Someone is Watching {Review}

22693830

Amazon Pre-order Goodreads


Release Date: March 24, 2015

Goodreads Synopsis:

A fast-paced, intense psychological thriller from an international bestselling author–Rear Window meets The Silent Wife.

     Bailey has it all. At least, she had it all–a job she loved as a high-powered investigator in a top Miami law firm, a gorgeous condo in a stylish downtown high rise, a handsome boyfriend, a sizeable inheritance. A seemingly idyllic life.

     But that was before a brutal attack left her feeling insecure about her entire world. And with her attacker still on the loose and the police at a loss for clues, she can’t shake off the feeling that someone is watching her, monitoring her every move. Even after her half-sister, Claire, and Claire’s sassy teenage daughter, Jade, move into her apartment to care for her, their presence does little to ease her overwhelming anxiety. Plagued by nightmares, she begins spying on her neighbours through high-powered binoculars, becoming obsessed with the new tenants in the building across from hers. But the strange things she sees only deepen her fears. Is it all in her head? Is her growing paranoia just a symptom of trauma? Or is it possible that someone is really watching?

My Review:

My favorite and most memorable scary and suspenseful book ever read was Joy Fielding’s Whispers and Lies. Since then, I’ve read other Fielding books that haven’t lived up to that one, until now. I’m so thrilled that I got the chance to read this book!

Filled with plenty of mystery and intrigue, this book is my definition of a perfect suspenseful novel. I loved the Rear Window movie feel – that just added a little uniqueness to the story. But most importantly, as all of the clues were being laid out to me, I was never able to come to a conclusion about the ‘who dun it’, and that in itself is a sign of an excellent mystery novel. Maybe my brain was purposefully being obtuse, but I’m glad I was unaware the entire time, because it added to the experience. I prefer not to know until the end – that suspenseful build up is the best part of reading a book like this!

There were some very fast-paced parts of the book that made it hard to put down, while other parts were slower and perfect for setting the mood and tone of the book. I never felt like the book was too long or short in length – everything was perfectly timed. I will admit there were times while reading it that I found myself jumping at noises in my house because I was so freaked out. Delightfully creepy and a truly brilliant mystery that I highly recommend.

5 Stars

See my review on Goodreads.

ARC kindly provided by the publisher, via Edelweiss, in exchange for an honest review.

signatureratherbereading

4 thoughts on “Someone is Watching {Review}

Leave a Reply

