W…W…W… Wednesday

www wednesday

 

W… W… W… Wednesday, hosted by Taking on a World of Worlds is a weekly meme showcasing what you just finished reading, what you are currently reading, and what you plan to start reading next.

 

what did you recently finish reading

 

25770649

Come Away with Me by Karma Brown

An unexpected journey leads one woman to discover that life after loss is possible, if only you can find the courage to let go…  

One minute, Tegan Lawson has everything she could hope for: an adoring husband, Gabe, and a baby on the way. The next, a patch of black ice causes a devastating accident that will change her life in ways she never could have imagined.

Tegan is consumed by grief—not to mention her anger toward Gabe, who was driving on the night of the crash. But just when she thinks she’s hit rock bottom, Gabe reminds her of their Jar of Spontaneity, a collection of their dream destinations and experiences, and so begins an adventure of a lifetime.

From the bustling markets of Thailand to the flavors of Italy to the ocean waves in Hawaii, Tegan and Gabe embark on a journey to escape the tragedy and search for forgiveness. But they soon learn that grief follows you no matter how far away you run, and that acceptance comes when you least expect it. Heartbreaking, hopeful and utterly transporting, Come Away with Me is an unforgettable debut and a luminous celebration of the strength of the human spirit.

I really enjoyed this one, although it was a really emotional read. It took me awhile to get through it, because I needed to take breaks when the sadness was overwhelming. It got me really worked up towards the end, and then BAM! Major twist I didn’t see coming. If you are in the mood for a very emotional and heart wrenching story, I definitely recommend this one. The writing is beautiful, and I did love the traveling parts (especially to Italy!).

 

what are you currently reading

 

9774199

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

A richly inventive novel about a centuries-old vampire, a spellbound witch, and the mysterious manuscript that draws them together.

Deep in the stacks of Oxford’s Bodleian Library, young scholar Diana Bishop unwittingly calls up a bewitched alchemical manuscript in the course of her research. Descended from an old and distinguished line of witches, Diana wants nothing to do with sorcery; so after a furtive glance and a few notes, she banishes the book to the stacks. But her discovery sets a fantastical underworld stirring, and a horde of daemons, witches, and vampires soon descends upon the library. Diana has stumbled upon a coveted treasure lost for centuries-and she is the only creature who can break its spell.

Yes, I’m still reading this one, but I’m more focused on it now. And it’s definitely getting good, where I’m anxious to pick it up and read more. Also, I am loving Matthew.

 

what will you read next

 26019326
Every Wrong Reason by Rachel Higginson
First comes love.


Then comes marriage.

Then comes the… really nasty divorce.

Kate Carter thought she married her soul mate. She thought she had her happily ever after. But seven years into Kate’s marriage, she realizes that her husband Nick is not what she wanted. He’s selfish, he’s oblivious and he doesn’t love her anymore.

Maybe she doesn’t love him anymore either.

Divorce is the only option if either of them wants to find happiness.

Kate and Nick thought they knew what they wanted, but neither is prepared for the heartache that separating will bring them. The journey they embark on is not the freedom they wished for, but a painful look at the people they’ve become.

At the end of it, Kate has to decide if this is really the life she wants or if maybe there’s a way to salvage her broken heart.

I loved another book I read by this author, so I had pre-ordered this book without much knowledge of what it was about. It sounds like another heavy and emotional read, which I’m not sure I’m up for right now. I was so excited to read it, and I may still give it a try. Or I’ll be moving on to the next book in the All Souls Trilogy – Shadow of Night.

 

 

*Subject to change due to the fact I’m an extremely moody reader!

 

signatureratherbereading
7 thoughts on “W…W…W… Wednesday

  1. pennma05 says:

    Come Away With Me sounds great. I think I saw it yesterday at Target and the cover looks beautiful! I’m glad you’re liking A Discovery of Witches! I liked Matthew too. I’ll definitely be reading Shadow of Night as part of my Halloweeny TBR in October and I can’t wait!

  2. kimberlyfaye says:

    I had an ARC of Come Away with Me from BEA but I ended up giving it to someone else. I spoiled it for myself and realized it really wasn’t for me. It just seemed too heavy. I’ve seen a lot of people saying Every Wrong Reason is also really heavy, but fantastic. I hope you enjoy it when you read it!

  3. Yvo says:

    Come Away With Me sounds like a really good read and it’s good to hear that A Discovery Of Witches picks up. I might have to give that book another chance…

Leave a Reply

