Weekend Wrap Up

weekend wrap up

finished reading

13147826  25307705

  

currently reading

24535154  24594515


  book haul

 25797013 25531602 25394138

 12134801 25994507 8505011

 ARC’s of several books above provided by publishers via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.


FitReaders2015-200x200

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS: 
Mon: 14,730 steps – Run (3 mi), Walk (30 min)
Tue: 10,499 steps – Walk (30 min)
Wed: 19,066 steps – Run (4 mi)
Thurs: 18,264 steps – Run (3 mi), Walk (30 min)
Fri: 15,361 steps – Walk (45 min)
Sat: 20,303 steps – Run (6 mi)
Sun: 14,397 steps –  Run (3 mi)

 

I managed to get a run or walk in every day last week, and set a new PR for myself on Saturday by running my first 6 miles straight. After running Sunday, too, I was feeling pretty sore this morning and opted to take the day off from running, to let my muscles recover. I usually love starting the week off with a run, but I have learned to listen to my body, and knew a run this morning would have been a bad idea. I hope to get a walk in later today, then back to running in the morning!

 Bookish and Non-Bookish Thoughts

  • It was a great weekend. Yesterday was National Book Lover’s Day, and I got to finish a book in celebration. It’s always a good weekend when I can finish a book!
  • The book I finished was In a Dark, Dark Wood and, although the first half was a bit of a struggle for me (I wasn’t a fan of any of the characters), once I hit about the 60% mark, the suspense kicked up a notch and things got really interesting. Enough for me to keep reading and enjoy it from that point on. I fear the Black-Eyed Susans has set impossibly high expectations for all future suspense novels I pick up. 😉
  • Before We Were Strangers is getting serious praise right now, and it’s a new-to-me author. I’ve had the ARC from Netgalley for awhile, and the buzz had me picking it up last week. I only got a few chapters into it, but I am loving the writing style. I also started my first McMahon book, The Night Sister, and so far, so good. It definitely has my attention, and I hope it ends up being as creepy as it sounds.
  • I ordered the decorations and gifts for Sunnie’s 5th birthday, which is only a few weeks away. My baby is growing up too fast, and I can hardly believe she’s turning 5! She asked for a Paw Patrol themed party – which is a cartoon on Nick Jr. that she loves. And next week we have our parent meeting at her preschool. Slow down, time!
  • It was a pretty low-key weekend, which is always nice. I’m thankful to have gotten off work early on Friday, because it was perfect weather to take Sunnie to the park. The weather’s been very cooperative lately.
  • And now I’m off to finish my lunch and maybe get a little reading in. Have a great week!

 

 

signatureratherbereading

13 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap Up

  1. The Bibliophile Babe says:

    In A Dark Dark Wood looks good! I’m itching to try Before We Were Strangers, so I’m looking forward to your thoughts on that. Yay for The Paper Swan and What You Left Behind! I can’t wait to start those. Curious to hear about The Knife of Never Letting Go. I’ve heard interesting things about it.

    Great job on the exercise!

  2. StephTheBookworm says:

    Wow, I can’t believe Sunnie is turning 5! It’s incredible how fast kids grow up. I don’t even think Caleb looks like much of a baby anymore. 😦

    I read The Knife of Never Letting Go for my book club and thought it was decent but I wasn’t blown away by it. Everyone else seems to love it though so I hope you do too! I’m eager to see what you think.

  3. Josephine says:

    IM SO EXCITED YOU HAVE THE KNIFE OF NEVER LETTING GO BY PATRICK NESS! I really hope you enjoy it, as much as I did! And I’ve heard so many good things about What You Left Behind, I hope to read that one too! xoxo

  4. Kathryn says:

    Great fitness and congrats on 6 mile run. Pleased though you are listening to your body and resting when necessary. Hope the 5th birthday will be fun, they grow up so quickly. Enjoy your creepy books!!

  5. Running 'N' Reading says:

    Brandie, it sounds like you’ve got some great books lined up; that’s always so exciting!! On a different note, do you use a Fitbit to track your steps and, if so, which one? I have a Jawbone UP24, but it’s been giving me fits lately and I’m thinking of trying something different. I just recommended Black-Eyed Susans to someone yesterday and I haven’t even read it yet; hopefully, she’ll check out your review. Hope you have a great day!

    • Brandie says:

      Yes, I have a Fitbit Charge, and I LOVE it. I highly recommend one!!

      I want everyone to read Black-Eyed Susans! Best suspense ever! I hope you get to read it too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

