Top Ten Series I Need To Read!

top ten tuesday

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, this week’s top ten is a freebie. I decided to post the Top Ten Series I Need To Read.

Lately, I am put off by a book if it’s part of a series, because of the time commitment. If it’s a stand alone book in a series, then it’s fine. If I know there are cliffhangers that will force me to continue with more books, I always hesitate. And if all of the books aren’t available in a series, I won’t even start it (with the exception of Colleen Hoover, Kendall Ryan, or Sylvain Reynard books).

I do have several series on my TBR list that I want to read eventually. They range from 3 to 10 book series. I keep them on my list because I hope to some day make the time to read them. I’ve gone through phases where all I did was read series books (Virgin River, Fifty Shades, Twilight, The Opportunist, for example), and I’m hoping another series phase will hit me soon.

Have you read any of these series? Which would you recommend I read first?

Click on book covers to be taken to their Goodreads page.

  42899  21417317

15699188  11356211

10194157  8490112

5391078  8667848

18897040  18664771

signatureratherbereading

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Series I Need To Read!

  1. Karsyn @ KaKiJoKoJa says:

    We read such different books, so take it with a grain of salt that I tried, and gave up on Discovery of Witches. I listened to it on audio (because I don’t mind listening to stuff I might not like for a while to see what I think of it) and got through about half before giving up on it. I know many people like it, but I found it dull and tedious. If she hadn’t described every little thing in every single detail, I might have liked it better. You mentioned you like wine, and so does she ~ she describes what each wine makes the characters feel, each time. A bit much for me, but maybe you’d like it.

    I mainly read series. I don’t look to get into them, it just so happens that most of the books I read end up being in them.

    • Brandie says:

      I do remember you mentioning once before that you weren’t a fan of the book. I’ve debated on it several times, and I did try reading it once, and couldn’t get into it. I really dislike books that have too much unnecessary detail, and if this book is like that, I probably won’t be able to get into it.

      Although wine talk…that could help. Lol.

  2. abibliophobictendencies says:

    This is a great post! Love it. Daughter of Smoke and Bone was AMAZING. The first half might discourage you a bit. It is a lot of world building and a bit boring, but oh my gosh the second half is Amazeballs 🙂
    I also need to Start J.R.Ward I went out and bought the first four books.
    Collide is one I just got from that big book outlet boxing day sale and from what I heard it was really good.Bronze horseman trilogy is so beautiful and amazing. I’ve never been a fan of historical fiction, but this trilogy definitely is the exception.

    • Brandie says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed so many of these! That gives me hope that I will, too. I’m just starting to enjoy historical fiction more, and have heard so many great things about Bronze Horseman.

      Dark Lover is the book that has been on my TBR list the longest. I know I’ll like it, I just have to force myself to commit to getting into the series. 🙂

  3. kimberlyfaye says:

    Oh, series. How I suck at these. I’ve wanted to read Karina’s Experiment in Terror for a long time, but I’m such a wuss. I’m afraid it will freak me out too much. I just got a copy of Collide from Book Outlet’s Boxing Day sale, so that’s on deck. I want to read it before I see her at an event in Pittsburgh in September. The Grisha series is one I’ve wanted to read for a long time, too. One of these days… Everyone talks about how great the Bronze Horseman is, but it doesn’t sound like something I’ll enjoy. I feel like I’m being pressured into reading it to see what all the fuss is about. Will I cave? I don’t know! Eep!

    Thanks for stopping by my STSM!

  4. Rachel says:

    AS SOON AS I SAW THE TITLE OF THIS POST I WAS LIKE, “OHHH NO, THRONE OF GLASS BETTER BE IN THERE!” YES, THIS REQUIRES CAPS. I’M SHOUTING IN MY HEAD RIGHT NOW!!! LOL 😀

    Seriously, wait in agony until 2017 with me, don’t leave me hanging off a ledge here on my own!! You need to be the Thelma to my Louise! Does that even make sense?? I’ve never seen the movie… I also think I’ve had too much coffee today. Anyways.

    I say yes to A Discovery of Witches, because I have them. Mwahaha. And also to Shadow and Bone and Daughter of Smoke and Bone, because I want to read them (why are the titles basically the same though!?). I ALSO say yes to Collide, because I’ve heard great things. I don’t know what The Chocolate Thief is about, but that cover does not deserve a series. My subconscious is screaming chick-lit-that-could-have-easily-been-a-stand-alone-you-will-get-bored. The Bronze Horseman looks interesting, I don’t know much about it, going to go snoop 🙂

    My TTT: https://confessionsofabookgeek.wordpress.com/2015/01/20/top-ten-tuesday-book-bloggers-i-give-my-love-to/

  5. Kathy says:

    I stopped after book 6 in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series. They were so long, and the stories started to dwindle after book #3. I’ll probably try to catch up at some point, though. I stopped the Experiment in Terror series after book 1, Dark House. I just couldn’t get into them. I have Pulse, the sequel to Collide, but haven’t read it because it took so long to release and time was a big factor. I’m intimidated by the length of The Bronze Horseman, but it’s in my iBooks. The Discovery of Witches….GAH, I’ve had that book on my shelf for so long! I really want to get to it at some point this century. Great Top Ten!

  6. Rachael at The End of the Chapter says:

    My sisters really like the Black Dagger Brotherhood books, but I haven’t given them a shot just yet. I own all three of the Discover of Witches series, and I plan to start reading them soon. Also, I have Shadow and Bone, and I need to read that too! Great list!

  7. Sarah Says Read says:

    I think you’ll like A Discovery of Witches a lot – Diana and Matthew have almost a Bella-Edward thing going on, but they’re adults and historians/scientists and a whole lot cooler. (Damn, I still need to read the third book. It’s waiting for me on my Kindle.)

    Oh, and The Bronze Horseman was AMAZING, but there’s a lot of history and stuff mixed in there… so I don’t know if you’ll like it a lot, but I was completely sucked in.

  8. Lisa says:

    I’ve read the Discovery of Witches series, and loved it! The world is so detailed, and there are so many amazing characters! People in my book group have been raving about The Bronze Horseman and trying to convince me to read it for years! It does look really good; I ‘ve just been hesitant about starting one more heavy-duty historical fiction series. Looks like you’ve got some great choices here!

    • Brandie says:

      I never used to enjoy historical fiction, but I’ve heard so many good things about The Bronze Horseman that I’d like to try it. I’ve read a few historical novels recently to get my feet wet, and have enjoyed them.

  9. whatsheread says:

    I read Dark Lover a while ago and enjoyed it but never got around to any of the other books in the series. As for A Discovery of Witches, go get it and read it IMMEDIATELY!!!!! Seriously, a grown-up Twilight with much better characters and prose. Go!!!

Leave a Reply

