Weekend Wrap Up

weekend wrap up

finished reading

22919022

currently reading

18298132  16140036


book haul

20647000  24866366  22735659

24997279  22732248  23597532

ARC’s kindly provided by publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.


FitReaders2015-200x200

#FitReaders co-hosted by Felicia @ Geeky Bloggers Book Blog and Jen @ That’s What I’m Talking About. I recently joined FitReaders, because I thought it would be a great way to help me stay motivated. It’s always more fun with support of your blog friends!

Fitbit Steps: 

Mon: 15,009 steps
Tue: 7,313 steps
Wed: 6,675 steps
Thurs: 11,376 steps
Fri: 7,866 steps
Sat: 13,199 steps
Sun: 10,947 steps

Bookish and Non-Bookish Thoughts

  • I’m in another book funk. I’m going to blame it on being tired and not being able to stay awake long enough at night to get into a book. I had started This Man, got hooked right away, but then it kinda died off, and I got bored. I want to keep reading it, but in an effort to get me back into a reading mood, I started a different book that had caught my eye this week – The Scribe. It’s too early to tell on this one. I really hope it starts to get good, because I’m in desperate need of a book that I don’t want to put down! I really hate when I get in these moods and don’t know what I feel like reading.

bookworm

  • Week one of running has been a success. My body was definitely hurting after the first two days, but by the end of the week, I started getting used to it. I’m loving it and finding it’s a great stress reliever, makes me feel great, and is like getting some much needed ‘me’ time. I also love running with my sister-in-law. Having someone to run with keeps me accountable and motivated, and I look forward to it every day. Last week we ran 3 days, and hope for the same this week.
  • And I’m really happy about my steps this week! Running days obviously help me get more steps in, and last week I didn’t get to walk much on lunch breaks because the weather in Ohio SUCKS. I mean, it snowed on the first day of spring. It was like Mother Nature’s last big ‘F YOU’, Ohioans.
  • I got new nerdy glasses last week, and I love them!

glasses

  • Also, I went to Target this weekend because they were having a pretty sweet sale, and bought my first dress and pairs of shorts in probably 15 years. These little things are a big deal for me, because it reminds me of how hard I’ve worked to get to this point. And it keeps me motivated to stay on track.
  • One of the things I love about blogging is all of the wonderful friendships I’ve made. I’ve been lucky to meet such awesome people and I came home one day last week to the best care package from one of my blogger friends, Jillian from Random Ramblings. She totally made my day with all this awesomeness. I mean, there’s Grumpy Cat and wine things! And she was so sweet to send my daughter something, too (the adorable Frozen jewelry). Thank you, Jillian!

gift

  • Speaking of blogging, this Thursday is my one year blog anniversary! I can’t believe it’s already been a year. I have loved blogging and meeting a lot of awesome people, and spreading the word about many wonderful books and authors. Thank you all from the bottom of my heart for following me, leaving comments, and sharing in my love of books. I really appreciate everyone’s support and love this past year!
  • What is one of my posts without a ridiculous picture of my cats. Here they were caught spooning. Their cuteness kills me.

cats

Hope you all have a great week!

 

signatureratherbereading

20 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap Up

  1. thebookdate says:

    What I can’t believe you’ve only been blogging a year. You are such a pro! Congrats on the anniversary.
    I have just put the Sharon Sala book into my wish list. Love the cover and have not read anything by her yet. The Jill Shalvis one should be in the post somewhere. So love that animal magnetism series.
    Laughed at the little quote, so true! I’m a little off my reading too at moment, I sort of ‘slept’ through my last one, but just getting livened up with the new one I just started.
    Love the care package. Oh, and awesome stepping. I used to jog a little… er… in my younger days!!
    Have a great week.

  2. thebookdate says:

    Gotta come back, as I was scrolling up I remembered the glasses!!! I wore glasses like that back in the 80’s! Fun.

  3. whatsheread says:

    Has it really been a year? Wow! Congratulations!

    I’ve said it before and will say it again, but you look amazing and are an inspiration to all of us. (Now, could you come and kick my ass for me? I need someone who will help me get moving.)

    I know what you mean about a reading funk. I didn’t finish a perfectly decent book because it wasn’t capturing my attention. The old me would have kept at it, but I have so many e-galleys that are expiring at the end of the month, that I don’t have time to slog through books that are just okay. I still feel badly about it though and hope I can get caught up enough to go back to finishing everything. (Don’t laugh. I actually have stopped requesting review copies!)

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you so much! That means a lot to me! Having someone to run with is definitely helping to keep me motivated, otherwise I don’t think I would keep doing it alone.
      I totally get that – I have tried really hard to cut back on requesting books on Netgalley. I just can’t keep up with reading them all, so I have to REALLY want to read it now. Life is too short to read books you don’t enjoy or aren’t in the mood for!

  4. Sarah Says Read says:

    OMG the kitties are too cute. And the glasses are awesome!

    Congrats on the upcoming blogoversary! It seems like you’ve been blogging for so much longer. Must be because you’re such a rockstar at it 🙂

  5. kimberlyfaye says:

    Wow! You’ve had a great week. Congrats on your personal milestones and your blogiversary! All are something to be very proud of. I love the new glasses! Super cute!

    I had a horrible book hangover this weekend. Reading two Brighton Walsh books in the span of a week ruined me for the other things. I DNF’d two books after finishing Captive. But, I soldiered on and broke out the big guns… Archer’s Voice. I can’t believe I waited so long to read it! Allllllll the warm fuzzy feelings.

    I hope you have another great week this week – and find your way out of your book funk.

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you! I’m about to start the new Harlan Coben and he always gets me out of a book funk. Then next is Fisher’s Light – have you been seeing all the buzz? Sounds really good!

  6. Jade @ Life's Open Pages says:

    For blogging only a year, I think you’re in such a good place in terms of content and community and keeping on top – go you! My one year of blogging just kind of passed when it happened… I kind of forgot to be honest. Haha!

    What a lovely care package from your blogger friend. It’s amazing how much of an impact blogging can have because to those on the outside of blogging it can probably seem like something simple or even frivolous but it is a lot more than what you see at a surface level.

    You snagged some great books recently… I’m intrigued by The Haunting of Sunshine Girl.
    🙂

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks! I love blogging and try to do it enough that it’s still enjoyable but not overwhelming. Mostly it’s to converse with all of my friends in the community because I’ve made such great ones. 🙂

  7. Rachel says:

    Yay for one year!!! I should have some good things coming up for it. Also, go you and your fitness awesome-ness, my mind is willing, but my body ain’t! Lol R x

Leave a Reply

