Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon

rapunzel-books 

I went back and forth on whether or not I wanted to participate in the Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon this time. It is really hard to plan a day of reading these days, but then an opportunity presented itself. My daughter has a birthday party to attend most of the afternoon on Saturday, which my mom is taking her to (long story short – my mom knows the people and I don’t, so she has offered to take peanut to the party). As it looks now, I’ll be picking peanut up after dinner time, giving me a few free hours to READ. And this excites me, because I have had barely any reading time in a few weeks, not having finished a book in that long, either. And it’s starting to make me grumpy.

I don’t have any lofty goals, nor do I plan to read the full 24 hours. I’ll be happy to just finish one of the books I have started recently. Just to be able to sit down and read for a period of time longer than a half hour will be glorious.

I will post a few updates on my blog throughout the day, but not many. I think I’ll mostly be active on Twitter. If we’re not Twitter friends, please add me, so I can follow along with your readathon updates.


 The Books

Marrow_ebook_gradientletters 22431039 24736385

Marrow

Beautiful Secret

*I just received this one on Netgalley, and it’s calling my name. That’ll probably change before Saturday.


Goals

1. Finish one of the books I started last week and haven’t had time to finish.

2. Read at least 3 hours. I know that doesn’t seem like much, but lately I’ve been lucky to read a maximum of a half hour a night. If I can just FINISH a book, I will call this day a success.

3. Visit other readathoners blogs and follow on Twitter.

Like I mentioned above, I don’t have any crazy goals for this readathon, and I know that realistically I won’t be able to stay up all night and read when I have a 4 year old to take care of the next day. But I really wanted to participate part of the day. I know that I won’t be able to even get started until late afternoon, taking a break to go out to dinner with my hubby, and then starting again after my daughter goes to bed. And if I make it to 11 PM, it’ll be a miracle. I’m doing it just for fun anyway, so I’m not going to focus on how many hours or pages I get read. I just want to READ.

I hope all of my blogging friends participating in the readathon have a great time! Happy Reading!

book

signatureratherbereading

23 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon

  1. Jade @ Life's Open Pages says:

    Good luck with the readathon, but most importantly, have fun with it.

    It is great that you’ve managed to carve out some time to participate! I’m always tempted to participate in these types of things but then obviously logic kicks in – I’ve got to child to parent. Haha!
    🙂

  2. StephTheBookworm says:

    Have a ton of fun! 🙂 I participated one year and only got to read for two hours but I honestly still had a good time! It always sounds like a blast. I probably won’t be able to participate again until Cal is a bit older, but I’ll be following you and rooting you on!

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks, Steph! There’s a chance the birthday party my daughter was going to will be cancelled because of rain, so I may just be reading for 2 hours if that happens. Lol. Oh well – if I can read at all I’ll be happy.

  3. Nadia says:

    Enjoy the readathon!! Sounds like it will be so much fun. I thought of joining in, but just can’t do it this weekend. So, I’m looking forward to everyone’s posts about it 🙂

  4. Kathy says:

    I have a post going up tomorrow about the readathon. I’m not signing up but plan to do my personal challenge and knock off as many as I can from my TBR list. Good luck!

  5. Teddyree says:

    I love your goal … to just read! It’s hard to squeeze in time for reading when you’re busy doing the mum thing along with work and regular ‘life’ stuff. Hope you had fun 🙂

  6. Jillian Raymundo says:

    Yay!! I’m glad you have a few hours reserved for reading 🙂 That is always a good thing! Back in November I only participated half heartedly, because I had to work most of the day. This year though I have a full day off. I am ready to be a nutcase and try to stay awake most of the 24 hours. Try is the keyword. I’ll talk to you in the hours you’re not reading. Hope you finish your book!

    • Brandie says:

      The last time I participated, I was sick and it ended up being kind of a bust for me. I really hope to get some good reading time in for this one! I’m glad you can participate this time and hope you have fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

