Short and Tweet Reviews {4}

Hosted by Kate at Midnight Book Girl.

shortandtweet


11220637

The Violets of March by Sarah Jio

4 Stars

A heartbroken woman stumbled upon a diary and steps into the life of its anonymous author.

In her twenties, Emily Wilson was on top of the world: she had a bestselling novel, a husband plucked from the pages of GQ, and a one-way ticket to happily ever after.

Ten years later, the tide has turned on Emily’s good fortune. So when her great-aunt Bee invites her to spend the month of March on Bainbridge Island in Washington State, Emily accepts, longing to be healed by the sea. Researching her next book, Emily discovers a red velvet diary, dated 1943, whose contents reveal startling connections to her own life.

My Thoughts: Still on a mission to read all of Jio’s books, I really enjoyed her debut novel. Definitely not my favorite of hers that I’ve read, but still a wonderful book that I recommend.


6357135

Dark Lover by J.R. Ward

5 Stars

In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there’s a deadly turf war going on between vampires and their slayers. There exists a secret band of brothers like no other-six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Yet none of them relishes killing more than Wrath, the leader of The Black Dagger Brotherhood.

The only purebred vampire left on earth, Wrath has a score to settle with the slayers who murdered his parents centuries ago. But, when one of his most trusted fighters is killed-leaving his half-breed daughter unaware of his existence or her fate-Wrath must usher her into the world of the undead-a world of sensuality beyond her wildest dreams.

My Thoughts: This book had been on my TBR list the longest, and I am so glad I finally made the time to read it. I loved it, and the entire Brotherhood. I will definitely be continuing with the series.


22718549

I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios

5 Stars

If seventeen-year-old Skylar Evans were a typical Creek View girl, her future would involve a double-wide trailer, a baby on her hip, and the graveyard shift at Taco Bell. But after graduation, the only thing standing between straightedge Skylar and art school are three minimum-wage months of summer. Skylar can taste the freedom—that is, until her mother loses her job and everything starts coming apart. Torn between her dreams and the people she loves, Skylar realizes everything she’s ever worked for is on the line.Nineteen-year-old Josh Mitchell had a different ticket out of Creek View: the Marines. But after his leg is blown off in Afghanistan, he returns home, a shell of the cocksure boy he used to be. What brings Skylar and Josh together is working at the Paradise—a quirky motel off California’s dusty Highway 99. Despite their differences, their shared isolation turns into an unexpected friendship and soon, something deeper.

My Thoughts: It’s been awhile since I was so excited to read a new YA release, and thankfully, this book lived up to my expectations. It was fantastic and deserves all of the hype it’s getting right now. Also, how much do you love that cover?!


22737533

Every Time I Think of You by Tracey Garvis Graves

2.5 Stars

Thirty-year-old Daisy DiStefano has two people she holds dear: the grandmother who raised her, and her three-year-old son, Elliott. But when Daisy’s grandmother is killed in a seemingly random act of violence, Daisy must take steps to protect herself and her child.

Despite a thriving career in San Francisco, thirty-six-year-old Brooks McClain has returned home to spend what little time his mother has left before she succumbs to the deadly disease that is ravaging her. The seasoned investigative reporter has taken a position with the local newspaper and been on the job less than twenty-four hours when he’s summoned to cover the death of Pauline Thorpe.

Brooks is all business, but the more time he spends with Daisy DiStefano, the more invested he becomes; there’s something about a single mother, a defenseless child, and an unsolved crime that has stirred Brooks’s protective instincts like nothing ever has before.

And when the unthinkable happens, Brooks will do whatever it takes to clear the name of the woman he’s fallen for and the child he’ll protect at any cost.

Romantic and suspenseful, Every Time I Think of You shows how far two people will go to fight for the ones they love, and the life they’ve always imagined.

My Thoughts: I have mentioned before that too many details in a book can ruin it for me. Unfortunately, this book had that issue and I just wasn’t impressed. I’ve concluded this author isn’t for me, and that’s okay!


20761374 20980373 21857294

Reasonable Doubt Series by Whitney Gracia Williams

4 Stars

As a high profile lawyer, I don’t have time to waste on relationships, so I fulfill my needs by anonymously chatting and sleeping with women I meet online.

My rules are simple: One dinner. One night. No repeats.

This is only casual sex. Nothing more. Nothing less.

At least it was , until “Alyssa”…

She was supposed to be a 27 year old lawyer, a book hoarder, and completely unattractive. She was supposed to be someone I shared law advice with late at night, someone I could trust with details of my weekly escapades.

But then she came into my firm for an interview—a college-intern interview, and everything fucking changed…

My Thoughts: On a whim I started this series because I was in a book funk and didn’t know what I was in the mood to read. Well, I devoured all three in one weekend. Definitely enjoyed this series.


Rating Scale

signatureratherbereading

8 thoughts on “Short and Tweet Reviews {4}

  1. Rachel says:

    Just finished I’ll Meet You There – between 4-4.5/5 for me, was definitely such a good read and has stayed with me, might be one of my favourite reads of the year… I loved Demetrios’ “letter” at the end, it nearly made me tear up more than the book. R x

  2. thebookdate says:

    I’ve read a few of the Brotherhood books and mostly enjoyed them. I also enjoyed Violets in March on audio. Well done audio always helps me like a book even more.

  3. Jade @ Bits & Bobs says:

    I’ve been seeing a lot of Sarah Jio’s work about, all of which receiving some pretty positive feedback. I’ll have to check out her novels at some point.

    I haven’t really read any YA novels this year but I’ll Meet You There is one I’m interested in – it sounds like a sweet story.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

