Top Ten Tuesday: Last 10 Books I Got My Hands/Kindle On

top ten tuesday

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, this week’s topic is listing the Last Ten Books That Came Into My Possession (bought, library, review copies).

Just about every book I’ve received recently are review copies from Netgalley, with the exception of a few. And I rarely read physical copies of books anymore – all but the first book listed are eBooks (I know – but I love my Kindle!). And I haven’t checked a book out from the library in so long I can’t even tell you. Shameful, you don’t have to say it. I do take my daughter to the library regularly if that makes me look any better.

ttt

REMEMBER MIA by alexandra burt
DREAM A LITTLE DREAM by giovanna fletcher
MOSQUITOLAND by David arnold
EVERGREEN SPRINGS by RaeAnne thayne
A DARK LURE by loreth ann white
DAMAGE DONE by amanda panitch
THE ALLURE OF JULIAN LEFRAY by R.S. Grey
PRETTY GIRLS by karin Slaughter
NANTUCKET by nan rossiter
SWERVE by vicki pettersson

 

I’m pretty excited to read all of these books. Several new suspense novels to feed my current mood, and a few others that were highly recommended by fellow bloggers. Have you read any of these or have any on your TBR list?

 

signatureratherbereading

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Last 10 Books I Got My Hands/Kindle On

  1. Kathy says:

    I can’t wait to see what you think about Swerve. I’ve seen some mixed things about it, and I’m really hoping it’s going to be a good and intense book. I LOVED Karin Slaughter’s Atlanta murder series, so I’m a little jealous here that you have Pretty Girls. 😉

  2. Kathryn says:

    All look like they will be good reads. I am trying to be more controlled about NetGalley so that I can read more off my own shelf! Saw Lisa Kleypas new one Brown Eyed Girl that I requested though but not sure if I will get it.

    • Brandie says:

      I’m trying to be pickier on Netgalley but then I have days where I go a little crazy. They declined me for the new Kleypas book- I hope you get it!!

    • Brandie says:

      I buy physical copies of my favorite author’s books, and other favorite books after I’ve read the eBook version. I definitely love seeing my favorites on the bookshelf. 🙂

  3. Rachel says:

    Great list! I honestly don’t know how you can live without actual pages in your life. Apart from the aesthetics and personal library element of collecting books that I love, after a couple of eBooks (max in a row was 2 I think), I crave the feel of paper. I can get used to eBooks in so far as reading one or two in a row, but I don’t think I’d ever be eReader only. I just. I couldn’t cope. R x

    • Brandie says:

      I used to be like you when it came to books. I was totally anti-Kindle in the beginning. And then I had a baby. And I couldn’t hold a baby and a book at the same time. But I love to read and needed an easier way to multi-task. Then my husband bought me my first Kindle for Christmas right after I had Sunnie. I could hold it in one hand, change the page, etc and it changed my life. I didn’t have to give up reading because I had a baby – I learned to multi-task! It’s the best invention ever. I also love having so many books at my finger tips. Especially being the moody reader that I am. Lol. Even now, I find myself multi-tasking when I read, or having a child glued to my side, and being able to hold the Kindle in one hand and still read makes my life easier and allows me to read more often. That is why I’m 99% converted to eBooks. 😉

      • Rachel says:

        Ahhh! Good reason! I was going to do a discussion post on eBooks but more from the point of view of a personal library – bit morbid to think about but when you die your library doesn’t go to someone else. When you buy an eBook you’re effectively buying a license to rent it as opposed to buying the actual book. I know, far off thoughts, but it kind of struck a chord with me. I want my collection to be inherited. And on display as such. I think you can learn a lot about someone by what their favourite books are and I like the idea of wearing my heart on my sleeve by showing them off. Having signed copies, and old editions and what not. I just don’t get that warm fuzzy feeling with eBooks, and I also think it impacts my rating slightly? They’re super handy for eARCs and free/cheap books on Kindle to try an author etc. but even though I’m not super opposed to them as I was before (I used to be seriously anti-eBook) I don’t think I’ll ever grow to love them. I can see why it worked out that way for you though! R x

Leave a Reply

