W…W…W… Wednesday

www wednesday

 

W… W… W… Wednesday, hosted by Taking on a World of Worlds is a weekly meme showcasing what you just finished reading, what you are currently reading, and what you plan to start reading next.

 

what did you recently finish reading

16074492

Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

It’s Spring Break of senior year. Anna, her boyfriend Tate, her best friend Elise, and a few other close friends are off to a debaucherous trip to Aruba that promises to be the time of their lives. But when Elise is found brutally murdered, Anna finds herself trapped in a country not her own, fighting against vile and contemptuous accusations.

As Anna sets out to find her friend’s killer; she discovers hard truths about her friendships, the slippery nature of truth, and the ache of young love.

As she awaits the judge’s decree, it becomes clear that everyone around her thinks she is not just guilty, but dangerous. When the truth comes out, it is more shocking than one could ever imagine…

 Completely addicting and twisted, I’m kicking myself for putting off reading this book for so long! If you’re a fan of YA and suspense, I can’t recommend this book enough. I devoured it in a day, it was that good.

 

what are you currently reading

 

15699188

The Chocolate Thief  by Laura Florand

Paris

Breathtakingly beautiful, the City of Light seduces the senses, its cobbled streets thrumming with possibility. For American Cade Corey, it’s a dream come true, if only she can get one infuriating French chocolatier to sign on the dotted line. . .

Chocolate

Melting, yielding yet firm, exotic, its secrets are intimately known to Sylvain Marquis. But turn them over to a brash American waving a fistful of dollars? Jamais. Not unless there’s something much more delectable on the table. . .

Stolen Pleasure

Whether confections taken from a locked shop or kisses in the dark, is there anything sweeter?

I am enjoying this one – I love this author’s writing style. It’s a bit of a slow read, which isn’t a bad thing. I just find it’s taking me longer to finish it because I keep getting distracted by faster-paced books. Not to mention, every time I pick this one up, it makes me crave chocolate in a wicked way, and it’s killing my diet.

 

11479222
The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson
Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to centre stage of her own life – and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, with a nearly magical grin. One boy takes Lennie out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But the two can’t collide without Lennie’s world exploding…

 Another case of wanting to kick myself for putting off reading a book for so long. I spent a good hour yesterday, starting book after book on my Kindle, trying to  see what I was in the mood to read. This one was immediately addicting, and I didn’t want to put it down. So many of my friends have raved about this book and this author, and I think the hype is what always made me hesitant. The writing is fantastic, and I can’t wait to pick it back up today.

what will you read next

13132816

Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway

Emmy’s best friend, Oliver, reappears after being kidnapped by his father ten years ago. Emmy hopes to pick up their relationship right where it left off. Are they destined to be together? Or has fate irreparably driven them apart?

Emmy just wants to be in charge of her own life.

She wants to stay out late, surf her favorite beach—go anywhere without her parents’ relentless worrying. But Emmy’s parents can’t seem to let her grow up—not since the day Oliver disappeared.

Oliver needs a moment to figure out his heart.

He’d thought, all these years, that his dad was the good guy. He never knew that it was his father who kidnapped him and kept him on the run. Discovering it, and finding himself returned to his old hometown, all at once, has his heart racing and his thoughts swirling.

Emmy and Oliver were going to be best friends forever, or maybe even more, before their futures were ripped apart. In Emmy’s soul, despite the space and time between them, their connection has never been severed. But is their story still written in the stars? Or are their hearts like the pieces of two different puzzles—impossible to fit together?

Readers who love Sarah Dessen will tear through these pages with hearts in throats as Emmy and Oliver struggle to face the messy, confusing consequences of Oliver’s father’s crime. Full of romance, coming-of-age emotion, and heartache, these two equally compelling characters create an unforgettable story.

I seriously can’t pick a book to save my life, lately. I no joke started 5 books yesterday and nothing grabbed me until The Sky is Everywhere. I just don’t know what mood I’m in these days, and I’m on the hunt for something epic. Based on my last few books, it seems like I’m leaning more toward YA contemporary. This one is on my list, we’ll see if I’m in the mood for it next.

 

*Subject to change due to the fact I’m an extremely moody reader!

 

signatureratherbereading
3 thoughts on “W…W…W… Wednesday

Leave a Reply

