Weekend Wrap Up

weekend wrap up

finished reading

  16052529  22754416

  

currently reading

20821540


book haul

    11720964  23261683  18814088

23675124  23675176

ARC of The Day We Disappeared, Watch Me, & Snow Angel Cove kindly provided by the publisher via Netgalley.


 Bookish and Non-Bookish Thoughts

  • I’m getting into the holiday spirit and enjoying some Christmas themed books right now. If I could get the rest of my shopping and wrapping done, I’d be feeling really good about the fact that Christmas is only a few weeks away.
  • I really want to make one of these, but I don’t have the patience, nor am I delusional enough to believe it would look this good.

IMG_9581[1]

  • My daughter sat on Santa’s lap for the first time last week, after attending the cute Polar Express program our library puts on. The look on her face is priceless. The ‘I did it, now let me go’ kinda smile.

IMG_9571[1]

  • I just got an email from the place my husband and I went on our anniversary a few years ago. What I would give for a cabin getaway right about now!

Capture

  • I need to bake more. I avoid it because a.) I hate the kitchen and b.) I don’t want the temptation. Cookies are my biggest weakness. But, my hubby made a point of telling me all of the cookies he likes last night, and I took it as a hint. He really wants me to make these, and they are my favorite. But damn, they look hard to make. And there’s a chocolate chip version that looks good, too…

3664b808f2af3f2abcc6a98d82d195b5

  • I pin food on Pinterest all of the time. Do you think I actually make any of it? Maybe twice. My intentions are always good…
  • I needed to see this post this morning. I was just thinking on my way to work about how important proper, loving goodbyes are every day. The hug and kiss I get from my husband and daughter when we part ways in the morning, and again when we’re reunited after work. It’s a minor thing that means so much to me, and I never want to be in too much of a hurry (and it happens) to not take the time for it.

If you find yourself a little lost … a little empty … or a bit unsettled, might I suggest Bringing the Love?

To the morning wake up …
To the hurried send off …
To the reunion after a separation …
To the darkened hours at bedtime …

These moments within our daily routine hold the potential to bring meaning and connection to the sacred spaces of our life—spaces that can be so easily filled with duties, activities, impatience, and stuff that doesn’t really matter in the grand scheme of things.

signatureratherbereading

7 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap Up

  1. Kristin says:

    Great list, Brandie! Your daughter is adorable! And that’s an awesome cork-wreath. I don’t think I could ever make, either. It would be like one of those epic pinterest fails! lol

  2. Sarah Says Read says:

    Ooooo The Bungalow!! That’s my fave Jio novel so far.

    I love that bit about loving goodbyes. I kiss the honeyman every morning before I go to work and let him know that I can’t wait to see him when I come home (I’m usually leaving for work while he’s still asleep). It’s an important thing.

    • Brandie says:

      I was wondering which Jio book was your fav. It was a pricey book, but now I’m glad I got it. Can’t wait to read it!

      It’s so, so important. It’s morbid to say this, but you never know how the day will go and if you’ll get that chance again. I know I have issues with rushing through the day and really try to stop and slow down so I don’t miss those important moments. My hubby walks us to the car every morning and comes out to the car every day when we get home. It means so much to me.

  3. Jade @ Bits & Bobs says:

    Sunnie and Santa – classic picture right there!

    I like the idea of creating my own wreath, but I’m pretty sure it will always remain just that, an idea! I know for a fact mine will never turn out like the effortlessly beautiful ones I see on Pinterest, no matter how much I wish.

    I think the little things, such as saying goodbye to a partner or child of the morning, are so important. I make a point of waking up to see my partner off in the morning and I cherish all the hours in the day I get to spend with my little one – I know I’m incredibly lucky to be able to stay at home during these precious years.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

