{Monthly Recap} – April

monthly recap

April was a terrible month on the reading front as far as numbers go. I mean, I only read 3 books – THREE. Ridiculous. I loved all of the books I read, I just went through so many book slumps that I didn’t read as much as I like. It happens, and I’m hoping to be back into a reading groove again.

Books I Read:

18394368  22431039  Marrow_ebook_gradientletters

 

Reviews:

 Marrow by Tarryn Fisher

Beautiful Secret by Christina Lauren

Short and Tweet Reviews {5}

Favorite Book of the Month:

Beautiful Secret by Christina Lauren

 

Books Read in April: 3

Books Read in 2015: 28

 

Other Noteworthy Posts:

Dewey’s Readathon

Top Ten All Time Fav Authors

Top Ten Characters I’d Like to Check in With


 

Things I’m looking forward to in May:

Bout of Books is in a few weeks and I’m really looking forward to it. A whole week to focus on getting as much reading time in as I can. Hopefully I’ll make up for the craptastic reading month I had in April. On a personal level, I’m turning 34 this month, and I’m hoping for another year as great as the last one. I’m also coming up on the one year anniversary to starting my weight loss journey at the end of the month. Instead of being upset that I’m getting another year older, as I normally would be, I’m looking at it with new eyes and focusing on how happy I am and how great I feel!

Books I’m excited about in May

  24422492  23398854  24971047

 What are you looking forward to in May?

signatureratherbereading

23 thoughts on “{Monthly Recap} – April

  1. Michelle says:

    Congratulations and happy early birthday! Mine is this month too. One last year of my thirties. I already told myself this morning that I have one year to get into shape and lose weight like I want. I will not enter my 40s looking like I do right now.

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks, Michelle! Happy early birthday to you, too! I was having those same exact feelings a year ago and would have never imagined how different things would be today. Have you ever tried MyFitnessPal? I know it doesn’t work for everyone, but it has worked wonders for me. Here’s to another really great year for the both of us!

  2. pennma05 says:

    Happy early birthday! All three of the books you read sound awesome. I especially love the cover for Marrow! Congrats on coming up to a year on your weight loss journey! I’ve been wanting/needing to lose weight for so long but haven’t managed to do much more than lose some and gain it all back. I’ve used MyFitnessPal, which worked great when I actually used it lol. I also have a Fitbit and was doing great with that for awhile too. I’ve been lacking in motivation lately but you’ve been an inspiration to me to get going again! 🙂

  3. becksawalton says:

    Book slumps happen to everyone – I just think as bloggers we notice it more! Don’t be too hard on yourself, and just look forward to Bout of Books which will surely light a fire beneath you!

    Also, happy early birthday, and I’m really happy you are having a positive outlook on getting one extra experience point – your attitude is admirable and not easy to achieve – but something to learn from!

  4. StephTheBookworm says:

    I’m so, so excited for Jen’s new one too, and then her novel in August. Two new books in a year from her… I’ll take it! She’s one of my very few auto – buy authors. I very rarely buy new books (only used), but I buy all hers new.

    Happy early birthday!

  5. Caught Read Handed says:

    I went through a bit of a slump this month too. A couple of times it was so hard to pick up a book. I hated that. Hopefully all the amazing books I have picked out for May will fix that. 🙂
    Also, NEVER NEVER PART TWOOO!

  6. Kathryn@Book Date says:

    Three books is three books! Better than no books. Looks like you have some in May to look forward to. I have just put Sea of Tranquility into my wish list after looking at your post on ten characters you’d like to meet! Great recommendation.

  7. Elizabeth says:

    I’m going to attempt BOB. I did Dewey’s RaT, but caught up in the challenges and didn’t read as much as I’d like, although it was more than I normally would read on a Saturday. My plan this time is whenever I have time and go to play on the iPad, I will stop and pick up a book.

    My April Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

