Weekend Wrap Up

weekend wrap up

finished reading

   24570453

currently reading

24376753


book haul

 24358713 24959571 22675504

IMG_1905[1]

Thank you, Atria Books for sending me an ARC of The Truth and Other Lies. I love suspense, and this one sounds good!

ARC’s above kindly provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.


FitReaders2015-200x200

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I recently joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS: 
Mon: 14,395 steps – Run
Tue: 11,384 steps – Walk
Wed: 13,456 steps – Run
Thurs: 13,949 steps – Run
Fri: 12,405 steps – Walk, Clean House, & Yoga
Sat: 18,667 steps – Run (first 5 mile run!)
Sun: 20,243 steps – Run & Walk
I managed to wake up early 3 days this week to workout before work. I really didn’t think I could do it, because I am NOT a morning person. But after the first day it got easier, and I even woke up before my alarm went off.
I am going to be having the cyst surgery on July 7, and I’m only going to be out of commission for one day! That was great news, and the doctor said that as long as I’m not feeling pain (which I shouldn’t), I can continue running and working out. I was SO happy to hear that.
I really pushed myself this weekend and had a couple of new milestones. One being running my first 5 miles straight, and the other was hitting 20,000 steps in a day! I never imagined accomplishing either of these, and it’s incredibly motivating.
IMG_1973[1] IMG_1991[1]
I also hit a full year of using MyFitnessPal this past week. This app seriously changed my life, and I continue to use it daily to keep myself accountable.
IMG_1940[1]

 Bookish and Non-Bookish Thoughts

  • I am on vacation, woohoo! It started off perfectly Friday night – we had a fire and enjoyed the decent weather, ordered my favorite pizza, and had some wine.
  • Saturday and Sunday we had more rain. I’m really over all this rain – I just want SUN while I’m on vacation! The temps have dropped so much it feels like fall, and we have our windows open. I love this type of weather, in the FALL, not the middle of the summer. I need 80’s and sunshine, please.
  • We didn’t do much on Saturday. The only thing of note was that I made BBQ pork ribs in the crock pot for the first time, and they were awesome. Today my hubby had a fishing tournament (where he and his brother won, yay!), so I decided to take Sunnie to her first movie in the theater. We saw Inside Out, which was super cute, and she loved it. Then I took her to lunch afterwards – it was a great rainy day mommy/daughter date.
  • Tomorrow we’re going to Chuck E Cheese for the first time, and Sunnie is super excited. Tuesday one of her girlfriends is coming over to have a play date, and then hopefully we’ll get some sunshine later in the week so we can spend a day at the pool. I wanted to do as many fun things with Sunnie as I could while I’m off work this week, and make it a memorable vacation for her.
  • Clearly I am going through a suspense novel phase. This weekend was perfect for getting lost in a creepy book, thanks to the weather. I’m really enjoying Somebody I Used to Know.
  • And now I’m going to enjoy a glass of wine, read my book, and be thankful I don’t have to get up early for work tomorrow. Hope you all have a great week!

signatureratherbereading

12 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap Up

  1. Kathryn says:

    Enjoy those creepy books! Awesome work with the fitness, I cannot imagine achieving 20 000 steps in one day or running 5 miles straight, fitness is winning! Enjoy the mommy/daughter dates in the hols, I am sure they will be delightful.

  2. Michelle says:

    Have a happy, relaxing vacation! You definitely deserve it!

    Seriously, can you be my trainer? I just spent the last month eating nothing but take-out and fast food because of my schedule. I don’t like how I feel. I don’t like how I look. We have no dance this week, so I am more than ready to take back my body and my health but could definitely use someone to kick me in the butt.

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you! So far vacation is awesome, but how have 3 days already gone by?!

      I’d love to help in any way I can! I know how tough it is to get into a good routine and then to stay on track. I had setbacks along the way, including today when I ate too much pizza at Chuck E Cheese…and now I feel awful. It’s okay to have days like that, it’s getting back on track that’s important.

      • Michelle says:

        I just need to find a track. I was going to start small and just aim for MFP log-ins, since I can’t seem to do that for more than two weeks. Slow and steady wins the race, right?

  3. Running 'N' Reading says:

    Brandie, I have a copy of The Truth and Other Lies, as well; I think it’s going to be my next read and I can’t wait! I’ve heard some great things about it and it sounds like you’re enjoying it, too. YAY! I hope you’re having fun on vacation; sorry to hear about the bum weather, but maybe it will improve. My vacation starts at the end of this week (yay!) and I can’t wait. I’m so glad you saw Inside Out; I’ve heard that it’s really good!! I want to see it, too.CONGRATS ON YOUR RUN!!! That is so exciting!!!

  4. Kathy says:

    Happy vacation! I’m a big Karen Slaughter fan, so I hope you love this one. I’m drooling to read The Truth and Other Lies, but it will be August before I can even think about it. Enjoy your vacation!

Leave a Reply

