attempt this week. I’m so impressed! But, I guess since you are a runner you are used to higher numbers. I don’t think I could handle a spin class. I rather ride bike around a park.

  6. The Bibliophile Babe says:

    Have fun with the 5k! Glad your family’s feeling better, and your cat is behaving better! My sister’s a cat fanatic (not me – dogs all the way! :p), and has said the same thing when hers have gotten fixed.

  7. Kathryn says:

    You are the Queen of Steps! Awesome work. Yesterday a friend was talking about her time in London and how the temps went from hot to cold in Autumn, sounds same for you. Hope Mollie stays sweet and cuddly.

  8. k2reader says:

    You had an awesome week, step-wise…but then, if you’re a runner, I’m not sure what you’re used to! I’m a walker, so I’d be quite happy if I got that many steps each week! My goal is 10K, but I try to get 12K most days…but this past week was really bad – work is quite stressful right now and I was not motivated to do anything. Good luck with your 5k today!!!

  9. Michelle says:

    Your step count wasn’t the greatest?!? If I get half of what you get, that is a good day for me. You totally rocked the 5K. Placing is an awesome accomplishment. Have you signed up for another race yet?

Leave a Reply

