Book Lover’s Tag

matilda-reading

 

Lori @ Palmers Page Turners posted this tag and it looked like fun. So, here I go…

 

1) Do you have a certain place at home for reading? 
Always the same spot. The left side of my couch. It reclines, and it’s right in front of my faux fireplace/heater. Perfect.
2) Bookmark or random piece of paper? 
Well, this is referring to people who actually still read physical books, and shamefully, I rarely do. About one a year, maybe. But when I do, I have a Twilight bookmark that I use. YES, TWILIGHT.
3) Can you stop reading anytime you want or do you have to stop at a certain page, chapter, part etc?
Most of the time I’m forced to stop reading at bad spots. I’ve gotten used to it, so it doesn’t bother me as much. If I’m about to go to bed, I prefer to get to a good stopping point. Either end of a chapter, or some sort of paragraph break.
4) Do you eat or drink while reading? 
On my lunch break, I will eat and read. I will honestly say I don’t do well juggling trying to eat and read at the same time, so I basically inhale my food then focus on reading. At night, I don’t snack, but it’s a guarantee I will drink a glass of wine will I’m reading.
5) Can you read while listening to music or watching TV? 
Negative. I can tune out the tv while my husband is watching it at night. As long as it’s not too loud. But if he’s watching something I enjoy, I find myself easily distracted and watching the tv more than reading (example…Big Bang). I definitely can’t listen to music while I’m reading. Ruins my concentration.
6) One book at a time, or several at once? 
I’m guilty of reading multiple books at once. But, once I get really into one of the books, I will focus on finishing that one before picking the other one back up.
7) Reading at home, or everywhere? 
Anywhere I can. At work over lunch, at home, if I’m waiting at the doctors office. My Kindle goes with me everywhere I go!
8) Reading out loud, or silently in your head? 
Silently to myself, unless I’m reading a book to my daughter.
9) Do you read ahead or skip pages? 
I never read ahead. I can’t enjoy a book if I already know what’s going to happen. Ruins all elements of suspense and then I find it pointless to continue. But I do skim pages if the book isn’t keeping my attention.
10) Breaking the spine or keeping it new? 
New. I don’t read physical books anymore, but I do buy copies of my favorite books in paperback to be on display. And they stay in pretty mint condition.
11) Do you write in books? 
No. I highlight passages in my Kindle, though. Another thing I love about it!

 

It’s kinda random that this stops at 11 questions. That’s just my OCD talking. But, this was fun! I’m not going to tag anyone, but if you want to participate, please leave me a link to your post!

 

signatureratherbereading
6 thoughts on “Book Lover’s Tag

  1. mscynful says:

    11?? Really? I’m going to do this and have to add a question. It cannot be an odd number.

    I can tune out the world if I’m reading something that holds my attention. I’d rather read than do just about anything else.

    A glass of wine and my Kindle sounds perfect right now!

  2. thebookdate says:

    I still read actual physical books and keep a whole bunch of book marks on my bookshelf that I randomly pick off to use. I read ebooks too of course, but love to have an actual book in my hand.

Leave a Reply

