Short and Tweet Reviews {5}

Hosted by Kate at Midnight Book Girl.

shortandtweet


21417317

Arouse by Nina Lane

3 Stars

Struggling with a tormented past, undergraduate Olivia Winter once led a practical but isolated life. Then she met Professor Dean West, a brilliant scholar of medieval history who melted Liv’s inhibitions and taught her the meaning of both love and erotic pleasure. But after three years of a blissful, lusty marriage, Liv and Dean now face a crisis that threatens everything they believe about each other. And when dark secrets and temptations rise to the surface, the fallout might break them apart forever.

My Thoughts: Promising start, pissed me off in the end. The heroine of the story did something to ruin the book for me, and I wasn’t able to get over it. I did love the author’s writing and love a good marriage-in-crisis book, but I don’t think I’ll finish this series.


24846686 Filthy Beautiful Lust by Kendall Ryan

5 Stars

Pace Drake loves sex, and he makes no apology for getting what he wants, when he wants it. But when he meets, Kylie Sloan, he’s enthralled by her and begins to question his standard operating procedure. Kylie’s depth and determination make the hookups that fill his weekends seem empty and shallow. She doesn’t want or need anyone to take care of her and that only makes him want to care for her more.
Kylie’s trust in men has vanished. The last man she was with played ding-dong-ditch-it with her uterus and now the infant son he left her to raise alone is the only man she has time for. Pace wants to prove to her that he is one of the good guys, but can she really trust that his days of hitting it and quitting it are gone forever?

My Thoughts: I loved Pace’s story – may be my favorite of the series, and ultimately one of my favorite KR books.


24914164 Filthy Beautiful Forever by Kendall Ryan

4 Stars

One seemingly innocent promise. The one girl he could never forget.

Collins Drake exercises control over all facets of his life. From his business, to his relationships, to satisfying his physical needs, it all happens on his command. So when a woman shows up at his door and reminds him of a promise they made to each other when they were just ten years old, it shouldn’t have the ability to rock his entire world. Yet it does. Because Mia Monroe wasn’t just his childhood best friend, she wasn’t just the girl he lost his virginity to and hasn’t seen since, she’s the one exception to his perfect control. And piece by piece, she’s about to tear apart his carefully laid plans.

My Thoughts: Great end to the series. Although not my favorite, I enjoyed Collins book.


 

22919022Volition by Lily Paradis

1 Star

You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at first, and all at once shreds every fiber of your being?

It’s because you’re contradicting the universe.

Everything lines up so perfectly that you couldn’t have imagined it to work out better, but then you have to go and do everything humanly possible to ruin it because you can’t stand to have it go right?

That’s what I did.

I did it because there’s a darkness that surrounds me, and I think I want it there.

My name is Tate McKenna, and my soul is blacker than my heart.

My Thoughts: This book is a plagiarism of Tarryn Fisher’s books. I am sad I wasted my time reading it.


 

23555091The Stranger by Harlan Coben

3 Stars

Harlan Coben’s seven consecutive #1 New York Times bestsellers feature unrivaled depths of emotion combined with cutting-edge suspense plots that keep millions of readers turning pages deep into the night. In The Stranger, married parents Adam and Hannah confront the shocking secret on which their marriage is built—leaving Adam wondering whether he ever truly knew Hannah at all.

 

My Thoughts: Sadly this wasn’t my favorite Coben book. Took me until almost 60% to get into it and then it just didn’t hold the suspense factor I’m used to from Coben. Wasn’t thrilled with the story or the ending and bummed that this one was a bit of a disappointment, after I had anticipated it’s release for so long.


 

18394368

The Five Stages of Falling in Love by Rachel Higginson

5 Stars

Elizabeth Carlson is living in the pits of hell- also known as grief.

Her husband of eight years, the father of her four children and the love of her life, died from cancer. Grady’s prognosis was grim, even from the start, but Liz never gave up hope he would survive. How could she, when he was everything to her?

Six months later, she is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life and get the kids to school on time. Both seem impossible. Everything seems impossible these days.

When Ben Tyler moves in next door, she is drowning in sorrow and pain, her children are acting out, and the house is falling apart. She has no time for curious new friends or unwanted help, but Ben gives her both. And he doesn’t just want to help her with yard work or cleaning the gutters. Ben wants more from Liz. More than she’s capable of ever giving again.

As Liz mourns her dead husband and works her way through the five stages of grief, she finds there’s more of her heart to give than she thought possible. And as new love takes hold, she peels away the guilt and heartache, and discovers there’s more to life than death.

My Thoughts: A wonderfully emotional read. This book will touch you deep in your soul, it’s so well written and beautiful. I highly recommend it.


Rating Scale

signatureratherbereading

5 thoughts on “Short and Tweet Reviews {5}

Leave a Reply

