{Kindle Kandy} No. 1

Kindle Kandy Plain

 

Kindle Kandy is a Friday weekly bookish feature hosted by The Book Dame. We scan our shelves and eReaders to rediscover books that we own but have not read, to this point little more than shelf or Kindle Kandy.

I loved the sound of this new meme, and knowing how many unread books I have on my Kindle, I thought it would be fun to participate. Join in and link up!

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

9774199

Synopsis:

A richly inventive novel about a centuries-old vampire, a spellbound witch, and the mysterious manuscript that draws them together.

Deep in the stacks of Oxford’s Bodleian Library, young scholar Diana Bishop unwittingly calls up a bewitched alchemical manuscript in the course of her research. Descended from an old and distinguished line of witches, Diana wants nothing to do with sorcery; so after a furtive glance and a few notes, she banishes the book to the stacks. But her discovery sets a fantastical underworld stirring, and a horde of daemons, witches, and vampires soon descends upon the library. Diana has stumbled upon a coveted treasure lost for centuries-and she is the only creature who can break its spell.

Debut novelist Deborah Harkness has crafted a mesmerizing and addictive read, equal parts history and magic, romance and suspense. Diana is a bold heroine who meets her equal in vampire geneticist Matthew Clairmont, and gradually warms up to him as their alliance deepens into an intimacy that violates age-old taboos. This smart, sophisticated story harks back to the novels of Anne Rice, but it is as contemporary and sensual as the Twilight series-with an extra serving of historical realism.

Being a huge fan of Twilight, you would think I have tried this series, right? But I admit that the length of it has put me off for years. But now that the entire series is releases, and it gets so many great reviews from my friends, I know I need to try it soon.


Fighting to Forgive by JB Salsbury

17449438

Synopsis:

What do you do when everything you avoid, turns out to be exactly what you need?

Easy and predictable, just the way he likes it, Blake Daniels flies through life the way he burns through women: on his terms, no regrets.

With his fighting career in full swing, he’s on the threshold of title contention. But when his training is compromised by injury, the stakes grow impossibly higher. The rage that fuels his punches also chips away at his focus, and he risks losing everything he cares about.

He won’t let that happen. Not again.

Layla’s through with men. After a marriage that never should’ve happened, she hopes to reclaim the pieces of the woman she lost years ago.

Emotional abuse has left her insecure and terrified. A master at faking what she’s not feeling, she masks her self-doubt in false confidence.

She’ll never let another man hurt her. Not again.

Chased by shadows of the past, Blake and Layla know what they don’t want, but their hearts have a different plan. As a web of lies and betrayal threatens to destroy them, they’re forced to make a choice.

Is love enough to heal even the deepest wounds?

Or will they be left Fighting to Forgive?

I regularly clean books off of my Goodreads TBR list, because I know there is no way I will ever get to read them all. And when a book has been on my list for so long, the chances are slim I’ll get to it. Not when I’m so easily drawn to new releases. But, this is a book I have refused to remove from my list. I read the first book in this series and absolutely loved it (Fighting for Flight), and I have every intention of reading more in this series some day.

 

Have you read either of these books? What did you think?

 

signatureratherbereading

13 thoughts on “{Kindle Kandy} No. 1

    • Brandie says:

      I’m so intimidated by it’s length. I think of all the other books I could read in that amount of time. And if I read it, I’m committed to the next two books. BUT, I am trying to get over my hang ups and just read it!!

      • pennma05 says:

        I’ve definitely been holding off because of the length, too. But I figure I might as well just read it now so I can decide if I want to invest in the rest of the series. Who knows… maybe neither of us will even like it lol.

  1. Maria D. says:

    I have A Discovery of Witches on my kindle or my nook…one of them (yes, it’s an embarrassment of riches to have both) but haven’t had a chance to read it yet – I don’t have the second book but it sounds like an interesting series

  2. Kathy says:

    I’ve had The Discovery of Witches in my iBooks with so many others for three years and have yet to read it. I’m missing out on so many good ones because of that darn calendar and clock working against my reading. I feel your pain on having the unread books on my Kindle and iBooks and Nook, but I just keep 1-clicking.

  3. Suzi Q., The Book Dames says:

    Oh my gosh, Brandie. I have A Discovery of Witches too. I had completely forgotten about it, but it looked familiar. I searched my Kindle and there it was. It is crazy that we do this, really. So many potentially good read just sitting there for the reading.
    This is my first time seeing Fighting to Forgive.
    I am glad to have you participate. Thanks for joining in!

  4. Joey @ thoughts and afterthoughts says:

    “emotional abuse” and “marriage that never should have happened” I’m trying to figure out how A leads to B…but I won’t.

    I’ll let you decide the rest of my comment. Check all that apply:

    [ ] Brooding/misunderstood/damaged hunk
    [ ] Brandie’s favourite dude on the cover (without a bottle of wine. Those red gloves would be way more sexy if they were labels or red wine he chugs)
    [ ] Both need saving from their demons
    [ ] His sweat smells like Wood.
    [ ] Instalove be like ‘dafuh?’
    [ ] Cheesy lines a la “I know he’s bad for me but I can’t help it”
    [ ] Probably some unnecessary drama spawned by miscommunication and a brawl will ensue because he’s a fighter. OBVIOUSLY.

    YOU’RE WELCOME.

    Cheers,
    Joey

Leave a Reply

