Weekend Wrap Up

weekend wrap up

finished reading

 Another week without finishing a book. *sad face*

currently reading

 23666139


book haul

   24731327  23390022  24350898

23511480  25394646

      ARC’s kindly provided by publisher via Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review.


FitReaders2015-200x200

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I recently joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

Fitbit Steps: 

Mon: 14,320 steps – Run
Tue: 12,231 steps – Walk over lunch break
Wed: 14,181 steps – Walk over lunch break & run after work
Thurs: 7,930 steps
Fri: 15,554 steps – Run & cleaning house
Sat: 14,465 steps – Run
Sun: 15,363 steps – Run

Bookish and Non-Bookish Thoughts

  • I finally get out of a reading slump, then have a week where I’m too tired and busy to read. Figures, right? I am enjoying my current read, even though it has taken me awhile to really get into it. It’s been awhile since I have read anything other than New Adult/Erotica/Adult Contemporary. I want to read something out of my norm, and I loved that this book was being compared to Beauty & the Beast. It’s starting to finally get more interesting for me at around the 37% mark. I would love to finish it today, but it’s unlikely!
  • I’m really excited about my book haul last week. Especially The Life Intended after seeing this review from Aestas Book Blog. She has recommended some really fabulous books, many outside of the normal genre I read, that I have ended up loving, and I trust her judgement immensely. I really want to read this one soon.
  • What a beautiful, sunny weekend we FINALLY had in Ohio! Saturday and Sunday we had temps in the high 70’s and spent a lot of time outside enjoying it. My windows are open, and I’m loving it! Saturday Sunnie and I made a trip to a new library, and found out the library also had a small playground. After playing there for awhile, I took her to a birthday party for one of her story time friends. She had an absolute blast – I loved seeing her playing with other kids, because she doesn’t get to do that very often. Sunday we took her to the park, and I got a run in with my hubby being there. For it being the first time I running in hotter temps, I was happy I managed to finish it without feeling like I was dying!
  • Really happy about how much running I got in last week, even with the slight knee pain I’ve been feeling. I have had issues with my knees my whole life, but I’m not going to let it interfere with my running goals. My doc has me doing certain exercises to help – I just have to remember to do them daily like I’m supposed to.
  • After today I’m doing a sugar detox. For me that means no sweets for a few weeks to get myself back on track again. I was allowing myself to indulge a lot the past few days (ice cream, donuts, cake my daughter and mom made me), and even though I know it’s a good thing to enjoy sweets once in awhile, I’ve been enjoying them daily for about a week. I have been telling myself that running every day helps offset it, but in reality it’s bad for me no matter what. I feel guilty about it and refuse to revert back to my old ways. There will be cake tonight because we’re having family over for my birthday, but after tonight I am cutting sweets out for awhile. I’ve done it before, I can do it again!
  • Today is my birthday, and I’m really glad I decided to take a vacation day and stay home with Sunnie. It’s going to be a gorgeous day, possibly hit 80 degrees, and we plan to go to the park later this morning. Tonight we’ll celebrate with family, getting pizza from one of my favorite places. My hubby asked me last night ‘how does it feel to be turning 34 and feel better than you’ve ever felt in your life’. And honestly, this has been one of the best years for me. I normally hate my birthday when it comes around, but the past year has really changed me, putting so many things into perspective. I am healthy and happy and so very thankful. Here’s to another great year!

signatureratherbereading

23 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap Up

  1. pennma05 says:

    Happy birthday! 🙂 Your book haul looks awesome! I tried to read this weekend on the car ride up north but only ended up reading about 32 pages :/

  2. StephTheBookworm says:

    Happy, happy birthday to you! 🙂

    I hear you on being too tired to read. The past 4 nights I’ve gone straight to bed without reading because I’ve been too tired! That’s a long time for me to go without reading… ugh! I hope you get to read a bit today for your birthday! 😉

  3. Kathryn@Book Date says:

    A very Happy Birthday and such a good idea to take the day and enjoy it. Going off sugar is a challenge, but as you say, you can do it. All the best for this week’s reading. Pages count!

  4. Sarah Says Read says:

    HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY BRANDIE!!!!

    Sounds like an awesome weekend, and hell yeah you got a lot of runs in! I need to think of you every time I decide to skip working out.

    Oh, and have you gone to get fitted for running shoes yet? That might help with the knee pain – it definitely helped with shin and calf pain when I started running outside. The store we have here that does that is Fleet Feet, not sure if they’re a national chain or not.

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks, Sarah! I was thinking maybe new shoes would help and I ordered a pair for my bday. I didn’t realize places fitted you for them – I’ll see if there’s a place like that around here. Thanks!!

      • Sarah Says Read says:

        It’s kind of cool, they have you jog on a treadmill and record your feet, and then look at how your feet land and suggest shoes that will help if they see any issues – I was rolling my ankle just a bit, and for shoes and inserts to help stop that. It’s weird, but it helped a lot.

  5. Kathy says:

    Happy birthday!! I’m sorry about your knee problems; that is why I ended up on crutches (dislocated patella). I hope you get better soon. It looks like you have a great book haul. I bought The Life Intended but am unsure when I’ll get to it. I’ve seen so many great things about Maas’s book, so I’m eager to see your take on it.

  6. Teddyree says:

    sad face for me too … darn life getting in the way of reading lol. Great book haul, I’m looking forward to No-Where But Here. Congrats on your steps and the amount of running, you should be very proud of yourself. All the best with the sugar detox, I’ve been indulging a bit too much lately.

    Happy, happy Birthday Brandie and another wonderful year to come for you 🙂

  7. twimom227 says:

    Yea!! Happy Birthday! I hope you detoxed AFTER some cake and ice cream today!!

    Totally sad face for no books. I didn’t finish a book last week either – kids were on school break which meant a lot of bonding time. LOL. I see you have the new Julie James book… I have that series on my TBR.

    I hope you have a good week. ENJOY!

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you! I did indulge in cake and ice cream. Today I’m trying to say no to sweets. Lol. I have read a few Julie James books in the FBI series and loved them. I hope this one is good!

Leave a Reply

