{Monthly Recap} – August

monthly recap

How is it September already?!  August went really fast and was quite busy.  But now we’re into my favorite month of the year and closer to FALL, my favorite season.  🙂

Last month was a great reading month and I read some really fantastic books.  I also met my Goodreads goal of 50 books for the year!  I try not to stress myself out with the number of books I read, because it just sucks the fun out of reading for me.  But it does make me happy to surpass the 50 book mark.  I participated in Bout of Books 11, which helped me get more books read in a month than I normally do.  I had a lot of fun with BoB and look forward to the next one.

Other exciting news in August – Colleen Hoover announced the title of her newest book, Confess.  Can’t wait for it!

Books I Read:

Don’t Let Go by Sharla Lovelace – Review

Lick by Kylie Scott – Short and Tweet Review

Uncivilized by Sawyer Bennett – Short and Tweet Review

Forget Me by KA Harrington – Short and Tweet Review

Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins – Review

All or Nothing by Kendall Ryan

Boomerang by Noelle August

Come Back to Me by Mila Gray – look for a double review from me and Rachel @ Confessions of a Book Geek coming soon!

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty – Review (Okay, technically I finished this one on 9/1, but majority of it was read in August, so I’m counting it!)

 

My Favorite Books of the Month:

Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

Don’t Let Go by Sharla Lovelace

Another month where I can’t pick just ONE favorite.  Big Little Lies is a close second.

Books Read in August: 9

Books Read in 2014: 51

 

Things I’m looking forward to in September:

I managed to read at least 2 of the books on my list from my July Recap.  Better than none.  September is a very busy month for me at work, so I don’t anticipate getting as much reading done as I did in August.  There are a few books on my radar – I’ve been contemplating giving the Throne of Glass series a try.  I really hate starting a series that is unfinished, but the hype has me super curious.  It appears to be a 6 book series, and only 3 have been released.  But I think Rachel @ Confessions of a Book Geek has talked me into doing a buddy read with her.  My curiosity is getting the best of me. 🙂

I’m also tossing around the idea of starting Harry Potter.  I KNOW!  I’m the last person on the earth who hasn’t read this series.  And actually, I have read the first 3 books, but it’s been so long ago that I remember nothing about them.  Lori @ Palmers Pageturners finished the entire series over the summer and her enthusiasm for the books has inspired me to give them another try.  How can I not enjoy them, right?  It’s Harry Potter, who’s loved by pretty much the entire world.  It could be a bust, just like The Hunger Games was for me.  But we shall see.

I’m also excited for a book I’m starting today – After I Do.  Getting some serious love in the blog world lately.  After seeing Jamie @ The Perpetual Page Turner rave about it – I immediately purchased it on my Kindle.

 

15713880  13562891  18775359

And a few new releases in September I’m anxious to get my hands on.

22737533  13579626  Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000030_00045]

 

What’s on your radar for September?

 

signatureratherbereading

5 thoughts on “{Monthly Recap} – August

  1. Rachel says:

    Joint review will definitely be done soon, and looking forward to reading TOG! Ahhh, I’m excited for you reading HP for the first time! Keep me updated on which parts your on so I can fan girl with you 🙂

  2. Sarah Says Read says:

    HARRY POTTER!! OMG yes. Yes please read those, they’re brilliant – especially after the first three, because they get more grown-up and more complex. I just re-read them all for like the 3rd to 5th time in early 2013, but I’m already considering doing another re-read… I re-read these almost as much as I re-read Outlander, and they’re SO different, lol.

Leave a Reply

