My Summer TBR List

top ten tuesday

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, this week’s topic is listing the top ten books on my TBR for summer 2015.

You all know I can’t make TBR lists because I never know what I’m going to be in the mood to read until the day I pick it. However, I do love lists and I know that I’ll read at least ONE of the books listed, so this won’t be a total wasted effort. This topic is so similar to the one I just did a few weeks back – Top Ten Books I Plan to Read by the Pool – but already, my mood has shifted, and I have new books I want to read! See how quickly I change my mind!? So here’s a new list of books I ‘wish’ to read over the summer.

ttt

1. Somebody I Used to Know by David Bell – I recently requested this book from Netgalley because it sounds really good, and love suspense.

2. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson – I had to get this book after finishing The Sky is Everywhere. Pretty sure I’m going to love every book this author writes.

3. Butterfly Weeds by Laura Miller – My friend Kathy over at Kathy Reads Fiction recommended this author last week. I realized I already owned one of her books on my Kindle, just hadn’t gotten to it (story of my life). This book sounds like one I’ll enjoy.

4. The Theory of Opposites by Allison Winn Scotch – I have always loved every book I’ve read by this author. This is one I never got around to reading, because I went through so many other phases (NA, Erotica) that it fell off my radar.

5. Accidents of Marriage by Randy Susan Meyers – I have added and removed this book from my TBR list several times, because I just wasn’t sure if it would be for me. Then my friend Nadia at A Bookish Way of Life posted this review, and convinced me that I should read it without a doubt. I always trust Nadia’s reviews and she made me want to read this one sooner rather than later! UPDATE – I read this one over the weekend! And it was really good. ONE BOOK DOWN.

6. A Pound of Flesh by Sophie Jackson – Aestas at Aestas Book Blog raved about it, so I trust it’s a good one. This will be my first read by this author.

7. Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone – I have seen so many great reviews for this one, and I’m really excited to read it. UPDATE – I started this book yesterday! So far I love it.

8. The Guest Cottage by Nancy Thayer – If I read ONE summer-themed book this summer, it’s going to be this one. I have had this on every list for the past month, because I really want to read it! Plus, I just love that cover.

9. My Very Best Friend by Cathy Lamb – I haven’t read a book by this author, but she comes highly recommended by my friend Lori at Palmers Page Turners. I know Lamb is one of her favorite authors, and since we have very similar tastes in books (both CoHo lovers!), I trust her recommendations!

10. I Regret Nothing by Jen Lancaster – I know I’ve had this on several lists since May (or before), but I’m determined to read it because I know it’ll make the perfect summer read.

What are you hoping to read this summer?

signatureratherbereading

22 thoughts on “My Summer TBR List

  1. kimberlyfaye says:

    I’ve only read one of the books on your list today, but I see several that are still floating on my own TBR. The Theory of Opposites was a good read. I picked up A Pound of Flesh on audio, and depending how today goes, I just might start it at work. I’ve had a copy of I’ll Give You the Sun since BEA last year, I just never got around to reading it. I guess I should do that, huh?

    Great list! I hope you enjoy all of these when you read them!

  2. mscynful says:

    Allison Winn Scotch – One of my favorites! Loved that book.
    Cathy Lamb – I’ve read a few of hers. I think you’ll enjoy her writing.

    I’ve marked a few of these to read!

  3. Michelle says:

    Great list! I’m so glad you are enjoying the books you have already finished and/or started! I will be curious about David Bell’s latest. I read one of his earlier books a few years ago and enjoyed it. I just wasn’t convinced I wanted to read his latest.

  4. Running 'N' Reading says:

    What a fun list, Brandie! I really enjoyed Accidents of Marriage; I’m glad you did, too! I’d like to read The Guest Cottage, as well; I’ve read some really good reviews and it just looks like a good summer read, right? I’m really looking forward to Summer Secrets by Jane Green (next up on my TBR), The Rocks by Peter Nichols (saving for vacation next month) and Jennifer Weiner’s new release in August. Keep us posted on your faves!!

  5. Kathryn says:

    I have heard so much about Accidents of Marriage and have it on the back burner in my thoughts. Want to get it as a paperback and waiting for it at a decent price from Book Dep. Good to hear you enjoyed it.

  6. Kathy says:

    I really want to see your thoughts on Every Last Word. I’ve seen it create a lot of buzz lately and has me curious.

  7. Suzi Q., The Book Dame says:

    I just revamped my summer reading list and made a ton of changes after getting honest with myself. I am glad to see that you are enjoying Every Last Word. I’ll Give You the Sun!!! I want to read that one, but don’t have time this summer.

Leave a Reply

