W…W…W… Wednesday

www wednesday

 

W… W… W… Wednesday, hosted by Taking on a World of Worlds is a weekly meme showcasing what you just finished reading, what you are currently reading, and what you plan to start reading next.

 

what did you recently finish reading

 

24688274

Black-Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin

A girl’s memory lost in a field of wildflowers.
A killer still spreading seeds.

At seventeen, Tessa became famous for being the only surviving victim of a vicious serial killer. Her testimony put him on death row. Decades later, a mother herself, she receives a message from a monster who should be in prison. Now, as the execution date rapidly approaches, Tessa is forced to confront a chilling possibility: Did she help convict the wrong man?

This is a must read for anyone who loves suspense/thriller novels. One of my favorite reads this year. You can read my review here.

 

what are you currently reading

 

18952257

God-Shaped Hole by Tiffanie DeBartolo

When I was twelve, a fortune teller told me that my one true love would die young and leave me all alone.
Everyone said she was a fraud, that she was just making it up.
I’d really like to know why the hell a person would make up a thing like that.

Written with the snap, glitter and wit of The Girl’s Guide to Hunting and Fishing, God-Shaped Hole is a memorable, poignant love story that will leave you weeping with laughter. It is told in the wry, vulnerable voice of Beatrice “Trixie” Jordan who replies to a personal ad, “If your intentions are pure I am seeking a friend for the end of the world.”

In doing so, she meets Jacob Grace, a charming, effervescent thirty-something writer, a free spirit who is a passionate seeker of life. He possesses his own turn of phrase and ways of thinking and feeling that dissonantly harmonize with Trixie’s off-center vision as they roller coaster through the joys and furies of their wrenching romance. Along the way they try to come to terms with the hurt brought about by their distant fathers who, in different ways, forsook them.

This story will prove so touching you will rush to share it with a friend or loved one or even a stranger.

Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner recently reviewed this book and raved about it. I’ve have the book on my TBR for awhile, as this author comes highly recommended by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher. I’m really enjoying it so far.

 

 

what will you read next

13147826

Playing Dead by Julia Heaberlin

“Dear Tommie: Have you ever wondered about who you are?”
 
The letter that turns Tommie McCloud’s world upside down arrives from a stranger only days after her father’s death. The woman who wrote it claims that Tommie is her daughter—and that she was kidnapped as a baby thirty-one years ago.

Tommie wants to believe it’s all a hoax, but suddenly a girl who grew up on a Texas ranch finds herself  linked to a horrific past: the slaughter of a family in Chicago, the murder of an Oklahoma beauty queen, and the kidnapping of a little girl named Adriana. Tommie races along a twisting, nightmarish path while an unseen stalker is determined to keep old secrets locked inside the dementia-battered brain of the woman who Tommie always thought was her real mother. With everything she has ever believed in question, and no one she can trust, Tommie must discover the truth about the girl who vanished—and the very real threats that still remain.

I am still finding that I’m more in the mood for suspense than anything else, and after loving Black-Eyed Susans, I want to read more of this authors books. I’m thinking this one is up next.

 

*Subject to change due to the fact I’m an extremely moody reader!

 

signatureratherbereading
15 thoughts on “W…W…W… Wednesday

  1. Yvo says:

    I really have to get myself a copy of Black-Eyed Susans! It sounds like a read I would love as well. Playing Dead sounds pretty good as well.

    Happy reading and thanks for visiting my WWW. 🙂

  2. pennma05 says:

    Yay for Black-Eyed Susans! I’m definitely going to have to pick up Playing Dead after finished BES last night. I have a feeling this author is going to be a new favorite of mine.

  3. Michelle says:

    I saw Black-Eyed Susans on NetGalley yesterday. I will admit that your love for it has me tempted to request it. The only thing stopping me is that I promised myself I would request any book that is slated for release before October. I suspect I am going to rue that guideline.

  4. Kathy says:

    I loved God Shaped Hole and needed recovery after finishing it. You already know I have Black-Eyed Susans on my list, and Playing Dead looks pretty good, too.

  5. Analee @ Book Snacks says:

    God Shaped Hole seems like an interesting read, think I’m going to have to check it out! Playing Dead also seems great, hope you find it to be just as, if not more, enjoyable as Black-Eyed Susans. 🙂

Leave a Reply

