The Courtship Book Tag

My blogging friend, Joey, over at Thoughts and Afterthoughts tagged me for this because, and I quote, “this tag basically calls to your swoony romance”. And he’s not wrong. I was to choose a book for every phase of a relationship. So, here goes…

Phase 1 – Initial Attraction: A book that you bought because of the cover

18803161

I don’t really buy books strictly because of the cover. Yes, certain covers will grab my attention, but the synopsis has to interest me too, regardless if I love the cover. That being said, I bought the paperback version of this book because a.) I had already read it in eBook form, b.) it is one of my favorite books ever, and I had to own a hard copy, and c.) I love the cover.

 

Phase 2 – First Impressions: A book that you got because of the summary

25216135

 

 

Don’t we choose every book because of the summary?! Okay, this one definitely had me at ‘family vineyard’ and ‘wine’.

Phase 3 – Sweet Talk: A book with great writing

22663563

 

 

One of the most beautiful books ever written. If you ever listen to any of my recommendations, this should be the one. I can’t say enough how gorgeously written this book is.

 

Phase 4 – First Date: A first book of a series which made you want to pursue the rest of the series

13826979

 

 

I have a lot of books for this question, but I decided on this one. This is one of my favorite series. I have loved every single book.

Phase 5 – Late night phone calls: A book that kept you up all night long

244474

 

The answer is always this book. I have never stayed up all night reading, even when participating in the 24 hour readathon. I require too much sleep to function. But this is the ONE book that I stayed up until 3 AM to finish. I had started it that evening, and it was so suspenseful that I couldn’t put it down until I finished it. I would love to reread it some day to see if the suspense still holds true.

Phase 6 – Always on my mind: A book that you could not stop thinking about

16151255

 

I still think about this book years after reading it. I remember being on Christmas vacation, where I sat on the couch while I devoured it in one sitting. And I remember crying my eyes out. This book is one of the few that has ever impacted me so strongly.

Phase 7 – Getting Physical: A book in which you love the way it feels

41865

 

 

I don’t feel up my books. That’s weird. So, I’m going with a series I had to own in hardback. This series means a lot to me. It kick-started my love of reading again, and introduced me to a new genre. I’ll forever be a Twihard.

Phase 8 – Meeting the Parents: A book in which you would recommend to your friends and family

15717943

 

 

Every single CoHo book. But I always start with this one because I think it appeals to a variety of readers.

Phase 9 – Thinking about the future: A book or series that you know you’ll re-read many times in the future

10140661 18965316

I am not a re-reader, but I want to be. Someday. Right now I’m too distracted by all the new releases to make time to reread my favorites. And honestly, I worry that I won’t feel the same way about them if I re-read them. Which sounds lame, but it’s true. That being said, Sylvain Reynard’s writing is so beautiful that I know rereading his books over and over would be worth it. I couldn’t chose between these two series so I’m picking both. I have every intention of reading these books in the future – and of course, every CoHo book. But I figured that was a given. And you probably all get sick of me listing her books as the answer to everything. And I couldn’t just pick one of her books, either.

Phase 10 – Share the love! Who would you like to tag?

If you want to participate, please do! I’m gonna tag my sweet friends Rachel & Stefani. 😉

 

signatureratherbereading

14 thoughts on “The Courtship Book Tag

  1. Rachel says:

    Looking forward to doing this one. I have so many tags to catch up on this month! I LOVED your answer for #2 lol going to have to add some of these to my TBR. I’ve been picking up The Nightingale every week when I do my grocery shop and putting it back down again. I may have to take the plunge, buy more books, and blame you! Though the UK cover isn’t as nice… Typical. R x

    • Brandie says:

      WHY do UK covers have to be so lame?! I happily take the blame for you buying The Nightingale because I PROMISE you won’t regret it. Incredible book. JUST BUY IT. x B

      • Rachel says:

        I BOUGHT IT TODAY! My local grocery store has a points system, you get 1 point for every £1 spent, and when you gather enough they send you vouchers for money off. I had a £5 voucher, but at the minute, you can trade it in for a £10 voucher to use on books, dvds etc. So, I obviously traded and got 2 books and a dvd for free essentially. I got Nightingale and Cecelia Ahern’s new book. We don’t have extreme couponing here, but let me tell you, if we did? I’d be UNREAL at that!

        Here’s my cover – it’s not the worst, but the US one is nicer I think. https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24332503-the-nightingale

  2. Suzi Q., The Book Dame says:

    I have had The Edge of Never on my Kindle forever. Hopeless is a wonderful book with some heavy content and beautiful romance. That shower scene that is not sexual, but shows true love! Can you believe that I haven’t read other CH books? Yep. I have several of those already too, but haven’t read them.

    • Brandie says:

      Colleen Hoover is by far my favorite author ever. I can’t recommend her books enough to people. If you’re read Hopeless (sigh…so good), then Maybe Someday and Ugly Love are my next two favorites.

Leave a Reply

