Weekend Wrap Up

weekend wrap up

finished reading

NADA, because I’m a major slacker this week.

currently reading

18298132  22571540


book haul

24700453  22922491  25103096

23398806  23921451  18759355

And my sweet friend Stefani @ Caught Read Handed gifted me a copy of one of her favorite books, and I’m really excited to read it!

   humans

ARC’s kindly provided by publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.


FitReaders2015-200x200

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I recently joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

Fitbit Steps: 

Mon: 6,917 steps
Tue: 12,386 steps
Wed: 14,161 steps
Thurs: 7,483 steps
Fri: 6,411 steps
Sat: 15,686 steps
Sun: 13,789 steps

Bookish and Non-Bookish Thoughts

  • I was really excited for Coben’s new release this week, but wouldn’t you know it – I’ve hardly been able to get into it. It’s not as suspenseful as I’m used to with his books, and I’m not quite to the halfway point. Hopefully things start to pick up soon. I hate being stuck on the same book for more than a week, and I really didn’t expect to be reading a Coben book this long.

stranger

  • I’ve been able to stick to my goal of at least 3 runs a week. I’m at the mercy of this stupid weather, where you never know if it’s going to rain or snow. I would love to get into a routine of running daily, eventually.
  • Peanut had her first real salon hair cut this week, and I was so proud of how well she did. She was not thrilled about cutting off her ‘Rapunzel’ hair, but it was getting too long and unmanageable. She loves her new shorter hair, and so does mommy, especially because it’s so much easier to deal with (and cuts bath time in half).
  • It’s been a really fantastic weekend. Got a date night with my stud on Friday. Did a lot of shopping, spent time with family, and got two runs in. It always goes too fast…

date night

  • I’m thankful this is a short work week for me. I’ll be off work on Friday, and I’m planning on doing some major spring cleaning. Here’s hoping the weather is warm enough to open up the windows!

signatureratherbereading

19 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap Up

      • Michelle says:

        You are not going to be disappointed. I started with her YA novel, Stay and moved into her adult novels. They are all SO good. She is one of those authors I will automatically request before I look at the synopsis because I know I will not be disappointed.

  1. StephTheBookworm says:

    Saw her hair on Instagram… oh my, so darn cute!

    Yay for the runs! The weather is the same here. I would much rather walk or run outside so I usually see how cold and crappy it is when I take my dog out, then I determine if I’m going to exercise outside or if I have to go to the gym. Boooo! Where is the spring weather?!

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you. 🙂 This weather is so depressing. I can’t wait until our gym at work opens up, so on crappy weather days I will have somewhere to run. They’ll also have an indoor track, which I’m excited about!

  2. Nadia says:

    Enjoy all of your new reads 🙂 I think its awesome that you are running now – talk about inspiring me! I hope the weather acts good so that you can keep on running this week. Hope you have a great week!

  3. Kathy says:

    What a great picture of you two! Oh, my. I’m kind of worried for The Stranger. I opted to change out my hardcover order for the audio (9+ hours) because I figured that would be the best way to get to it. I can’t wait to hear your final thoughts on it.

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you! I think maybe the audio version will be more enjoyable. I also think part of my problem was that I couldn’t sit down for long periods of time to get into it. But when I did have time, I wasn’t dying to read it – which was a bummer for me. I hope you enjoy it more – can’t wait to see what you think!

  4. Teddyree says:

    Lovely photo of the two of you. I’m a bit bummed about The Stranger, I’m a Harlan Coben fan but I was disappointed in Six Years and put off reading Missing You and then hoped he’d returned to old form with his latest. Excited about Deb Caletti’s new one.
    You are killing it with your stepping … way to go!!

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you! I was bummed about The Stranger, too. I finished it last night and it just wasn’t the same suspense I’m used to with Coben. I definitely recommend trying Missing You instead. I loved that one, and felt it was one of his best. I’ve never read a Caletti book – now you have me more interested!

  5. thebookdate says:

    Way to go with your stepping and running. Some really very steppy days! Sorry your Harlan Coben isn’t working out so good this time. Gorgeous photo, hope your spring cleaning works out!! I like the idea of it, I never always actualise it.

  6. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    You are doing so well with your fitness program, Brandie! After reading that you have to battle snow and rain, I feel quite spoiled with my mild southern California weather. I won’t tell you our temps because you’ll want to slap me! Lol! I’ve been trying to do better with my fitness as well, and went on a power walk up and down hills after I got home from work tonight. I always feel better afterwards. I listen to an audio book while powering along.

    I hope The Stranger turns out well. I know limited time and breaking up a read can diminish my enjoyment, especially if it’s a suspenseful read, but real life doesn’t always allow for a complete read through.

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks, Rachel! I REALLY wish I had some of your weather here. 🙂 Our temps are going up some, but now we’re getting rain. Yuck. Walking is great – I hope to do it more over my lunch breaks, if the weather ever starts cooperating. Lol. I think that was definitely part of the problem with me not enjoying The Stranger as much – I didn’t have enough time to sit down and devote to it, in one sitting. When I did have time, I wasn’t dying to read it, either. I finished it last night, and it was ok. I definitely feel like Missing You was a better Coben book than this one.

Leave a Reply

