Bookish Q&A

Sarah from Sarah Says Read inspired me to do this fun questionnaire. I encourage others to join in, because I love to read them!
 tumblr_mhxi8alD0A1qgjo5ao6_250
1. Favorite childhood book:
I honestly can’t remember my favorite book as a child, but now my favorite children’s book is Goodnight Moon. I read it to my daughter every night.
2. What are you reading right now?
I’m working on 3 books right now – Outlander (listening), Apolonia, and Sleep Tight.
3. What books do you have on request at the library?
None. I shamefully never use the library any more, for myself. Too much pressure to read a book before I have to return it. Amazon is my best friend.
4. Bad book habit: 
Adding books to my out-of-control TBR list and never reading them.
5. What do you currently have checked out at the library?
See #3
6. Do you have an e-reader?
Yes, and I never leave home without it. I actually own 3 of them – a 3rd Gen Kindle, a Paperwhite (my fav), and a Fire HD (more proof of my Amazon obsession).
7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once?
I prefer one at a time, but I am easily distracted by shiny new books.
belle-library
8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?
Slightly at first. I found I wasn’t making as much time for reading because I was focused on blogging so much. I’ve cut back my blog posts so that I could focus on reading more – since that’s the reason I blog in the first place.
9. Least favorite book you read this year:
You by Caroline Kepnes
10. Favorite book you’ve read this year:
I can’t pick just one! That’s impossible. But it has been a great year for fantastic books. These top my list:
Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover
Landline by Rainbow Rowell
Goodnight June by Sarah Jio
After I Do by Taylor Jenkins Reid
Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover
I’m gonna stop there because this is getting out of control.
i love this book
11. How often do you read outside of your comfort zone?
I read what I want. I’m too moody of a reader to try stuff I don’t like. Okay, minus Outlander. I’m trying that one, and it’s definitely outside my comfort zone.
12. What is your reading comfort zone?
If you want me to break down my favorite genres that I read the most, that would be New Adult, Mystery/Suspense, Contemporary Romance, & Erotica. I throw in some YA occasionally, too.
13. Can you read on the bus?
Never had to ride a bus
14. Favorite place to read:
On my couch
15. What is your policy on book lending?
It depends on the person. If I trust I’ll get my books back, I don’t mind. I have multiple copies of some of my favorites, because there have been times I didn’t get a book back. Just uncool.
16. Do you dog-ear your books?
Never
17. Do you write notes on the margins of your books?
No
18. Do you break/crack the spines?
Try not to, but it happens
19. What is your favorite language to read?
English, obviously
 
20. What makes you love a book?
Has to have that formula I always look for – romance, suspense, and a little humor thrown in. If it’s really good, it has steam, too – but not every book I read is of the smut variety.
tumblr_mnq9axwodG1sp4f62o1_500
21. What will inspire you to recommend a book?
If someone asks. Otherwise I’m constantly pushing Colleen Hoover on everyone.
22. Favorite genre:
Currently it’s New Adult. But I read a mixed bag of stuff and my mood changes often. I’ve gone through every phase imaginable (except for historical).
23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did):
Historical. Just doesn’t grab me like I wish it did.
24. Favorite biography:
Does a memoir count? I love anything by Jen Lancaster – my favorite is Bright Lights, Big Ass.
25. Have you read a self-help book (and was it helpful)? 
I read The Five Love Languages and found it to have a lot of helpful suggestions.
26. Favorite cook book:
Hahahaha. That’s funny.
 
27. The most inspirational book you’ve read this year:
Landline by Rainbow Rowell and After I Do by Taylor Jenkins Reid. Both books have stuck with me.
28. Favorite reading snack:
Wine (Pinot Noir, to be specific)
julesbigwine
29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience:
People will hate me but I only got through the first 3 Harry Potter books before I gave up. It was too much for me at the time, but I intend on trying again in the future.
30. How often do you agree with the critics about a book?
If by critics you mean Goodreads reviews – it depends on the book. I have friends with the same tastes in books and often times we agree.
31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?
If I don’t like a book, I don’t feel bad saying so. I won’t unnecessarily bash an author’s work, but I will be honest about how I felt.
 
