Weekend Wrap Up

weekend wrap up

finished reading

16074492 15699188 11479222

currently reading

 18525201


book haul

24409120 24957836 24795570

ARC kindly provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.


FitReaders2015-200x200

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I recently joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS: 
Mon: 6,595 steps – Run
Tue: 11,274 steps – Very slow walk on treadmill
Wed: 5,706 steps
Thurs: 13,224 steps – Run
Fri: 9,858 steps
Sat: 15,222 steps – Run
Sun: 17,462 steps – Run
Had a bit of a set back this week. Long story short – I have a cyst on my left side that I will be having surgery on in the near future. After an unpleasant ER visit on Monday night, I am nursing an open wound until the surgery to remove it gets scheduled later in the month. I wasn’t able to work out as much as I wanted this week, but on Thursday my doctor gave me the clear to run, as long as I wasn’t feeling pain or discomfort. I’m not looking forward to the surgery, because I know it’ll put me out of commission again for a few days. I can honestly say I was VERY grouchy after a few days of not being able to workout! I have become someone that needs it as a stress reliever.
So, Thursday I got to ease back into it with a short run, and it felt great. Unfortunately, on top of the cyst, I had an allergic reaction to the first antibiotic I was put on, and am dealing with hives, too! I have terrible luck when it comes to medication and am allergic to just about everything. I’m thankful I have a treadmill in a cool basement to run on, because running outside in the heat isn’t an option for me for awhile!
run
Fitbit users – I have a Charge and it doesn’t seem to calculate miles on a treadmill like it does when I run outside, which really frustrates me. My treadmill will say I ran 4.5 miles, but my Fitbit will only say 3 miles. Everything I read tells me that I need to calculate my running stride and set that in my profile, so I did that yesterday. Does anyone else see this problem when they run on a treadmill versus outside?

 Bookish and Non-Bookish Thoughts

  • I finished 3 books last week. THREE. I mean, that’s a big accomplishment for me. And all three were great reads. The Sky is Everywhere was fantastic, and another book I put off way too long and regret it, now. Anyone read I’ll Give You the Sun by this author? Is it as good?
  • I’m really excited I was approved for the new Cathy Lamb book and Every Last Word on Netgalley. Can’t wait to dive into them!
  • This weekend could not have been more perfect. The weather was amazing. I got to lay out and work on my tan on Saturday and then a bit on Sunday morning. Friday night we met friends for dinner, Saturday was a perfect lazy day enjoying the sunshine, and yesterday Sunnie had a play date with two of her girlfriends at our house. By 7:30 she was crashed out on the couch from playing so hard. I ended the weekend with a glass of my favorite wine and starting a new thriller. I’m feeling in the mood for a suspense novel lately.

sunday

  • I’m obsessed with Wendy’s Strawberry Fields Chicken Salad. I tried it for the first time last week and have had it 3 more times since.
  • Also – these yogurt things are amazing. I have a serious craving for ice cream just about every night of the week and needed to find an alternative that wasn’t so high in calories. They are both delicious – I loved the cookie dough one just a little more. You don’t get very many in a box, and they are expensive, but they’re seriously so good.

yasso

  • Because of either heat/humidity or rain, it feels like I haven’t gotten to run outside in weeks. The weather isn’t looking too promising this week, either. Although, I’d rather it rain during the week and have gorgeous weather on the weekend, like we just had. Hoping to be able to get outside for a run at least ONE day this week.
  • And on that note, I’m off to get more coffee. Happy Monday!

signatureratherbereading

21 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap Up

  1. twimom227 says:

    OH NO!! I am glad the doctor cleared you for running – I hope that you stay well until the surgery. I’ll be sending healthy, happy vibes your way. It still looks like you did a lot, even with the cyst concerns.

    I never figured out how to fix my running stride, where did you do it? I don’t use a treadmill, so I can’t tell you – but are you using your arms less? Like grabbing and holding the sides? If so, that would make a difference. Try either 1) making sure your arms keep free and moving, or 2) move the Fitbit to your waist or leg (I’ve not tried this, but others swear by it). Good luck!

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you!! I appreciate the good vibes. I tried to calculate my steps based on a few Google searches I did. The average running stride for a 5″5′ woman is around 2″8′, and when I calculated one of my runs, it was pretty close. There’s a setting in your Dashboard on Fitbit.com – go to your profile and you can change the walk and run strides. If you don’t put something in, it’ll default based on height and weight. I’m going to test it tonight on the treadmill and see if it made any difference. I swing my arms pretty hard, but still feel like I’m not getting very far. It’s frustrating, because I know outside, I cover a lot more ground in a lot less time!

  2. Nadia says:

    Brandie, that totally sucks about the surgery! I know how much you love running, so that really rots that you will be out of commission for a bit, but whatever helps you get rid of that cyst. I’m glad its nothing major and that you will be up and running in no time 🙂 I love that you mentioned those yogurt bars, because I was looking at them and wondering if they were any good when I saw them in the sales paper. I know how bad ice cream so I wanted to try something new – thanks! I read Every Last Word and loved it – such a good book! Hope you like it, too. I have to admit that I even cried with it. I haven’t tried that salad you mentioned, but I did buy my aunt the one with apples and walnuts and she loved it! I’ll have to give it a try soon – sounds delicious! Hope you have a great week!!

