Bout of Books 14: Final Update

 

BoB14-200x2001

Updates

Weekend (Fri-Sun)

Number of pages I read: 213

Total # of pages read: 682

Books I read from: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo & Romancing the Duke by Tessa Dare

Books I finished: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo & Swerve by Vicki Pettersson

#todayinsixwords: Rough week, but I did okay.

Well, the week didn’t go as I hoped, but even so, I managed to finish two books, and I’m happy with that, considering my goal was just one! It was one of the busiest weeks of the year at work, and reading on my lunch didn’t really happen. And then the evenings got away from me, or I was too tired to read. Thankfully I made up for it somewhat over the weekend. I still had fun, got to participate in one of the Twitter chats, and visited a lot of blogs. Overall, still a success! I look forward to the next BoB, and I hope my life is less busy that week!


 

Wednesday & Thursday

Number of pages I’ve read today: 306

Total # of pages read: 469

Books I read from: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo & Swerve by Vicki Pettersson

Books I finished: Swerve by Vicki Pettersson

#todayinsixwords: Too tired, I just wanna read!

I missed updating yesterday because life and work have been super busy. It would figure that this week would be the busiest work week I’ve had in months. I really can’t believe it’s Friday already! I managed to finish a book, yay. It was a good thriller as far as the plot and twist goes, but WAY too gory for me. I love horror, but I can’t stomach a lot of gore. It would make an excellent movie, where I could just close my eyes during all the gross parts.

I’m still enjoying Shadow and Bonebut it’s a slower read for me, simply because of all the damn Russian words. It isn’t helping that I don’t have the energy to focus on it this week. Should’ve picked something more light and fluffy to read!

No challenges the past few days, although I’ve enjoyed seeing everyone else’s posts. I love all the BoB posts – it’s so fun to see what everyone else is reading all week.

Here’s to HOPEFULLY getting a lot more read over the weekend! TGIF!

 

Tuesday

Number of pages I’ve read today: 75

Total # of pages read: 163

Books I read from: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

#todayinsixwords: Finally starting series – hope it’s amazing!

Not getting as much read as I wanted to the past few days, but that’s okay. I was too busy at work yesterday to read over lunch. Hoping today is different, because I’m really liking my book and want to dive back in! This series is getting so much love, I’m glad I’m finally trying it.

 

Monday

Number of pages I’ve read today: 88

Books I read from: Swerve by Vicki Pettersson

#todayinsixwords: Fun Twitter chat and good book!

I managed to get some reading time in over my lunch break yesterday, and while I walked on the treadmill last night. The book is intense and pretty gory – not used to a lot of gore in my books. But, so far it’s good. Glad I remembered the Twitter chat last night. It was a lot of fun!

Challenge

Today’s challenge is hosted by The Book Monsters and is a book scavenger hunt! You can take your own pictures or use images you find online. Here’s mine!

1. A Book that begins with “B”  (for Bout of Books!)
24688274
2. A book your planning to read/currently reading for Bout of Books
24358713
3. Blue Book(s)
24355995
4. Books from your favorite genre!
17788401
5. A book on your TBR shelf, or your full TBR shelves

 

 23350025

 


 

I’ll be posting daily updates and participating in any challenges I can.  Hope everyone participating has a great week! If you want to still sign up, you can do so here.

So, we know I’m a moody reader, and picking a TBR pile is usually a wasted effort. But, it’s still fun to do anyway. Here are the books I’d like to read. In NO way will I ever read them all – hell, I’ll be lucky to finish one of them. I have been wanting to start this Bardugo series forever and I’m hoping that declaring it a BOB read will force me to start it. 😉

I’ve already started reading Swerve, and I’m hooked. Lately I’m feeling very underwhelmed by what I’ve been reading, and I hope that changes this week with whatever I pick up. I need something epic!

 The Books

24358713 10194157 21792828


The Goals

1. Read as much as I can every day – lunch breaks and after my daughter goes to bed. – Well, this sorta happened, off and on throughout the week.

2. Finish one book.

3. Check in with other readathoners on blogs, Twitter, & Instagram.

4. Post an update each day. – Didn’t happen, but that’s okay.

5. Participate in one of the Twitter chats.

 

 

Happy Reading!

 

signatureratherbereading

10 thoughts on “Bout of Books 14: Final Update

  1. Kathy says:

    I was really looking forward to Swerve, but I don’t do gory, either. I hope your work week gets less hectic…and you still read more than I’ve read in three weeks. 😉

  2. StephTheBookworm says:

    Even though you were busy, you did really well and read a lot of pages! 🙂 I’m hoping to participate next time. I didn’t do it this time around but I had fun when I did the last time.

  3. kimberlyfaye says:

    Nothing wrong with finishing two books! 🙂 I’m sorry your reading didn’t exactly go as planned, but at least you did some of the more social parts of the challenge you planned to!

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you! 🙂 I love that the readathon forces me to make more time to read than I normally would. I need to continue that mindset without the readathon!

Leave a Reply

