W…W…W… Wednesday

www wednesday

 

W… W… W… Wednesday, hosted by Taking on a World of Worlds is a weekly meme showcasing what you just finished reading, what you are currently reading, and what you plan to start reading next.

I’m still here! And I’m really hoping that after this week, I’ll be back to a normal routine. I miss blogging and reading.

 

what did you recently finish reading

 

 18052985

Romancing the Duke by Tessa Dare

As the daughter of a famed author, Isolde Ophelia Goodnight grew up on tales of brave knights and fair maidens. She never doubted romance would be in her future, too. The storybooks offered endless possibilities.

And as she grew older, Izzy crossed them off. One by one by one.

Ugly duckling turned swan?
Abducted by handsome highwayman?
Rescued from drudgery by charming prince?

No, no, and… Heh.

Now Izzy’s given up yearning for romance. She’ll settle for a roof over her head. What fairy tales are left over for an impoverished twenty-six year-old woman who’s never even been kissed?

This one.

I adored this book. It took me way too long to read it, but that wasn’t the fault of the book. I have had severe book ADD lately, and can’t seem to focus on anything. This book was so good, and I plan to read more in the series. I definitely have a new love for historical romance.

 

what are you currently reading

 

9774199

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

A richly inventive novel about a centuries-old vampire, a spellbound witch, and the mysterious manuscript that draws them together.

Deep in the stacks of Oxford’s Bodleian Library, young scholar Diana Bishop unwittingly calls up a bewitched alchemical manuscript in the course of her research. Descended from an old and distinguished line of witches, Diana wants nothing to do with sorcery; so after a furtive glance and a few notes, she banishes the book to the stacks. But her discovery sets a fantastical underworld stirring, and a horde of daemons, witches, and vampires soon descends upon the library. Diana has stumbled upon a coveted treasure lost for centuries-and she is the only creature who can break its spell.

I finally started this one after it being on my TBR for years! It’s long, but I am enjoying the writing and the story so far. With my attention span lately, I’ve been breaking it up with other books.

 

25770649

Come Away with Me by Karma Brown

An unexpected journey leads one woman to discover that life after loss is possible, if only you can find the courage to let go…  

One minute, Tegan Lawson has everything she could hope for: an adoring husband, Gabe, and a baby on the way. The next, a patch of black ice causes a devastating accident that will change her life in ways she never could have imagined.

Tegan is consumed by grief—not to mention her anger toward Gabe, who was driving on the night of the crash. But just when she thinks she’s hit rock bottom, Gabe reminds her of their Jar of Spontaneity, a collection of their dream destinations and experiences, and so begins an adventure of a lifetime.

From the bustling markets of Thailand to the flavors of Italy to the ocean waves in Hawaii, Tegan and Gabe embark on a journey to escape the tragedy and search for forgiveness. But they soon learn that grief follows you no matter how far away you run, and that acceptance comes when you least expect it. Heartbreaking, hopeful and utterly transporting, Come Away with Me is an unforgettable debut and a luminous celebration of the strength of the human spirit.

I’m really enjoying this one, although it’s pretty emotional. I just got to the part where they go to Italy, which is a dream of mine, so I’m excited to pick it back up.

 

what will you read next

24811197
Dark Wild Night by Christina Lauren

Lola and Oliver like to congratulate themselves on having the good sense to not consummate their drunken Las Vegas wedding. If they’d doubled-down on that mistake, their Just Friends situation might not be half as great as it is now.

… Or so goes the official line.

In reality, Lola’s wanted Oliver since day one—and over time has only fallen harder for his sexy Aussie accent and easygoing ability to take her as she comes. More at home in her studio than in baring herself to people, Lola’s instinctive comfort around Oliver nearly seems too good to be true. So why ruin a good thing?

Even as geek girls fawn over him, Oliver can’t get his mind off what he didn’t do with Lola when he had the chance. He knows what he wants with her now … and it’s far outside the friend zone. When Lola’s graphic novel starts getting national acclaim—and is then fast-tracked for a major motion picture—Oliver steps up to be there for her whenever she needs him. After all, she’s not the kind of girl who likes all that attention, but maybe she’s the kind who’ll eventually like him.

Sometimes seeing what’s right in front of us takes a great leap of faith. And sometimes a dark wild night in Vegas isn’t just the end of a day, but the beginning of a bright new life…

I’ve been excited for the release of this one. And I’m feeling the mood for a good romance. It’s between this one and…

 

25167898
 Grayson’s Vow by Mia Sheridan

Kira Dallaire is desperate.

Some challenges in life seem too hard to overcome. With little money, and even fewer options, the quick-witted and vibrant twenty-two-year-old needs to reinvent herself. Known for her generous heart and impulsive personality, she devises a survival plan, possibly her most outrageous idea yet.

Grayson Hawthorn is losing hope.

Some obstacles in life seem too hard to overcome. Betrayal definitely being one of them. With limited capital, and dwindling resources, he is attempting to resurrect his failing family vineyard, a self-imposed vow seemingly destined to fail. That is until a young woman enters his office with an outlandish, unexpected proposition impossible to refuse.

What begins as a temporary business arrangement, soon evolves into more as vivacious, spirited Kira challenges detached, arrogant Grayson to want more from life. To want more for himself. But as their wills clash and fiery passion ignites, they’ll realize that sometimes the past creates walls too difficult to climb, and that lies and deception rarely precede a happily every after.

As Kira and Grayson race toward their destiny, they will discover that some vows are meant to be broken, and others are worth risking everything for . . . even your very own heart.

I’ve really enjoyed this authors books in the past, and this one is getting lots of buzz and high praise. There’s also the subject of vineyards and wine, which obviously caught my immediate attention. I think I’m leaning more towards reading this one next. 😉 

 

I need to get some of these read before October, because I plan to spend the whole month reading all things suspenseful and spooky!

 

*Subject to change due to the fact I’m an extremely moody reader!

 

signatureratherbereading
12 thoughts on “W…W…W… Wednesday

  1. pennma05 says:

    I really need to check out those Christina Lauren books! I always see how much you love them and I love a good romance. I’m glad you’re liking A Discovery of Witches so far! I’ve been debating whether I want to start the second book or save that for my October Halloweeny list. Happy reading 🙂

    • Brandie says:

      I have really enjoyed almost every Christina Lauren book I’ve read. This one is pretty different from the rest, but sounds good! I do like A Discovery of Witches a lot. It’s a slow read, but I am enjoying it.

  2. Running 'N' Reading says:

    I’m so excited that you’re reading A Discovery of Witches; I’m hoping you’ll be my guinea pig, Brandie, since a friend of mine really wants me to read these – ha! I love the name Tegan; I also love the cover of Come Away With Me. I hope you enjoy these!

  3. Yvo says:

    Good to hear you are enjoying A Discovery Of Witches so far! I started it last year and just couldn’t get used to the prose and slow pace; I ended up DNFing it for the time being. I have a copy of the whole trilogy though, so I might give it another go at some point.

Leave a Reply

