{Kindle Kandy} No. 5

Kindle Kandy Plain

 

Kindle Kandy is a Friday weekly bookish feature hosted by The Book Dame. We scan our shelves and eReaders to rediscover books that we own but have not read, to this point little more than shelf or Kindle Kandy.

Forever, Interrupted by Taylor Jenkins Reid

18001845

Synopsis:

This heartrending debut novel weaves a beautiful love story with an homage to the redemptive power of female friendship. Elsie and Ben are average twenty-somethings, but this is not your average love story. It begins bright and promising: the newlywed couple is head over heels in love, having eloped six months after they met. But it all shatters in an instant; Ben out riding his bike, is hit by a truck—and dies on impact.

Elsie hears the sirens outside her apartment, but by the time she gets downstairs, his body has already been taken to the hospital. When she arrives, Elsie is greeted by an unexpected visitor—her mother-in-law, Susan, whom she has never met and who doesn’t even know she exists.

Both are seared with grief; Susan is still mourning the death of her own husband several years earlier, and the loss of her only son is almost too much to bear. The two women immediately sour on one another, fighting over what to do with Ben’s belongings and how to fulfill his wishes. But as time goes by, Susan and Elsie both realize that despite the terrible accident that brought them together, they are now the only family they have left.

Interweaving Elsie and Ben’s charmed romance with Elsie and Susan’s healing process, Forever, Interrupted will make you laugh, make you cry, and remind you that there’s more than one way to live happily ever after.

I am a huge fan of this author, but have yet to read her debut novel. After seeing this wonderful review from Book Baristas, I’m convinced I need to read it asap!


Just One Look by Harlan Coben

1466446

Synopsis:

An ordinary snapshot causes a mother’s world to unravel in an instant. After picking up her two young children from school, Grace Lawson looks through a newly developed set of photographs. She finds an odd one in the pack: a mysterious picture from perhaps twenty years ago, showing four strangers she can’t identify. But there is one face she recognizes—that of her husband, from before she knew him. When her husband sees the photo that night, he leaves their home and drives off without explanation. She doesn’t know where he’s going, or why he’s leaving. Or if he’s ever coming back. Nor does she realize how dangerous the search for him will be. Because there are others interested in both her husband’s past and that photo, including Eric Wu: a fierce, silent killer who will not be stopped from finding his quarry, no matter who or what stands in his way.

Her world turned upside down, filled with doubts about her herself and marriage, Grace must confront the dark corners of her own tragic past she struggles to learn the truth, find her husband, and save her family.

I call myself a Coben fan, but there are some of his older novels that I haven’t made time to read. Shameful. This one in particular is one I have had on my Kindle for a long time, and it sounds like a good one.

 

Have you read either of these books? What did you think?

 

signatureratherbereading

10 thoughts on “{Kindle Kandy} No. 5

  1. Suzi Q., The Book Dame says:

    Both of these sound great, Brandie. I have only read one of Harlan Coben books, The Woods, and am not sure why I haven’t gotten around to reading others since I loved the book. I have a couple on my TBR and own a couple, which I am sure will make it one day to Kindle Kandy. I would love to see what you think of both of these. Happy reading.

  2. Running 'N' Reading says:

    I loved Forever, Interrupted and I can’t wait to start Maybe In Another Life; it’s up next on my list! I have definitely read a couple of Harlan Coben novels, but I can’t remember which ones they were – ha! I need to look that up! I remember that I enjoyed them; I should probably read some others. Can’t wait to see what you think and I hope you have a great weekend!

  3. Kathy says:

    We seem to have the same Kandy when it comes to Taylor Jenkins Reid. I hope you get to devour your Kindle Kandy soon.

Leave a Reply

