{Kindle Kandy} No. 3

Kindle Kandy Plain

 

Kindle Kandy is a Friday weekly bookish feature hosted by The Book Dame. We scan our shelves and eReaders to rediscover books that we own but have not read, to this point little more than shelf or Kindle Kandy.

Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

10763598

Synopsis:

Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grows dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real, she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”, she speaks many languages – not all of them human – and her bright blue hairactually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When beautiful, haunted Akiva fixes fiery eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

Yeah, I know I’m pretty much the last person on the planet who hasn’t read this series. It’s not like I haven’t wanted to, but either time or mood gets in the way. 


Veiled Innocence by Ella Frank

18135913

Synopsis:

Tick, tick, tock.

Time.

That’s all I have now.

A small room, a photograph, and time.

They want me to trust them and confess my sins.

They told me they wouldn’t judge me—they lied.

I thought we could convince the world that this wasn’t a crime.

We were wrong.

Time doesn’t stand still.

The clock keeps ticking, the world is unconvinced, and now…

Now he is gone.

I’ve loved every Ella Frank book I’ve read, and it feels like ages ago that I read one. This is a book I refuse to take off my TBR list, because I still really want to read it!

 

Have you read either of these books? What did you think?

 

signatureratherbereading

5 thoughts on “{Kindle Kandy} No. 3

  1. Suzi Q., The Book Dame says:

    I haven’t seen Veiled Innocence before, but it sounds like it has some suspense, which I love. We both have Daughter of Smoke and Bone, which is crazy. I have heard so many great things. I think I have been hesitant to follow through with reading it because it seems darker, more evil than what I can usually do. I like to be a little creeped out, but even the synopsis gives me the willies. One of us is just going to have to bite the bullet and find out.

Leave a Reply

