Weekend Wrap Up

weekend wrap up

finished reading

22718549

currently reading

  22609310


book haul

18464394  22821664  18394368

ARC’s kindly provided by the publishers via Netgalley & Edelweiss.


 Bookish and Non-Bookish Thoughts

  • Weekends go too fast, especially when they are good ones. Friday night was date night. Ate at hubby’s favorite Mexican restaurant, and then he took me to Target for some shopping. I even indulged in a Valentine’s donut from Dunkin for dessert, and enjoyed a little ‘me’ time when we got home. No guilt, I made sure to work it off on Saturday.

donut

  • Saturday we took Peanut out for lunch and gave her a little gift for Valentine’s Day. Got home just as a big snow storm started to hit and we were slammed with 4+ inches.
  • Then yesterday I woke up with the crud my husband and daughter have been fighting for weeks. It was wishful thinking that I would be able to avoid it. But I refused to let it ruin my day, as I had plans with some of my girlfriends to go see Fifty Shades yesterday. I loved it. I honestly had low expectations going into it, and I really wasn’t sold on Dakota Johnson one bit beforehand. Surprisingly, she blew me away with her performance and out-shined Jamie Dornan, although he did a really good job, too. I think fans of the book will be happy with it. I loved the series, and seeing the movie made me want to re-read the books soon.
  • I also downloaded the soundtrack last week, and I’m glad I did. I love it.

IMG_0476[1]

  • The most exciting thing that could possibly happen to me when it comes to books is the fact that I was approved to be part of the Confess blog tour and received an advanced copy of the book to read. To say I was excited is an understatement, and of course I dropped everything to begin reading it immediately. Because of our busy weekend and feeling crappy with this cold, I didn’t get to read it as much as I hoped. I am close to finishing it, and loving every minute. It is perfect, which I’ve come to expect from CoHo.

confess

  •  Here’s to hoping this Dayquil works so I can get through the workday. Happy reading and have a great week!

 

signatureratherbereading

12 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap Up

  1. Nadia says:

    Sounds like you had a great Valentines 🙂 I wasn’t sure if I wanted to see the movie, but after reading how much you enjoyed it I think I need to see it. Have a great week and feel better!

  2. laurelrainsnow says:

    All of your books look so tempting…I still need to read Ugly Love so I can buy more of her books…..I generally try to read one before becoming addicted…LOL.

    Sooo…glad you liked 50 Shades…and that Dakota did a good job. I haven’t really seen her in many things, but she was (briefly) in a TV show that was, well, “meh,” but probably not her fault.

    She has great parents…LOL.

    Thanks for stopping by, and enjoy your week…your weekend sounded awesome.

    • Brandie says:

      I was so glad I enjoyed the movie and that Dakota exceeded my expectations!

      I try to follow that same policy most of the time – read one book before buying more by the same author. I’m probably successful half the time. LOL.

  3. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    I hope you feel better, Brandie! Being sick sucks! I’m going to see 50 Shades with Arlene on Saturday so I’m thrilled to hear you loved it! Yay! Congrats on getting Confess, I know you’re a big fan of CoHo so that must’ve made your day. 🙂

  4. Palmers Page Turners (@palmerspageturn) says:

    My hubby and I frequently do dinner and Target for date nights! Gotta love it!! And, if I haven’t said it before, I am so jealous you’re getting to read Confess already! Part jealous, part excited for you too though 🙂 I’m sorry you’re sick!! I feel your pain, that was me last week. It was miserable. This week I feel much better but because of all the crud in my throat my voice sounds ridiculous. Hope you feel better soon!!

  5. thebookdate says:

    Hope you can overcome the bug shared by your nearest and dearest quickly. Sounds like a couple of good outings plus movie that worked out well for you. Awesome. I hope you enjoy Silver Thaw – it has so much snow in it though! If you are sick of all your snow it might be more of the same!! Have a good week.

  6. Jillian Raymundo says:

    Man, he took you to target? That is awesome haha. My boyfriend is always afraid to go in there with me. While I don’t plan to watch the 50 Shades movie, I do think that soundtrack is one of the best! So much variety. Glad you had a great weekend. They do tend to go way too fast.

  7. Jade @ Bits & Bobs says:

    Congrats on being part of the blog tour – I think they’re fun, especially when you love the author, in this case, you and Colleen Hoover! I’ve heard you talk about her work so much and yet I still haven’t looked in to works. Going to check my library catalogue right after this!

    We’re a house full of illness right now too – it sucks! I hope you get better soon!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

