Weekend Wrap Up

weekend wrap up

finished reading

  Nothing. Major reading slump this week.

currently reading

13147826


book haul

 10162349 23638962

24362060 19504931

25693079 24622845

newbook

I always see other people go to a bookstore and get lucky to find a new release that has been put out on the shelves early. This book isn’t scheduled to release until August 11, but Books a Million had it out on the shelves yesterday, so I grabbed a copy! This author wrote one of my favorite books of all time, The Edge of Never, and I hope this book is equally as good!

 ARC’s of several books above provided by publishers via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.


FitReaders2015-200x200

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I recently joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS: 
Mon: 20,218 steps – Run (4 mi), Walk (30 min)
Tue: 12,548 steps – Walk (60 min)
Wed: 18,004 steps – Run (4 mi), Walk (20 min)
Thurs: 18,742 steps – Run (4 mi)
Fri: 10,768 steps – Rest Day
Sat: 12,690 steps – Run (3 mi)
Sun: 17,733 steps –  Run (4 mi)

 

It was a good week, and I took my first day off from exercise in a long time. I know it’s good to rest, and my body really needed it. I still hit my step goal just from normal activity that day, so that helped with the guilt of not actually working out. Lol. 😉

 Bookish and Non-Bookish Thoughts

  • It pains me to say that I’m not loving Playing Dead like I did Black-Eyed Susans. The pace is MUCH slower, and it’s not as creepy or suspenseful. I think because it’s a slower read, I’m starting to lose interest and could care less what happens. Which sucks, especially when I’m 60% into the book. Being so invested, I won’t DNF now – but I REALLY hope it gets exciting soon. Or else I’m going to skim to the end to get it over with. A real bummer.
  • Because this book is so slow, it’s put me into another reading slump. I hate that. Hoping to finish this one tonight, and that the next book I pick up is better at keeping my attention.
  • I signed up for Bout of Books 14! It’s such a fun week – make sure you sign up!
  • The weekend started out a bit rough with my peanut not feeling well. For over a week she’s been fighting some type of summer cold/allergies, and the worst of it hit her on Friday night through Saturday night. Sunnie is VERY active and constantly on the move, so I know she’s not feeling well when all she wants to do is lay around and watch movies. We stayed in all day Saturday so she could get some much needed rest, and by Sunday morning she was back to being our perky, happy girl. She’s still fighting a little bit of the cold, but it’s not bringing her down like it did on Saturday, thankfully.
  • Sunday, since she was feeling so much better, and we had gorgeous weather again, we played outside most of the morning/early afternoon. She spent most of the time in her sandbox, because we’d gotten new sand for it and moved it to a better part of our yard. It was like getting a new toy and she was super excited. While she took a nap in the afternoon, momma got to lay out and get a little bit of sun. I wasn’t hating life, that’s for sure. 😉

sun

  • Originally, my parents had asked for Sunnie to spend the night on Saturday, but it didn’t happen because of her not feeling well. They asked again on Sunday, and Sunnie, never forgets ANYTHING and loves sleepovers at her grandparents house, so she asked me first thing in the morning if she could go, because she was feeling better. My parents are so great with her, and I know how lucky we are that they love and want to spend so much time with her, not to mention I never have to worry when she’s with them. We took her over last night for her sleepover and my sweet hubby took me to dinner, to the bookstore, and to get ice cream. He knows the way to my heart! 🙂

hubby

Sunnie was our little photographer. She was giggling so hard taking our picture that she had us cracking up. She got some really good shots – I was impressed!

  • It’s going to be a busy work week, so here’s to lots of coffee and hopefully some walks over my lunches to break up the day! Oh, and getting out of my reading slump!

 

 

signatureratherbereading

20 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap Up

  1. pennma05 says:

    I’ve been in such a slump too! Hoping that my current read will break me out of it! Bummer that Playing Dead is not as suspenseful as BES! Sounds like I’ll be putting that one off. Under Different Stars was a good read! You should check out the author’s other series, Premonition series, beginning with Inescapable. I love that series!

  2. Running 'N' Reading says:

    WOW!!! Your step counts from last week were AWESOME!! I’m so impressed! I’m also really jealous of your beer/book time – ha! This is such a great pic of you and your husband; I can’t believe Sunnie took this. She is quite the pro, right? It’s really tough when I’ve just finished a GREAT book and then I move on to the next one; had I read it at a different time, I might have thought it was fantastic but, because of the one I read before, it’s just eh. Bummer. Hope your week is starting off well!

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you!! Yeah, I think I needed a break between this author’s books. It’s starting to pick up now that I’m nearing the end, at least. Lol, yes, I told Sunnie she could have a career in photography some day. She thought taking our picture by herself was the coolest thing – made her feel grown up. 😉 Thanks – have a great week!

  3. Kathryn says:

    Ouch nothing worse than a reading slump. And usually its a book that just isn’t working for me that causes it too. Sunnie took a gorgeous pic, and I am sure she enjoyed her sleepover, grandparents are the greatest. I thing I want to read Secret Sisters by Brenda Novak. Off to read up about it!

  4. Dachshund Nola says:

    Such a sweet hubby! Glad your daughter is feeling better, too. 🙂

    Book slumps are the worst! I hope your book picks up. I absolutely love the cover for Under Different Stars. So pretty, and a bit eerie. Yay for an early snag! I grabbed The Edge of Never on Book Outlet the other day. Glad you like it!

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you! Ugh…book slumps are horrible. Thankfully I’m almost done with this book and can start something new soon! I hope you like The Edge of Never – it’s SO good.

  5. Teddyree says:

    Eek in a slump … you need an Italian getaway!! Get your hands on Racing the Sun right now my friend lol. I can’t wait to start on Black-Eyed Susans, I didn’t realise it was another of your 5 star reads woot woot. I’m going to look up The Edge of Never too!
    Glad Sunnie is feeling better, I love having my granddaughter too, it gives mummy and daddy a date night. And that’s a lovely photo of you and hubby, you have a budding photographer on your hands. Have a great week, happy running and reading 🙂

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you! I’m so glad she’s feeling better, too. The Edge of Never introduced me to The Civil Wars, which I had never listened to before. I highly recommend – it’s such a good book!

Leave a Reply

