Top Ten Authors I’ve Read the Most

top ten tuesday

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, this week’s topic is Top Ten Authors I’ve Read the Most Books From.

             tttauthors

This was pretty eye opening for me. I used Goodreads to figure out the numbers, and was really surprised by how many James Patterson books I’ve read. I used to listen to his books on my long commute to and from work, years ago. It’s funny how tastes change, because I haven’t read one of his books in years and have no desire to now.

I used to love Mary Higgins Clark, but she’s an author I got burnt out on and stopped reading her books years ago. I do have her newest book to read in hopes I’ll find my love for her again.

Nicholas Sparks was a given, as I was obsessed with his books for many years, and he’s one author I own every book in hardback (minus his latest release). And he’s the only author I’ve ever gotten a chance to meet! Just like MHC, I got burnt out on his books and haven’t read his newest one.

Kendall Ryan is one of my favorite authors, but having only discovered her a few years ago, I was surprised by how many books she’s written and that I’ve read already. And I believe I have 4 or 5 more on my TBR list!

You can’t be surprised by Colleen Hoover. I will read anything this woman writes.

I’ve gone through lots of different reading phases where I binge read several authors, including a chic lit phase with Meg Cabot and Sophie KinsellaI loved the Heather Wells series (Cabot) and read several of the Shopaholic books (Kinsella). I’m not much into chic lit at the moment, but that’s not saying I won’t revisit it again in the future with my mood swings!

Harlan Coben is my go-to for suspense, and I have loved all most all of his stand alone novels. I haven’t read them all, but hope to at some point. As long as he keeps writing new books, I’ll keep trying them.

Kristin Hannah has been a favorite of mine for years. She’s another author I will continue to read anything she writes (have you read The Nightingale, yet? YOU NEED TO).

My go-to for cute, feel-good holiday reads is Richard Paul Evans. I love reading his books around Christmastime. I was a bit surprised by how many of his books I had read over the years.

When I discovered the New Adult genre, I binge read Abbi Glines and loved it. Unfortunately I’ve gotten burnt out on her books and haven’t picked one up in a long time.

I only recently caught up on the Beautiful Bastard series by Christina Lauren, which makes up the bulk of the number, and are some of my favorite books ever.

It’s crazy to me how much my tastes in books have evolved over the years. I’ve always said I’m a very moody reader, and who knows if I’ll ever have the desire to read some of my old favs again. But it was fun to take a look back at the numbers! Are any of your favorites on this list?

 

signatureratherbereading

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Authors I’ve Read the Most

  1. Running 'N' Reading says:

    What a great list! I remember my mother having tons of Mary Higgins Clark books around during the summers (she is a retired teacher) and that’s how I discovered her work; I’ve read lots of them, as well! She has to be waaaay up there, in terms of numbers of novels written, compared to other authors. Love this!

    • Brandie says:

      Yes – more Coben!! I recommend Caught, The Woods, Tell No One, & The Innocent. Just a few…LOL. I am kinda shocked you’ve never read a Patterson book. Since you enjoy suspense. His books got kinda cheesy and annoying for me after awhile.

  2. The Bibliophile Babe says:

    Yay for Colleen Hoover! Love her. Can’t wait for November 9!

    It is interesting to see book trends. I remember reading authors I enjoyed last year that I have no desire to pick up again. I need to get on to reading the Beautiful Bastard books!

  3. Gretchen says:

    I’ve done this before by looking them up on Goodreads but it’s been a while. I always had a ton of Laurel K. Hamiltons but I haven’t read her in years!

  4. Analee @ Book Snacks says:

    Wow, you’ve read quite the number of books from Nicholas Sparks and Colleen Hoover! 🙂 I’ve only read 5 from the former and 1 for the latter, lol. I’ve read lots of books from Meg Cabot, though. Great list! ❤

  5. Jade Louise says:

    I’ve been away from the book blogging community for a while now… Returning I see this post from you and before opening I knew Colleen Hoover would be on it. Haha! It’s interesting to see how your book preferences change over time.

    I haven’t actually figured mine out, but I think Roald Dahl or Cecelia Ahern would be my most read author.

    (Formerly Life’s Open Pages)

  6. Rachel says:

    Wow at the James Patterson! Lol I was going to ask if he was/is good, but then saw your comment below the graphic lol I’m surprised at some of these, but maybe they were pre-blogging? 12 CoHo books? I didn’t think she had 12 books! R x

  7. Kathy says:

    This is an excellent list of amazing authors. I’m really surprised that your top two didn’t make my list because I really thought I had read more of them. Actually, I probably have read more Mary Higgins Clark and just didn’t have a record of it.

  8. Kathryn says:

    Hmm Kristan Hannah’s books I love. I’ve read one or two James Patterson but his romance ones. I haven’t read Nicholas Sparks, I was tempted to pick up his one coming out in October from book publicist but held back as not sure I’d like it. Don’t his end with tissues?

    • Brandie says:

      I knew he releases books every October – but I didn’t even think about it – now I’m curious! Going to go look it up. His older books are the best. I highly recommend The Guardian or A Bend in the Road, should you ever get the urge to try him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

