W…W…W… Wednesday

www wednesday

 

W… W… W… Wednesday, hosted by Taking on a World of Worlds is a weekly meme showcasing what you just finished reading, what you are currently reading, and what you plan to start reading next.

 

what did you recently finish reading

 22571540

 

The Stranger by Harlan Coben

Harlan Coben’s seven consecutive #1 New York Times bestsellers feature unrivaled depths of emotion combined with cutting-edge suspense plots that keep millions of readers turning pages deep into the night. In The Stranger, married parents Adam and Hannah confront the shocking secret on which their marriage is built—leaving Adam wondering whether he ever truly knew Hannah at all.

I was really excited about this books release, but it was a bit of a disappointment for me. It was slow, and just not as suspenseful as I’m used to with his writing. Plus, it took me way longer to finish it than it should have. Not my favorite Coben, but I still recommend Missing You to anyone who wants to give him a try!

 

what are you currently reading

 

 18394368
Elizabeth Carlson is living in the pits of hell- also known as grief.Her husband of eight years, the father of her four children and the love of her life, died from cancer. Grady’s prognosis was grim, even from the start, but Liz never gave up hope he would survive. How could she, when he was everything to her?

Six months later, she is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life and get the kids to school on time. Both seem impossible. Everything seems impossible these days.

When Ben Tyler moves in next door, she is drowning in sorrow and pain, her children are acting out, and the house is falling apart. She has no time for curious new friends or unwanted help, but Ben gives her both. And he doesn’t just want to help her with yard work or cleaning the gutters. Ben wants more from Liz. More than she’s capable of ever giving again.

As Liz mourns her dead husband and works her way through the five stages of grief, she finds there’s more of her heart to give than she thought possible. And as new love takes hold, she peels away the guilt and heartache, and discovers there’s more to life than death.

If you’ve noticed recently from my posts, I’ve been in a major book funk for over a week. I really hate when these funks take over, and it seems to happen to me more and more lately. I will pick up 4 or 5 different books, and nothing will keep my attention. Yesterday, on my lunch break, I FINALLY had a break through. I added this book to my list awhile ago, but had been putting off reading it because of the heavy subject matter. Well, not only is the authors writing stunning, the story is so realistic and wonderful that I can’t put it down. It’s also a very emotional and powerful read, where I’ve found myself crying twice now. Can’t wait to pick it up again today.

 

what will you read next

22431039Beautiful Secret by Christina Lauren

When Ruby Miller’s boss announces he’s sending her on an extended business trip to New York City, she’s shocked. As one of the best and brightest young engineers in London, she knows she’s professionally up to the task. The part that’s throwing her is where she’ll be spending a month up close and personal working alongside—and staying in a hotel with—Niall Stella, her firm’s top urban planning executive and The Hottest Man Alive. Despite her ongoing crush, Ruby is certain Niall barely knows she’s alive…until their flirty overnight flight makes him sit up and take notice.

Not one for letting loose and breaking rules, recently divorced Niall would describe himself as hopeless when it comes to women. But even he knows outgoing California-girl Ruby is a breath of fresh air. Once she makes it her mission to help the sexy Brit loosen his tie, there’s no turning back. Thousands of miles from London, it’s easy for the lovers to play pretend. But when the trip is over, will the relationship they’ve built up fall down?

To say I’m excited about this books release next week would be an understatement. This is a book I will drop everything I’m reading to start!

 

*Subject to change due to the fact I’m an extremely moody reader!

 

signatureratherbereading
7 thoughts on “W…W…W… Wednesday

  1. Kathy says:

    I’ve heard so many great things about The 5 Stages of Falling in Love. I honestly can’t remember if I purchased it or not (shame on me), but I’m sure my BFF, Amazon, will let me know. 😉 I’m thinking I should give it a try. I’ve still put The Stranger on the back burner because I was so excited for that one, but I trust your feelings about it…so maybe later this month, I’ll tackle it?

    • Brandie says:

      Definitely give The Stranger a try! It may have just been me and my mood or timing. I had it hyped up so much in my mind – that could have caused most of my let down. I also wonder if audio will be better. 🙂

      I’d love for you to read The 5 Stages so I could see what you think! It’s beautifully written, heartbreaking, but uplifting at the same time. That makes no sense, but I’m hooked!

Leave a Reply