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks, Nadia!! I hope my recovery time isn’t too long once I have the surgery. I really hate not being active now that I’m used to it. YES – you must try these yogurt bars. They taste so much like ice cream and only 100 calories! They had more flavors too, that I need to try. I could easily eat the entire box in one sitting. Lol.

      I’m so glad you liked Every Last Word. Can’t wait to try it!

      Have a great week, Nadia!

  3. Michelle says:

    I knew you couldn’t run, but I guess I missed the reasons as to why. That sucks! At least you could get some running in…and your steps STILL beat mine every day this week without running. I don’t know how you do it.

    • Brandie says:

      A lot of it is running around with a 4 1/2 year old at night, getting her to eat dinner, getting her a bath. Some nights, with making dinner and everything else, I feel like I don’t sit down until 9. And I squeeze in a run, too, if I can. Before Sunnie – I’d never have averaged so many steps a day.

      • Michelle says:

        Ah, I think mine is the fact that I’m constantly in the car. There isn’t so much running around anymore with teenagers so much as there is driving around and sitting around waiting. Boo…

  4. Running 'N' Reading says:

    I’m so sorry to hear that you may be out of commission for a few days, but I’m glad it’s something that can be taken care of and not TOO serious! I really need to try these Yasso bars; I’ve heard lots of good things about them, so you may have just convinced me to try them. I think it would definitely tame my sweet tooth, rather than reaching for stuff that doesn’t really satisfy me. You had a GREAT reading week, girl! I’m so impressed! Hope your Monday is off to a great start.

  5. StephTheBookworm says:

    Sorry to hear about the cyst but I’m glad you’re getting it taken care of. When I had a threatened miscarriage, I had to stop working out for a bit and I hated it. Then I got lazy after not doing it for awhile and am still trying to get my work out mojo back! Lol. Glad you won’t be out of commission for too long and good luck with the procedure!

  6. Rachel says:

    Was Dangerous Girls good?! I’m going to start I’ll Give You The Sun soon, but looking forward to getting the discussion going for The Sky Is Everywhere, also majorly excited for Every Last Word!! 😀

    Hope you feel better soon – is a cyst the same thing as an abscess? Antibiotics, an open wound and surgery sounds a lot like something I had a few years ago on my lower back. It was so, so painful. The antibiotics used to get rid of it, but it kept reoccurring and they had to operate on it, but it was an open wound because stitching it would have meant reinfection. Took a good while to heal completely, but thankfully it’s been gone for 4 years now! *Touches all wooden objects in a 12 foot radius*

    After my 5K I’ve taken a mad notion to get into walking and whatnot. I need to get some decent music and find a decent walking spot though. I lack motivation so much. We’ve perfect weather for it at the minute, but by the time I get home from work and get dinner sorted it’s 8PM and I can’t be bothered!! :-/ R x

    • Brandie says:

      Yes, I think they are close to the same thing! The DR told me that it would keep coming back and getting infected if I didn’t have it surgically removed. So, yay. I really hope the healing doesn’t take too long. I’m already not able to get in the pool indefinitely and it stinks!! And I don’t even know when my surgery is going to be yet. First consultation is on the 22nd. I’m on vacation the first week of July and had all kinds of plans to spend the week in the pool. I don’t see that happening now. *sad face*

      Eek – you don’t settle down until 8 p?! I’d be too exhausted by that time, too! By the time I pick Sunnie up and get home it’s about 5 p. I then immediately get my workout done because I know if I put it off, the more chance I’ll find an excuse not to do it. I’m on a mission as soon as I walk in the door. LOL.

      • Rachel says:

        I think it is the same thing. If it’s half as painful as mine was you’ll feel so much RELIEF after the op though. Mine hadn’t burst or anything, so smell came post-op, but the whole thing pretty much cleared up in 4-6 weeks, just was a little tender and had to heal fully. Sucks that your holiday is booked around then though. Yea I finish work at 5, home for 5.30, get sorted and get dinner made and ate for say 7 on a good day, by the time I sit down it’s usually 8, add a convo or other distraction in and I look at the clock, realise it’s 10 and wonder where the hell my evening went 😦

        Oh, mentioning suspense books re: Dangerous Girls, I’m doing a discussion soon I think you’ll enjoy! Probably next week because I have this week fully scheduled (silence of awe)… I know. 😉 R x

    • Brandie says:

      OH! And Dangerous Girls was SO GOOD. You gotta read it. I devoured in a day. Very suspenseful. And I’m going to try I’ll Give You the Sun. I hope it’s as good as the other.

  7. Kathryn says:

    So sorry to hear of health misfortunes, a complete bummer, hope surgery goes well. Ouch for the hives. I am excited too to read the new Cathy Lamb from NetGalley, all the others that I have read of hers I have bought so hope this is as good. Looking forward to reading The Chocolate Thief at some point.

  8. Kathy says:

    Why did I not know about those yogurts?! Geez, I need to visit a better grocery store. How did you like Dangerous Girls? I’ve heard good things about it and have had Dangerous Boys for a while but haven’t read it.

Leave a Reply

