Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Scary Movies

top ten tuesday

 

I had to get in on this week’s Top Ten Tuesday – movies to get you into the Halloween spirit, because some of my favorite movies are scary movies. I’m going back to some favorites from my childhood, even if most of them are cheesy as hell.

1. Halloween

halloween  halloween 2

halloween 4  halloween 5

You’ll notice I skipped 3 because it’s the dumbest one.

2. Scream

scream  scream 2

scream 3  scream 4

These are my favorite movies from high school.

3. I Know What You Did Last Summer

i know  i still know

So cheesy, but I loved them and had a serious crush on Freddie Prinze and Jennifer Love.

4. Stir of Echoes

stir

One of the scariest movies I’ve ever watched.

5. The Craft

the craft

I had a thing for Neve Campbell movies in high school.

6. Blair Witch

blair witch

Headache inducing and first movie I ever saw at a drive in theater.

7. The Shining

shining

Needs no explanation.

8. The Hand that Rocks the Cradle

hand

Bitch be crazy. This movie doesn’t get enough credit – scared the hell outta me.

9. Practical Magic

magic

Who doesn’t love Sandra Bullock.

10. The Strangers

the strangers

This movie creeped me the hell out.

Honorable Mention

the ring  stranger

final  urban

What are your favorite scary movies?

signatureratherbereading

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Scary Movies

  1. downthebookhole says:

    You have some great movies on here! Halloween is definitely my favorite! I also love that you have urban legend on here I feel like whenever I talk about this movie no one has ever heard of it! I also can’t believe I forgot The Craft.

  2. Rachel says:

    Oh no, you have actual proper scary ones on here! So many of these bring back so many bad memories! Lol I LOVED The Hand That Rocks The Cradle though, it was so, so good. I can do psychological thrillers better than scary movies or slashers, they still creep me out so bad though! Single White Female was another good one. I’ve seen some of these – Scream, I Know What You Did Last Summer, Halloween etc. but I don’t think I’d want to see them again!! Lol R x

    My TTT: http://confessionsofabookgeek.wordpress.com/2014/10/28/top-ten-tuesday-halloween-movies-for-scardey-cats/

  3. Nadia says:

    Brandie, I love your top ten and honorable mentions – they are all awesome horror films!! The Strangers creeps me out so bad – ahhh! I tried watching IT last night, but fell asleep halfway through – the clown scared me when I was younger, but now it was not a big deal 🙂 I’m going to watch Elvira Mistress of the Dark tomorrow – that movie cracks me up and I think its Halloweenish. Enjoy Halloween!!

  4. Jade @ Bits & Bobs says:

    I’ve only seen a few of the films on your list but The Shining was definitely a favourite. I love scary reads but when it comes to films I’m the total opposite. My idea of a Halloween film is Hocus Pocus – haha!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

