Weekend Wrap Up

weekend wrap up

finished reading

25216135

currently reading

17672182


book haul

22529162 24820340 25253481

25355453 24912313 23637440

24527478 24688276 23398854

ARC’s kindly provided by the publishers via Netgalley.

image1 (1)

image1

Last week I came home to the sweetest surprise from my friend Rachel @ Confessions of a Book Geek. A birthday package of yummy chocolates, notepads, and adorable kitty bag. And Beautiful Player, the last paperback I needed for my collection of that series. Such a wonderful surprise – thank you, Rach! xx

P.S. I have tried the Ruffle Raspberry and they are delicious.


FitReaders2015-200x200

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I recently joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

FITBIT STEPS: 
Mon: 10,642 steps – Run
Tue: 15,284 steps – Run
Wed: 10,124 steps – Strength training (Sworkit)
Thurs: 10,652 steps – Pilates (Sworkit strength training)
Fri: 17,141 steps – Run
Sat: 11,718 steps – Cleaned house/laundry (lots of up and down stairs)
Sun: 16,732 steps – Run
I have started incorporating some strength training into my weekly workouts. Everything I read online says that runners need to strength train to be better runners. I’d rather be running on those days, but I know I have other areas that need improving (stomach, arms). There’s not enough time in the day to do it all, so I have to give up running a few days a week. I’ve also had to give up my walks over lunch because of summer hours. I’m opting to work half of my lunch every day to make up my hours, so I can leave early on Fridays.
On an exciting note – I was pretty proud of myself this weekend for running 3 miles straight in under 33 minutes, with a 5 minute warm up. I really pushed myself, and it felt good.
fitbit

 Bookish and Non-Bookish Thoughts

  • First and most importantly, thank you to all of those who have served and are currently serving our country. Your sacrifices are greatly appreciated today and every day. Let us all be grateful for this day with our families, as there are so many soldiers who don’t get to be with their families today.

mday

  • Finished Eight Hundred Grapes by Laura Dave this weekend. You know how a book just comes along at the perfect moment, and you love every single minute of reading it? That’s how I felt about this book. I am a big fan of this author, and it has been several years since her last book was released (which I loved – The First Husband). Of course the fact that wine was a big part of the story may be what initially got my attention, but this story was fantastic. I’ll post a review this week.
  • I’ve mentioned before how I hate to cook, bake, anything having to do with the kitchen. But once in awhile I will, because I feel bad my husband does the cooking most of the time. And when he says that he’s tired of the same old stuff – I go to Pinterest for ideas, of course. I’ve made this sausage cacciatore twice now, and it’s a big hit with the hubby. Seriously, what did we do before Pinterest?

sausagec

  • This cat is driving me crazy. She’s adorable, but she hangs on my curtains, sleeps in my sink, sneaks into every closet or closed room the minute you open the door like a damn ninja. She’s lucky she’s so cute.

mollie

  • I love long weekends, especially now that summer hours began at work (we get to leave at 12:30 on Fridays). I left on Friday, got my hair cut, picked up Sunnie, and then got my grocery shopping over with. Sunnie then got to visit her cousins and my MIL for a few hours while I got in a run and then hubby and I went out to dinner. Saturday one of my best friends brought her two girls over for a play date in the afternoon and Sunnie had a ball. Yesterday we enjoyed the sunshine, getting outside most of the day, and even getting in the pool for a little bit at my in laws.
  • Unfortunately, my hubby had to work today, which sucks that we can’t spend the day with him. I’m doing a little laundry this morning and then taking Sunnie over to visit my parents. I’m going to workout (when I can’t get a run in outside, I have been using my parents treadmill), and then layout and get some sun. My parents live out in the country, and their back yard is perfect for it. Later today we are going over to my in laws for a cookout and hopefully more pool time (fingers crossed for lots of sun today and no rain). I hope everyone is having a great weekend and enjoying the day!

signatureratherbereading

13 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap Up

  1. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    I got Ride Steady by KA too, and I can’t wait to read it. KA is an author I usually fall back on when I’m having a book slump. I can always count on her to cheer me up. Pinterest is awesome for recipes and so much more, your pasta looks delicious! I’m addicted to the site! I’m going on a walk today. I’ve been doing more walking lately and I have a perfect long, steep hill in my neighborhood to get a good workout. You’ve motivated me a little more to get out today with your update. Hope you have a great day today with family, Brandie! We plan on spending it by the pool. 🙂

  2. Kathryn says:

    That’s a big book haul! Enjoy. Yes I liked The Lake Season, read it quite quickly. You are really into the running now, great job. Kitten looks adorable and doing what kittens do. Love the kitty bag, sure is cute.

  3. twimom227 says:

    It sounds like everything came together perfectly this week! I like the getting out early part! I hope you use the time to enjoy the summer a bit more!

    I know that feeling about getting a book at the perfect moment – but honestly, I can’t recall off the top of my head the last time that happened. I have had two A+ books this year, but it wasn’t necessarily timing that made them so. That’s a great feeling!

  4. StephTheBookworm says:

    Mmm, that meal looks good. I’ll have to try it. I also hate cooking and Jerry does most of ours, but I do try my hand at it once in awhile. He is a really talented cook. I’m a big fan of the crock pot!

  5. Suzi Q., The Book Dames says:

    Nice haul. I look forward to seeing what you think of The Luckiest Girl Alive. It didn’t work out for me, but it might be better later in the book. It was a DNF for me. I am looking forward to making some time for An Ember in the Ashes. Enjoy!

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks, Michelle! I admit I’m a little more obsessed with hitting my step goal every day because of the Fitbit. A normal day for me a year ago, I would have maybe hit 7000 steps a day, max. I really try hard now and if I haven’t met it, I usually do whatever I can like take a walk over my lunch (if I know I won’t be getting a run in that day) or do a walking video at night.

  6. Rachel says:

    YAY! I love those wee photos! So glad you love them all, and ruffles are so tasty!!! LOVE your casserole too, you should send me the recipe *wink, wink* R x

Leave a Reply

