Short and Tweet Reviews {2}

Hosted by Kate at Midnight Book Girl.

shortandtweet

18655937

Nash by Jay Crownover

 3 Stars

Will their past determine their future?

Saint Ford has worked hard to achieve her childhood dream of becoming of nurse. Focused on her work and devoted to her patients, there’s no room for love. She doesn’t need a guy making waves in her calm, serene life—especially when he’s the unforgettable hottie who nearly destroyed her in high school. Dark, brooding Nash Donovan might not remember her or the terrible pain he caused. But he turned her world upside down… and now he’s trying to do it again.

Saint has no idea that Nash isn’t the cocky player he once was. Uncovering a devastating family secret has rocked his world, and now he’s struggling to figure out his future. He can’t be distracted by the pretty nurse he seems to meet everywhere. Still, he can’t ignore the sparks that fly between them —or how she seems so desperate to get away from him. But the funny, sweet, and drop-dead gorgeous Saint is far too amazing to give up on—especially since she’s the only thing in his life that seems to make sense.

When Nash discovers the truth about their past, he realizes he may have lost her heart before he could even fight for it. Now, Saint has to decide: is Nash worth risking herself for all over again?

This one didn’t keep my interest like the previous books in the Marked Men series.  I’m hoping Rowdy is better for me.

18090136

Up at Butternut Lake by Mary McNear

4 Stars

It’s been ten years since Allie Beckett crossed the threshold of her family cabin at Butternut Lake, Minnesota. Now, newly widowed after the death of her husband in Afghanistan, she’s returned with her five-year-old son.

There, she reconnects with the friends she had in childhood-best girlfriend Jax, now married with three kids and one on the way, and Caroline, owner of the local coffee shop. What Allie doesn’t count on is a newcomer to Butternut Lake, Walker Ford.

Up at Butternut Lake follows these four unforgettable characters across a single summer as they struggle with love, loss, and what it means to take risks, confront fears, and embrace life, in all of its excitement and unpredictability.

Allie Beckett could never have imagined, when she ran away from her old life, that she was running into a whole new life, up at the lake….

I fell in love with this cover and had to read it as soon as I saw it recommended by Andrea @ The Bookish Babe.  It was a sweet summer romance that I really enjoyed.

18873617

Lick by Kylie Scott

3 Stars 

Waking up in Vegas was never meant to be like this.

Evelyn Thomas’s plans for celebrating her twenty-first birthday in Las Vegas were big. Huge. But she sure never meant to wake up on the bathroom floor with a hangover to rival the black plague, a very attractive half-naked tattooed man in her room, and a diamond on her finger large enough to scare King Kong. Now if she could just remember how it all happened.

One thing is certain, being married to one of the hottest rock stars on the planet is sure to be a wild ride.

Entertaining, but a bit on the cheesy side for me.  Definitely lots of steam.

22611596

Uncivilized by Sawyer Bennett

ARC kindly provided by publisher via Netgalley

4 Stars

Savage man, loner, warrior… I am dangerous at my core. I have lived amidst the untamed wild of the rainforest, in a society that reveres me and where every woman falls before me in subjugation.

Now I’ve been discovered. Forced to return to a world that I have forgotten about and to a culture that is only vaguely familiar to my senses.

Dr. Moira Reed is an anthropologist who has been hired to help me transition back into modern society. It’s her job to smooth away my rough edges… to teach me how to navigate properly through this new life of mine. She wants to tame me.

She’ll never win.

Holy hotness.  This book is MAJOR erotic.  But with a decent plot and story to go with it.  I really enjoy this author’s writing style.

18311425

Forget Me by K.A. Harrington

4 Stars

An edge-of-your seat psychological thriller with a romantic twist

On the three-month anniversary of her boyfriend Flynn’s death, Morgan uploads her only photo of him to FriendShare to get some closure—but she’s shocked when the facial recognition software suggests she tag him as “Evan Murphy.” She’s never heard of Evan, but a quick search tells her that he lives in a nearby town and looks exactly like Flynn. Only this boy is very much alive.

Digging through layers of secrets and lies, Morgan is left questioning everything she thought she knew about her boyfriend, her town, and even her parents’ involvement in this massive web of lies.

Started out slow, but picked up in suspense and I couldn’t put it down.  One of those books that had me jumpy and on the edge of my seat by the end.  A really quick, enjoyable YA suspense.

Rating Scale

signatureratherbereading

7 thoughts on “Short and Tweet Reviews {2}

  1. Jade @ Bits & Bobs says:

    Up at Butternut Lake and Forget Me both sound pretty interesting. If I remember correctly, you recommended one, or even both, of these books to me when I was looking for recommendations recently. Neither available at my library – so I’m missing out!
    🙂

  2. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    Love this idea, Brandie! Sometimes I find it hard to put my thoughts into a coherent review so this is a great solution. I thought of doing something like this for a bunch of the audio books I’ve “read” and haven’t reviewed. Disappointing about Nash! I seriously want to read Forget Me! Seems like a great mystery. Fab post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

