W…W…W… Wednesday

www wednesday

 

W… W… W… Wednesday, hosted by Should be Reading is a weekly meme showcasing what you just finished reading, what you are currently reading, and what you plan to start reading next.

 

what did you recently finish reading

20893490
Contradictions by Tiffany King

When everything starts spinning out of control . . .

Three years into college, Tressa Oliver’s life is a nonstop party. She’s skating by in her classes, and there’s no shortage of drinking, dancing, and general hell-raising. The only aspect that hasn’t been much fun: She can’t shake the toxic jerks that always seem to gravitate toward her.

It will take someone totally wrong . . .

Trent Lawson is the classic anti-bad boy: smart, boring, and way too serious. To a wild girl like Tressa, there’s no way in hell they’re compatible—especially since Trent seems to see straight through her defenses.

To set her right.

When a college prank goes terribly wrong, Tressa starts to suspect that her partying ways are leading nowhere fast. Now she has to turn to the last person she ever thought she’d ask for help—and quickly discovers that there’s more to Trent than meets the eye . . .

 I have enjoyed this series, but this was my least favorite of the three books. Tressa was really hard to warm up to, and it took until about halfway before I started liking her. You can find my review for this book over at Waves of Fiction.

 

what are you currently reading

22521867
Before I Go by Colleen Oakley
Daisy never asks you to feel sorry for her.

Daisy is 27-years-old and has only months to live. And, each day, she’s finding her way through what needs to be done.

Her major worry is what her wonderful, charming husband, Jack, will do without her. She knows that he won’t take care of himself so Daisy has to do it for him. As she searches for Jack’s next wife, she begins to realise that her plan to ensure Jack’s happiness is much more complicated than she expected.

Life-affirming, authentic, funny and heartbreakingly beautiful, Before I Go is all about love.

I’m really impressed with this author’s writing, as this is her debut novel. But the subject matter is definitely depressing and difficult to read. Even though I know what’s going to happen to Daisy, I’m still anxious to finish the book and see what happens between her and her husband. Hoping to finish it today.

 

 what will you read next
22843247
The Prince by Sylvain Reynard

The unveiling of a set of priceless illustrations of Dante’s Divine Comedy at the Uffizi Gallery exposes the unsuspecting Professor Gabriel Emerson and his beloved wife, Julianne, to a mysterious and dangerous enemy.

Unbeknownst to the Professor, the illustrations he secretly acquired years ago were stolen a century earlier from the ruler of Florence’s underworld. Now one of the most dangerous beings in Italy is determined to reclaim his prized artwork and exact revenge on the Emersons, but not before he uncovers something disturbing about Julianne …

Set in the city of Florence, “The Prince” is a prequel novella to “The Raven,” which is the first book in the new Florentine Series Trilogy by Sylvain Reynard.

“The Prince” can be read as a standalone but readers of The Gabriel Series may be curious about the connection between The Professor’s world and the dark, secret underworld of “The Prince.”

I’m not really sure what I’m going to start after I finish Before I Gosince I’ll probably finish it today. But I DO know that on Tuesday, The Prince is being released, I have pre-ordered it, and will be anxious to start reading it immediately! I’ve missed reading SR’s books, as his Gabriel’s Inferno series is one of my all time favorites.

 

 

*Subject to change due to the fact I’m an extremely moody reader!

 

signatureratherbereading
4 thoughts on “W…W…W… Wednesday

  1. whatsheread says:

    Before I Go has been popping up all over the place. I was so leery about its subject matter, so I passed on the opportunity to receive a review copy. Most of the reviews have been very favorable, but I am still on the fence about it. I will be curious what you think of it when you finish.

    • Brandie says:

      It’s definitely tough to read, but the writing is fabulous. I’m just at 65% and things are happening that I think is going to make or break how I end up feeling about the book as a whole. I can’t hope for a true happy ending, but I hope for something good to come of the situation, if that’s possible.

Leave a Reply

