Weekend Wrap Up

weekend wrap up

finished reading

24688274

  

currently reading

 25620843


book haul

18898374 25014705

25263917 17621780

18052985 12583758

 25322388 25939617


FitReaders2015-200x200

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I recently joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS: 
Mon: 13,439 steps – Walk (60 min)
Tue: 13,064 steps – Run (3 mi)
Wed: 16,198 steps – Run (3 mi)
Thurs: 12,455 steps – Walk (60 min)
Fri: 16,930 steps – Walk (60 min), cleaned house
Sat: 17,330 steps – Run (5 mi)
Sun: 14,235 steps –  Run (3 mi)
Because of my schedule during the week, I’m finding that I can only get 4 runs in. My goal each week is 5, but this week it just didn’t happen. I always plan at least one long run on the weekend for sure, and then I did get up before work two days and run. Friday I had planned on getting up early to run, but I’ve been feeling a little run down (stupid allergies), and decided a full 8 hours of sleep was more important. I also miss getting outside to run, but with not having someone to watch my daughter (my hubby is usually gone in the mornings before I can run) and the humidity (again – stupid allergies make me miserable in the humidity), I’ve had no choice but to run on my treadmill. My goal in the next few weeks is to find a day in our schedule when my hubby will be home, and I can get outside for a run.
What I AM proud of is that I have exercised every day (either a run or walk) for over a month. I can say that has never happened in my life. Ever. Even on my ‘rest’ days, which are typically on Friday, I try to at least walk for 30 minutes minimum. Just to get over 10,000 steps. Add cleaning the house and doing the dreaded grocery shopping – I’d say that qualifies as exercise for one day!

 


 Bookish and Non-Bookish Thoughts

  • We saw the SUN this weekend! And it was glorious. Spent a few hours on Saturday at my MIL’s pool. Then my parents asked for Sunnie to come over Saturday night and sleep over, so hubby and I got an impromptu date night. We went to a yummy Italian place and ate on the patio. Sunday was brutally humid out. We tried to play outside in spurts until Sunnie would tell me she was sweating and wanted to go back inside. Overall, the weekend was a lot of fun, and I was glad we got to spend some of it outside.
  • Finished reading Black-Eyed Susans, and I now have a new favorite suspense author. This book was creepy and suspenseful, and I loved every minute of it.
  • I started When Cicadas Cry, and I am enjoying it, but just don’t think I’m in the mood for this type of book. I’m thinking of putting it aside to start a suspense/thriller, because that’s all I’ve been in the mood for these days. I’m also intrigued by Vanguard, which is getting a lot of attention since it’s release yesterday. It sounds interesting and different. I like different.
  • I made this steak fajita recipe last night, and it was a big hit with my hubby. I put my own spin on it – not adding in all the fancy seasoning and just using a fajita seasoning packet (Old El Paso), soy sauce, and instead of bell peppers I put in hot peppers (hubby’s favorite). It smelled amazing in the crock pot all day, and was really tasty. SO easy, and it’s nice to be able to add a new meal into rotation. I get sick of eating the same stuff all the time.
  • The weather is promising this week – high temps and lots of sunshine. I hope to get home early enough every day to lay out a little bit and enjoy it.

Hope you all have a great week!

Linked up with the Weekend Update @ runningnreading.com

untitled

signatureratherbereading

21 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap Up

  1. Nadia says:

    Sounds like such a great weekend! That is awesome that you worked out every day for a whole month – I need to do that. I tend to not work out on the weekend, which is me just being lazy 🙂 I kindled Black-Eyed Susans, but have yet to start it. Looks like a great haul of books you’ve received. Enjoy them!! Have a great week!!

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks, Nadia!! I think because I have more time on the weekends, it makes it easier for me to be active and work out. I struggle during the week when I’m tired. I hope you enjoy Black-Eyed Susans! Can’t wait to see what you think of it!

  2. Running 'N' Reading says:

    Brandie, I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed Black-Eyed Susans; it sounded like such a good one! This recipe looks fantastic; thanks for sharing the link. I’m so excited to see that you’ve joined in on the link up today; please make sure to note in your post that you are linking up with the Weekend Update (and link back to the blog), since that it what the other participants do. Hope your Monday is going well!

  3. Michelle says:

    Yay for daily exercise! I am still working on my walk every day thing. I have even found myself getting up even though I REALLY just want to go to bed. The next step is to start logging my food intake. I’ve been checking in but haven’t been diligent about that.

    • Brandie says:

      That takes a lot when you’re ready for bed. I ‘should’ be strength training at night a few days a week, but I haven’t in weeks. Now that I’m working out in the mornings, when I get home after work I just want to drink wine and do nothing.

  4. Kathy says:

    Yay for date night! I glad to know your thoughts on Blackeyed Susans because it looks so good and one that I want to read! I’m so glad you’re reading When Cicadas Cry and hope you love it.

  5. Kathryn says:

    Looks like a great reading and exercise week. I have the Sarah MacLean book on my wish list to read, I hear that series is excellent. I like just a little historical romance now and then. All the best for the coming week. With more sun!

    • Brandie says:

      I’ve only read a few historical romances and am just now interested in trying more. Have you ever read A Knight in Shining Armour by Jude Deveraux? I know the title says ‘cheesy’, but it’s one of my favorite books ever!

  6. twimom227 says:

    *high fives* great job on the exercising!! I am very impressed! Just remember that if you do take a day off, it’s OKAY (and sometimes needed). Just don’t make a habit out of it, and get moving that next day!! I know when I started with Felicia’s group last year, I worked out for over 2 months straight before I finally took a break, and learned it was okay! LOL (of course, I was walking 10 minutes per day and not running like you are, crazy woman!!).

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you!! 🙂 I learned my lesson last night. My legs were so sore that even Advil wasn’t helping me. I took this morning off and today will not be a running day – I plan on just getting a short walk in over my lunch break. I know when my body has had enough and it’s screaming at me today. LOL.

  7. Sarah Says Read says:

    You are a running BOSS!!! I HAVE to get back into running and exercising. I was doing so good before Treland got home, and then he got back and we ate sooooo much food and ugh. I need a routine.

    Hope you’re having an awesome week! Keep enjoying that sunshine-y weather 😉

    • Brandie says:

      Totally understandable after he was gone so long! Your life has been a tad bit exciting lately!! 🙂

      Thanks! I only wish this weather would stick around, but in Ohio it’s doubtful! Lol

Leave a Reply

