W…W…W… Wednesday

www wednesday

 

W… W… W… Wednesday, hosted by Taking on a World of Worlds is a weekly meme showcasing what you just finished reading, what you are currently reading, and what you plan to start reading next.

 

what did you recently finish reading

 

 10194157

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha . . . and the secrets of her heart.

I get the hype. This book was really good. A little tough to get into, with all the Russian names confusing me, but once the story took off, I really enjoyed it. I had assumed it would end with a wicked cliffhanger, but thankfully it didn’t, or IMO it didn’t. I do plan to finish the series eventually.

 

what are you currently reading

 

25797013

The Paper Swan by Leylah Attar

They say it takes 21 days to form a habit.
They lie.
For 21 days she held on.
But on Day 22, she would have given anything for the sweet slumber of death.
Because on Day 22, she realizes that her only way out means certain death for one of the two men she loves.

A haunting tale of passion, loss, and redemption, The Paper Swan is a darkly intense yet heartwarming love story, textured with grit, intrigue, and suspense. Please note: This is NOT a love triangle.

I had no clue what the book was about before I picked it up last night. I just knew that I needed SOMETHING gripping, and I had purchased this on my Kindle after seeing it get a lot of hype around it’s release. I have purposefully avoided reading any reviews so as not to spoil the book for me, and I’m so glad I did that. It is INTENSE right off the bat, and is very suspenseful. I have no clue what the hell is happening, and that’s making me anxious to pick it back up on my lunch break. YAY for a book FINALLY getting my attention. My moodiness and book boredom was starting to be a concern.

 

18052985

Romancing the Duke by Tessa Dare

As the daughter of a famed author, Isolde Ophelia Goodnight grew up on tales of brave knights and fair maidens. She never doubted romance would be in her future, too. The storybooks offered endless possibilities.

And as she grew older, Izzy crossed them off. One by one by one.

Ugly duckling turned swan?
Abducted by handsome highwayman?
Rescued from drudgery by charming prince?

No, no, and… Heh.

Now Izzy’s given up yearning for romance. She’ll settle for a roof over her head. What fairy tales are left over for an impoverished twenty-six year-old woman who’s never even been kissed?

This one.

I am really enjoying this, but it’s a slower read. I needed something that could keep my attention, and that’s why I decided to try The Paper Swan. My book ADD is out of control lately. I think with life being really busy these days, it’s part of the reason I can’t focus on a book unless it’s really gripping me. And when life is hectic, I NEED a book as an escape and to help me unwind each day. I’ll be picking this one back up soon, because I really am loving the story, and it’s the first historical romance I’ve read in a long time!

 

what will you read next

24502942
The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich

Over two decades have passed since the fire at Elmbridge High, an inferno that took the lives of three teenagers. Not much was known about the events leading up to the tragedy – only that one student, Carly Johnson, vanished without a trace…

…until a diary is found hidden in the ruins.

But the diary, badly scorched, does not belong to Carly Johnson. It belongs to Kaitlyn Johnson, a girl who shouldn’t exist Who was Kaitlyn? Why did she come out only at night? What is her connection to Carly?

The case has been reopened. Police records are being reexamined: psychiatric reports, video footage, text messages, e-mails. And the diary.

The diary that paints a much more sinister version of events than was ever made publicly known.

I actually started this one the other day, but couldn’t focus on it at the time and didn’t get very far. It’s creepy and good, so I’m going to finish it next.

 

*Subject to change due to the fact I’m an extremely moody reader!

 

signatureratherbereading
19 thoughts on “W…W…W… Wednesday

  1. pennma05 says:

    I’m glad you liked Shadow and Bone! It is nice that it didn’t end on a big cliffhanger. That seems to be rare for series these days. I really really want to read The Dead House! It sounds so creepy and I’m really in the mood for a good creepy book!

    • Brandie says:

      I love creepy and this one definitely starts out creepy! I’m excited to get more into it. I agree – it’s so nice when a book doesn’t end with a cliffhanger, because I hate them so bad!! lol

      • pennma05 says:

        Ah! I just went to pre-order The Dead House and the Kindle price is $9.99. Ugh. I can’t justify spending that much right now, especially when the paperback is only $0.59 more lol. I hate that.Guess I’ll have to find a different creepy book to tide me over lol.

      • Brandie says:

        Did you try requesting on Netgalley?? That’s where I got it from. I agree – I rarely pay that much for a Kindle book. Has to be my favorite author!

  2. Kathy says:

    I’ve wondered about the hype on The Paper Swan and have intentionally avoided it because of the hype. If it’s that intense from the beginning, I definitely want to read it. The Dead House really looks appealing, so I will add that one to my wish list. 🙂

  3. Yvo says:

    Good to hear you enjoyed Shadow And Bone! And The Paper Swan sounds like a very interesting read; I will have to add that one to my TBR. I will also be trying to get a copy of The Dead House soon!

    Thanks for visiting my WWW. 🙂

  4. Michelle says:

    The Paper House sounds REALLY good!

    I am like you and in no rush to read the rest of the Grisha trilogy. I liked it a lot and thought it was well-written and thankfully original, but it doesn’t have that OMFG-I-NEED-TO-FIND-OUT-WHAT-HAPPENS vibe to it.

  5. Teddyree says:

    I’m thinking The Paper Swans will be going on my reading list … I tend to love everything you do, HA we have good taste 😉 and I’ve heard nothing about it til now, a good way to go into it.
    Keen to hear what you think of The Dead House. Have a great week Brandie and happy reading 🙂

    • Brandie says:

      Yes, we do have good taste! 🙂 It’s really good, too! I can’t wait to pick it back up tonight. I’m glad I didn’t know anything about it before I started reading it. It’s made the reading experience way better.

Leave a Reply