32. If you could read in a foreign language, which would it be?
Italian
33. Most intimidating book I’ve ever read:
OUTLANDER. God, it’s SO LONG.
 
34. Most intimidating book I’m too nervous to begin:
All the Outlander books…if I ever get to them
35. Favorite Poet:
Nada
36. How many books do you generally have checked out of the library at a given time?
For my daughter – 10 to 12. For me – none.
37. How often do you return books to the library unread?
Used to happen every time, that’s why I stopped checking out books for myself.
38. Favorite fictional character:
That’s too hard to narrow down. Seriously.
 
39. Favorite fictional villain:
Not my jam
40. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation:
All of them. That’s the beauty of having a Kindle. Especially when you’re as moody as me.
41. The longest I’ve gone without reading:
A few days to a week.
tumblr_m3p0udsaBD1r5prb1
 
42. What distracts you easily when you’re reading?
My husband or the tv, depending on what he’s watching. If it’s Big Bang, then forget it – I always get sucked in.
43. Name a book you could not finish:
The History of Love. It was so popular at the time, and I remember wanting to like it, but snoozefest.
44. Favorite film adaption of a novel:
Twilight, of course. The Notebook is close second.
 
45. The most disappointing film adaptation:
I dunno. Can’t think of any, really.
46. Most money I’ve ever spent in a bookstore at one time:
Probably around $50
47. How often do you skim a book before reading it?
Never. If I know what’s going to happen, it ruins the book for me. May as well not even bother reading it.
48. What would cause you to stop reading a book halfway through it?
My policy is, if I can’t get into a book by the halfway point, I’m not going to keep wasting my time. Too many books on my list to read, to waste my time on something not keeping my attention, for whatever reason.
756810
49. Do you like to keep your books organized?
Of course. OCD, here. They’re even organized on my Kindle.
50. Do you prefer to keep your books when done, or give them away?
Depends. If it ends up being a favorite, then I’ll keep it. Otherwise I donate a lot of hard copy books.
51. Are there any books that you’ve been avoiding?
I avoided Outlander forever.
52. Name a book that made you angry:
The first book that comes to mind is The Destiny of Violet and Luke. I wanted to chuck my Kindle across the room, I was so pissed when I finished it.
53. A book I didn’t expect to like but did:
I don’t really read things I don’t think I’m going to enjoy. I would say that I was hesitant about trying Red Hill because it’s a zombie-themed book, and I wasn’t into that sort of thing. Ended up being one of my favorite books last year.
54. A book I expected to like but didn’t:
Most recently it was Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. Just wasn’t my thing, and was probably my mood at the time.
55. Favorite guilt-free guilty-pleasure reading:
I read what I want. Everyone knows I love smut and I don’t care what anyone thinks about it. I don’t judge others on what they read. As long as you read – that’s all that matters!
tumblr_inline_nchlsuvYgB1s6xxd4
This was fun!
signatureratherbereading
5 thoughts on “Bookish Q&A

  1. Jade @ Bits & Bobs says:

    I enjoyed this little Q&A. I’m such a nosy parker and love learning more about the people behind the blogs I read, especially when it comes to all things bookish. May just have to give this Q&A a go. Thanks for sharing, Brandie.
    🙂

  2. StephTheBookworm says:

    Jen Lancaster, my favorite. ❤

    I own multiple copies of a few of my favorite books too so that I can lend them out or give them away. I usually just buy them used if I see them. I have multiples of a few of Jen's books. 🙂

    I'm not into historical either!

  3. Andrea says:

    I love this Q&A! I don’t use the library either, though my kids do. I think you’re the only person I know who loved Landline as much as I did, which makes you even more awesome! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Sarah Says Read says:

    OMG you win at GIFs here.

    If you’re not loving Outlander, it’s okay to give up. Those books are giant, and have a lot of detail and history in them. And I read Five Love Languages ages ago and remember it giving a helpful perspective on people and how they communicate. My brother-in-law is definitely the type to show love by doing/fixing/making things. My mom is totally the gift-giver type. Me… I’m the type that likes to say my feelings, I guess? Anyways, yeah it’s interesting.

Leave a Reply

