{Kindle Kandy} No. 4

Kindle Kandy Plain

 

Kindle Kandy is a Friday weekly bookish feature hosted by The Book Dame. We scan our shelves and eReaders to rediscover books that we own but have not read, to this point little more than shelf or Kindle Kandy.

The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons

5391078

Synopsis:

The golden skies, the translucent twilight, the white nights, all hold the promise of youth, of love, of eternal renewal. The war has not yet touched this city of fallen grandeur, or the lives of two sisters, Tatiana and Dasha Metanova, who share a single room in a cramped apartment with their brother and parents. Their world is turned upside down when Hitler’s armies attack Russia and begin their unstoppable blitz to Leningrad.

Yet there is light in the darkness. Tatiana meets Alexander, a brave young officer in the Red Army. Strong and self-confident, yet guarding a mysterious and troubled past, he is drawn to Tatiana—and she to him. Starvation, desperation, and fear soon grip their city during the terrible winter of the merciless German siege. Tatiana and Alexander’s impossible love threatens to tear the Metanova family apart and expose the dangerous secret Alexander so carefully protects—a secret as devastating as the war itself—as the lovers are swept up in the brutal tides that will change the world and their lives forever.

Okay, let’s be real and admit this book is LONG. And that’s the number one reason I keep putting it off. Plus it’s a three book commitment, once I start. And I’m just now starting to enjoy the historical fiction genre, but I’ve got to be in the mood. And this book is SO intimidating. But, everyone says it’s an epic love story, and I have to try it. I refuse to delete it from my TBR list. Yet. And I have to admit that’s one of the most beautiful book covers ever.


Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

10194157

Synopsis:

Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha . . . and the secrets of her heart.

Yet another series, which means more of a time commitment. I apparently have issues with that. I’m told this one is worth it, though.

 

Have you read either of these books? What did you think?

 

signatureratherbereading

11 thoughts on “{Kindle Kandy} No. 4

  1. Suzi Q., The Book Dame says:

    The Bronze Horseman sound good. I can see why you picked that up. The cover is beautiful too. Holy shikes though. Over 900 pp!!! And a three books! I had not seen it before, and I am just crazy enough to add it to my TBR now. The ratings are unbelievable. Maybe this needs to be done as a readalong or buddy read, broken down in chunks.
    Shadow and Bone is on my TBR too. I will read it at some point, but am really trying to finish up a couple of series before taking more on. It seems like I am all over the place with a little of one series and then a little of another.
    I hope that you get a chance to read them, although I know that both of these require a commitment, especially The Bronze Horseman.

  2. bookishthingsandtea says:

    The Bronze Horseman is sitting up on my shelf, unread for probably the exact same reason. It’s so daunting!
    I recently started reading the Grisha trilogy and I love it! Definitely pick up Shadow and Bone when you’re in the mood for a good fantasy!

  3. Running 'N' Reading says:

    Wow! The cover for The Bronze Horseman really is beautiful, Brandie! Yes, I often become intimidated by books that seem like a little more than I’m ready to chew; if I start it and it’s really, really good, I never even notice and I fly right through it. If it’s not really, really good…ugh. Hope you have a great weekend!

  4. Michelle says:

    Given the way it seemed like everyone gushed over Shadow and Bone, you would think one of us would have read it by now. At least I know I’m not alone in this failure to read good books in a timely fashion!

  5. Kathryn says:

    I loved The Bronze Horseman series, as I remember this had some “hard” reading in it as Russia was a very tough place during the war it is set in. It was a wonderful story though. Can be daunting to begin such a long book. Take it along with another book might be the way to go.

  6. Kathy says:

    The Bronze Horseman is one I’ve had for a few years and was always intimidated by the size and the historical piece. I don’t know that I’ll ever get around to reading it. I recently took an inventory of my physical shelves and found over 60 books that I haven’t read, yet. *sigh* I’m changing my name to the book collector.

Leave a Reply

