{Kindle Kandy} No. 9

Kindle Kandy Plain

 

Kindle Kandy is a Friday weekly bookish feature hosted by The Book Dame. We scan our shelves and eReaders to rediscover books that we own but have not read, to this point little more than shelf or Kindle Kandy.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

12973964

Synopsis:

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

This book is all over the web this week, and I know I’m missing out on a great series. I’ve had it on my Kindle forever, but that whole starting an incomplete series thing turns me off. The final book is out this fall, and I think I may finally dive in!


Shine Not Burn by Elle Casey

17973653

Synopsis:

IT HAPPENED IN VEGAS.

I can’t be held responsible. Things that happen there are supposed to stay there, right? Right? Yeeeah. Not so much.

Andie’s just days away from tying the knot, but there’s just ooooone little glitch. Apparently, she’s already married. Or someone with her name is married to a guy out in Oregon of all places, and the courthouse won’t issue her a marriage license until it’s all cleared up. Tripping her way through cow pies and country songs to meet up with a man who gets around places on horseback is her very last idea of how to have a good time, but if she’s going to get married, make partner at the firm, and have two point five kids before she’s thirty-five, she needs to get to the bottom of this snafu and fix it quick … before her fiance finds out and everything she’s been working toward goes up in flames.

A fellow blogger and friend on Goodreads recommended this book to me earlier in the week, and it so happens that I had it on my Kindle, but of course never read it! One of my favorite movies ever is Sweet Home Alabama, and this book sounds like a cute version of it. When I’m in the mood for something fun, I’m going to give it a try.

 

Have you read either of these books? What did you think?

 

signatureratherbereading

10 thoughts on “{Kindle Kandy} No. 9

  1. Maria D. says:

    I have not read either of these books but I do have Cinder on my kindle too…lol. This is the first time I’ve seen a book by Elle Casey – good luck with both books.

  2. Suzi Q., The Book Dame says:

    I have gotten more like that with series myself. I prefer to go into the series when it is complete, or nearly complete. I hate forgetting details that take away from a story. I have been reading the Cedar Cove Series over the past couple of years and am on book ten, which is so much nicer than reading to book two in a couple of years time.
    Cinder is a great story. I only hope that all the hype doesn’t set the bar too high that you can’t fully enjoy it. That often happens to me.
    Shine Not Burn sounds like a book that I would enjoy. I loved the movie Sweet Home Alabama too, and this story does sound fun. How great that it was recommended and you already owned it. I look forward to seeing what you think of it.

  3. Gretchen says:

    I had Cinder on my list at one point and time, I have no idea if it’s still on there. I should check! Before I found the romance I read now I was all PNR and Dystopia and this fit into that category for me.

Leave a Reply

