W…W…W… Wednesday

www wednesday

 

W… W… W… Wednesday, hosted by Taking on a World of Worlds is a weekly meme showcasing what you just finished reading, what you are currently reading, and what you plan to start reading next.

I am sorry I’ve been MIA on the blog lately. Life has been hectic. It’s busy season at work, we just celebrated my daughter’s 5th birthday over the weekend, and she starts preschool next week. Lots going on and not a lot of time to read or blog. I hope after next week things will settle down some.

 

what did you recently finish reading

 

 25797013

The Paper Swan by Leylah Attar

They say it takes 21 days to form a habit.
They lie.
For 21 days she held on.
But on Day 22, she would have given anything for the sweet slumber of death.
Because on Day 22, she realizes that her only way out means certain death for one of the two men she loves.

A haunting tale of passion, loss, and redemption, The Paper Swan is a darkly intense yet heartwarming love story, textured with grit, intrigue, and suspense. Please note: This is NOT a love triangle.

I just finished this book over lunch, and I loved it. Went on the list of favorites for the year. If you enjoyed The Sweet Gum Tree, I recommend this one. It has a great mix of suspense, romance (some erotica), and sexual tension. It’s also pretty twisted and shocking at times, which I loved! And it was better because I didn’t read any reviews beforehand, nor did I have a clue what the book was about before I started it. I just knew it was getting a lot of good buzz, and I loved the cover. That’s all it took for me to buy it, and I’m so glad I did!

 

what are you currently reading

 

18052985

Romancing the Duke by Tessa Dare

As the daughter of a famed author, Isolde Ophelia Goodnight grew up on tales of brave knights and fair maidens. She never doubted romance would be in her future, too. The storybooks offered endless possibilities.

And as she grew older, Izzy crossed them off. One by one by one.

Ugly duckling turned swan?
Abducted by handsome highwayman?
Rescued from drudgery by charming prince?

No, no, and… Heh.

Now Izzy’s given up yearning for romance. She’ll settle for a roof over her head. What fairy tales are left over for an impoverished twenty-six year-old woman who’s never even been kissed?

This one.

I need to pick this one back up, but I don’t know if I’m in the mood or not.

 

what will you read next

26137364
All the Difference by Leah Ferguson

 New Year’s Eve. A time for resolutions. A chance to make a change. And for thirty-year-old Molly Sullivan, a night that will transform her life forever…

All it takes is one word—yes or no—to decide Molly’s future. As the clock counts down to midnight and the ball slowly begins to drop, Molly’s picture-perfect boyfriend gets down on one knee and asks her to marry him. She knows she should say yes, especially considering the baby-sized surprise she just discovered she’s carrying. But something in her heart is telling her to say no…

Now, Molly’s future can follow two very different paths: one where she stays with her baby’s father, despite her misgivings and his family’s unreasonable expectations, and one where she ventures out on her own as a single mother, embracing all the hardships that come with it.

And by the time the next New Year is rung in, Molly will know which choice was right—following her head or listening to her heart…

I have been drawn to this book ever since I saw someone post about it on Instagram last week. It’s calling my name, I may start it tonight.

 

 25011064
The House by Christina Lauren

Delilah and Gavin’s new love is threatened by a force uncomfortably close to home in this haunting novel from New York Times bestselling duo Christina Lauren, authors of Beautiful Bastard.

His shirt is black, jeans are black, and shaggy black hair falls into his eyes. And when Gavin looks up at Delilah, the dark eyes shadowed with bluish circles seem to flicker to life.

He lives in that house, the one at the edge of town. Spooky and maybe haunted. Something worse than haunted. And Gavin is trapped by its secrets.

Delilah and Gavin can’t resist each other. But staying together will exact a price beyond their imagining.

I’m a big fan of this author duo’s Beautiful Bastard series, but this is something completely different from them – YA suspense – and it sounds really good.  Pretty excited I was approved to read it from Edelweiss. Also, that cover!! So creepy, I love it.

 

*Subject to change due to the fact I’m an extremely moody reader!

 

signatureratherbereading
8 thoughts on “W…W…W… Wednesday

Leave a Reply

